Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

2002 Volvo S80

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.2
Out of 10

Based on 316 Ratings for the 1999 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.4/10
    Quality
    7.6/10
  • Reliability
    7.4/10
    Performance
    8.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 13 | Next

Excellent car. 3rd one owned, hard to beat

By on Wednesday, January 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Rides great, very comfortable. Very safe."

Cons: "Repair costs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent car. Runs great. Very safe and comfortable. I have not found a comparable car that I like better. Only drawback is that repairs and parts are expensive."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

good car

By on Sunday, January 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Cons: "Front passenger seat not adjustable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Ok"

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Saturday, January 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is now my 10th car-have owned everthing under the sun over the years. I bought my S80 used with 60,000 miles and it has never given me trouble. It now has 135,000 on it. I am an architect and do a ton of driving-The Volvo-is the car most found in the parking lot of the our firm-Smart Architects buy this car. The S 80 is so comfortable on long drives. The sound system is superior. The build is true volvo-There is a web site called my volvo saved my life-The construction is superior and well built. At 135K I am torn-trade it in? Next car-you guessed it-S 80..."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

' 10 Years and Still Love the Car

By on Saturday, January 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"No intention to sell. Good car for trips or City. Very reliable and comfortably."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

FOR 200K HARD MILES, A GOOD CAR FOR THE MONEY

By on Sunday, January 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 199,500

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very safe, great motor"

Cons: "struts, front suspension, GM transmission"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I would never buy one new, I bought with 25k miles on it for 18k which was a steal since the sticker was 40k new. I have driven it for 6 years now and had the following problems; 1. GM transmission went out at 140k, don't buy a used S80 with over 100k if the tranny has not been replaced!!! it will go out. 2. Minor replacemnet issues such as coils which throw check engine light but can be replaced for 57 bucks in 10 minutes. 3. Get a code reader if you buy this car!! A code reader and google have saved me 1000's of dollars. 4. front strut mounts always go out, cheap part but expensive on labor 5. I believe the motor will easily go 400-500k miles, just the little things go out, replace timing belt every 100,000 miles or you will blow your motor. 6. I have decided to keep this car, i will put about 2000 into it for front struts, another timing belt, front wheel bearings, windshield and ball joints. I am sure it wioll last another 200k. Mine is black with chromed stock rims, still looks great, probably 50 coats of wax on it. 5. by the way, since it takes 7.5 quarts of oil and I put so many miles onit, I have always just used mobil one synthetic and replaced the filter and added a quart every 15k miles. Probably only changed the oil completely about 4 times! burns about a quart a month since new. 6. averages 22-23 mpg around town and 28-29 mpg on th highway"

32 people out of 33 found this review helpful

great for the 3 years iv'e had it...

By on Wednesday, January 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 186,400

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "great handling very cushy even for an oldie!"

Cons: "lacks cup holders, Swedes don't much drink in car?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Got it used at over 140K miles ...for an older car it has been very dependable and it as so many luxury features like heated leather seats, sunroof, all the bells"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car yet

By on Sunday, January 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "The car is roomy , comfortable seating, good power"

Cons: "It too comfortable to leave it.."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I just bought this car and it drives like a dream. It has the comfort as if you were driving on your love seat at home. It design is nice and the drive power is excellent. Highly recommend this car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great car overall comfertable

By on Tuesday, December 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "suprisingly great pick up very smooth"

Cons: "at times it feels like an old man car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"nice"

purchased 14000 miles and have had not one proble

By on Saturday, December 24, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"4th volvo great value"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

a very good running car,nice paint job no dens in

By on Friday, December 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "it has all the updates features, cd, tape sun roof"

Cons: "it has a cup holder"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"car is in good condition,i am thinking about buying a new car if i get enough money from this car"

Best all around vehicle owned.

By on Sunday, December 11, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Safety and comfort"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great safety options/rating, combined with economical operation, and comfort makes the Volvo S80 a very good vehicle for not only local driving but long road trips."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

all of our expectations with this car were met

By on Thursday, December 01, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "best ride in the business"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great ride, smooth full power, love all those air bags although never tested them, luxury feel and look without Mercedes cost, wonderful service at dealer"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

What's not to love

By on Wednesday, November 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 74,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Luxury at low price, sturdy, dependable, fun"

Cons: "Sound system needs to be upgraded."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this one gently used, black with grey leather and all the options. Only one prior owner and treated extremely well. Drives like a dream. Feels like a luxury car. Milage is "ok" better than some. The only reason to upgrade is to get better sound system as mine has only 1 CD and even a cassette player. I'm thinking of moving up to an '08 VOLVO SUV. Love these."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

nice but some issues

By on Monday, November 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Cons: "not peppy, interior deteriorated electric probs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"not peppy,interior deteriorated quickly,electric probs A.C. on the weak side for Florida"

Flawless Ownership Experience

By on Monday, November 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quality, comfort, safety, styling"

Cons: "Not giving me a reason to replace with porsche"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Original owner. Unbelievable comfort, reliability and quality. Can't come up with a good reason to replace - still runs like new, all features fully operational, fuel economy ~25 mpg. If and when the time comes another volvo is a first consideration."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

AMAZING CAR

By on Friday, November 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Heat and AC works amazing, seats are so comfy!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"One of the best cars I have ever owned. Really reliable, comfortable, and all the gagets are so much help!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car!

By on Sunday, November 13, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 275,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very comfortable. Stable. Safe. I feel the 2.9L is a little under power for this car, but it does perform well."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Hot ride

By on Saturday, November 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,600

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, with the T-6 it gets up and GOES"

Cons: "Some things could have been made a little sturdier"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a sweet car for any professional. I loved the styling and the seats designed by chiropractors are awesome for long trips. It's a well designed car and thanks to Volvo sticking with it's designs for so long is still current and modern."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best car I ever had

By on Saturday, November 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,517

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, quiet, comfortable and stylish."

Cons: "Not the best on gas mileage -21Mph in city, 25 hwy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very fast, quiet, comfortable and reliable. Best car I ever had. It has 80K miles and everything is original and in good shape."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car

By on Thursday, November 03, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "safe gas, heat seats, everthing automatic"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"confortable,reliable, smooth, cheap mainance then other luxury cars, top luxury car, good gas."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Reliable, Very fast.

By on Thursday, November 03, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fast Fun Great looking car"

Cons: "Dont keep its value as other jap cars"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my third volvo i've owned and boy isnt it the best. The only problem was the check eng light came on occasionally but it was all about the fuel cap and that was the only repair i've did to it ($9)yes Nine dollars thats all what i paid on the car since i've owned it, if you are thinking about buying one of these go with the T6 model i had the 2.9 s80 and i didnt like it at all it was really slow and under powered comparing to the T6 and there is no difference in the MPG at all"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

good car

By on Tuesday, November 01, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 158,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"good had for 3 years"

I am impressed with the performance

By on Monday, October 24, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great value for a used auto"

Cons: "Get a warranty on older models if possible . . ."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I did have to put a new transmission and front end on it at the 50K mark but other than that, Peaches and Cream. The good thing is that I had purchased a warranty and it was all covered!! I am going to purchase a C70 in a few months so overall, I am obviously pleased with the Volvo brand."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Safe,comfortable.

By on Sunday, October 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Comfortable"

Cons: "always repairing things."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"It's a safe, comfortable car, but you pay for maintance isn't cheap especially now and i have had to put in a lil more than $2400 to keep everything up to date and making sure the car is in good condition. I don't know what it is but im always having to deal with alignments and i drive in the same area as my mother and she has the same car, make and model and she doesn't so i don't know what the problem is with that and i cannot stand it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great car

By on Saturday, October 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 159,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"looks perfect drives even better"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 13 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volvo S80 near Honolulu. See local deals