Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • 2014 Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

1999 Volvo S80

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.2
Out of 10

Based on 312 Ratings for the 1999 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.4/10
    Quality
    7.6/10
  • Reliability
    7.4/10
    Performance
    8.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 11 12 13 | Next

Great Sedan

By on Friday, August 10, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"No major problems. Only minor wear and maintenance needed. The T6 engine picks up nice and smooth. The large interior spacing is very comfortable. The exterior design is some of Volvo's nicest (not a box)... A fun car to drive and Volvo safe..."

By on Thursday, August 09, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

So So

By on Wednesday, August 08, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have this year 2000 2.9 S80 with 140K. However, I have a few complaints about the engineering. Like, you need a special wrench just to change the oil filter. The interior locks are confusing to operate. And there is no switch inside the car for the trunk, except for the manuel key lock, and the remote. The car takes a whopping 7 quarts of oil, and gets 23-24mpg. My particular car has head lights which are consistanly on when u run the engine. Just recently I have been having electrical problems. There is some kind of leak somewhere, so the engine keeps reving up to make up the loss. In short, the car is bought out by Ford, so its not the volvo it used to be. Don't waste your money, buy a real import."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

The most comfortable car you'll ever drive!

By on Wednesday, August 01, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"We purchased this S80 new in 2000 simply for its safety ratings and second for the amount of room it had for our family members. We were and have been extremely pleased with the comfort of the seats and the smooth ride. This is something that we did not expect from Volvo. We haven't had any major repairs to report, just a few minor things that balance out over the 7 years that we've had this car. It's been safe and reliable car for us."

Great Car

By on Saturday, July 28, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have a T-6 premier. Other than some minor problems, which fell under warranty, this car has been great. Having owned a 1995 850, I feel that some of the components are not built as good in the interior of the car. Nothing major, but things such as the cup holders have broken. Overall, it is a great car with a lot of comforts. The navigation system and the DVD/TV player and screens on both headreats are great."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Volvo s80

By on Friday, July 27, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"Brought this car with 70k miles on it, now have 122k. Overall it good car but I think the repairs on brakes/rotors can be expensive and seem to wear then other cars I have driven. Replacing bulbs for the brake lights are a nuisance at times but I would buy Volvo again. I'm expecting over 200k from this one."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Friday, July 27, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

I'll never buy another Volvo

By on Thursday, July 26, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"Horrible depreciation."

Fantastic Four

By on Wednesday, July 25, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I love this car! Have three kids and they all fit comfortably in the car. Smooth ride, great handling, strong engine and awesome gas mileage. I consistently avg 24 mpg between highway/city driving of 35%/65%. A minor vibration sound on front inside door panels occassionally due to their design is the only "quality" issue I had. Handles great in the snow with FWD. AWD doesn't improve wet/snow traction that considerably for the price difference."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Tight fast large sedan

By on Wednesday, July 25, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Cant complain at all about this car. Had it for over 40k miles and it now has 100k. Sunroof rattle is the only real problem - but no leak, and with a $700 repair, I live with it. Silkey smooth from stop to 80 mph as she presses you back into your 8 way power bucket seat, passing with ease on 2 lane hwys. Great Car for the money!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Nice Sporty Sedan

By on Saturday, July 21, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Handles great with fast exceleration. Bought used with low mileage. Very happy with car overall. Wish it had a compass. This feature was not available untill 2007 models."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Family Vechicle

By on Monday, July 16, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"This was the first European car I have own and I love it. Was going to buy a BMW 530I, but was able to save $10,000 for the Volvo and it was still covered by the 50k mile factory waranty. Also, insurance was cheaper on the Volvo than the BMW. Win, Win when you have a growing family. Pleanty of room for them as well."

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 11 12 13 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volvo S80 near Honolulu. See local deals