Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2006 Volvo S60

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 111 Ratings for the 2006 - 2008 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next

S60 is quick and comfortable. Class and comfort

By on Friday, May 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,600

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"S60 is quick and comfortable. Classic lines, simple yet high quality interior seats and controls. Bought it used and its in great shape at 100k, far better than previous autos I've have had at 100k. Expecting to reach 200 easy."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

This is my 4th Volvo, its been a great car.

By on Wednesday, April 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, repairs are not bad, gas is good"

Cons: "steering range is not the best."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my car in 2006 at Ontario Volvo, I take my car there for all repairs. I get compliments on the car all the time. Its metallic sapphire black with tinted windows and american racing rims. I take excellent car of this vehicle, who ever gets this car will love it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned!

By on Friday, March 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 68,600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Stylish, responsive, reliable, high quality"

Cons: "Front end very low to ground"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had this car for 8 years and it still drives like a dream. It's peppy and handles the road well in all kinds of weather. The design has also stood up well and it doesn't look as old as it is. The interior and exterior are in great shape too. My only complaint is that the front end is very low to the ground and you have to be careful pulling into parking spaces with cement block stoppers. Other than that, the car is terrific."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

great car, well built and a ton of fun

By on Wednesday, March 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is excellent. 300hp engine with four wheel drive. To truly experience how awesome the S60R is you have to drive it in the winter with a set of Bridgestone Blizzaks. You will be yelling at the slow moving cautious drivers to get out of the way so you can fly by. Excellent acceleration and comfortable at 40 or 125mph."

Very fun to drive

By on Tuesday, March 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great Power"

Cons: "Turning Radious terrible"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 2007 S60R about a year ago and its still invigorating to drive. With 300hp and 300ft/lbs whats not to love about this ride. Plus as long as i use cruise control on long trips I get almost 500 miles on one tank. Much less if I'm stomping on it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever had!

By on Friday, March 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 202,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "ride, comfort, reliability, low maintenance costs"

Cons: "requires high octane gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have put approximately 200,000 miles on this car with only one real repair. Reliability has been fantastic and the ride smooth and completely comfortable. I would and probably will own another Volvo when I finally decide to trade this one in. It is still driving and working fantastically so it looks like it may be awhile yet."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Good, dependable vehicle!

By on Monday, February 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Nice quiet ride"

Cons: "Cup holders in front not great"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Great handling, quiet ride. Has all the safety protection that you'd expect from a Volvo. Handles really well and has comfortable driving area though it sits a little low in passenger seat (limited visibility for short people). Cup holders not great, but great vehicle for work commute or longer driving. I'd buy another!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Makes me feel like a kid again...

By on Friday, February 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, speed, decent gas mileage, speed..."

Cons: "Back seat leg room, but I never ride there..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Does anyone else like to see how fast their car can go? Did anyone else get scared with how fast the S60 can go? I drive down to Phoenix from Colorado Springs each year for baseball spring training, and each year my red rocket gets me there in good shape. I love this car. I've had a lot of cars in my life, but this may be the first one that I actually love. I bought it new in the fall of 2008 and it was the greatest investment of my life. I cannot imagine driving anything else."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best value for safe, attractive luxury vehicle

By on Monday, January 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very nice leather, safe, great value,"

Cons: "engine is more noisy than I would prefer"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"You can't get a better car for less money. This car is for a sensible, discerning buyer looking for luxury and safety without having a car payment the size of a mortgage."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Excellent!!!

By on Friday, October 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "power, ride comfort, preformance, realibility."

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"In my 46 years of driving, and 17 cars (7 brand new), I have never experianced the comfort, realibility, preformance, and value of a car like this. In the five years I have owned this car, I have experianced not a major issue and only one factory covered problem which was minor. Granted, I have taken very good car of this car ie: maintenace and constant (3000 mile) oil changes and check ups.. The car contiues to ride brand new. Gas milage has increased with age. I would recommend this car to anyone."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I may never get rid of this car!

By on Sunday, June 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Drive experience, simplistic design and features"

Cons: "Turning radius"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned my 2007 S60R for 18 months and I look forward to every time I get into it. This car can be a comfortable family cruiser for long hauls or a fun sporty beast on back country roads. The AWD provides great grip and the 4C suspension allows me to customize the ride. When I was shopping for this car I also test drove a 535xi and this car won hands down. The Bimmer was just over complicated and felt heavy despite its engine. I love the clean Scandinavian design and simplistic layout. My only complaint is that the turning radius is terrible. I have spoken to other R owners and the feelings are similar across the board. This is a great car for the guy (or gal) that has a family but still has a bit of thrill seeker left in them."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love this vehicle. Comfort and power all in one

By on Wednesday, June 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, looks and handle great !!"

Cons: "Center console is a bit too tight"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a terrific road car. Travels and handles like a dream. Very comfortable and reasonably spacious. Have had SUVs in the past but love the fold down seats and leather in my S60. Mechanically good, only minor issues with power windows. Traction is terrific and is great on the freeway. This car is a wonderful blend of power, luxury and safety !!!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Volvo S-60R, 2005 and 2006 models

By on Tuesday, February 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great Car, Fun to Drive, It'll last a long time"

Cons: "Limited back seat space"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

S60-R

"I have a 2005 Volvo S-60R, the basic difference between the 2006 model is the 6-speed transmission vs the 2005 5-speed transmission and the so-called iPod connection (that never worked properly). My S-60R has always worked in a suberb manner, it's fast (300 HP), it' stopped faster then any other vehicle I've had (thank you Brembo brakes). My Volvo is fast, and stops on a dime (my Volvo has 92,000 miles). The quality of vehicle goes beyond almost all other vehicles. Granted there are preventive maintive issues you'll have to deal with, like the Timing belt, and the water pump (over 90,000 miles). The radiator should be replaced at 90,000 to 100,000 miles (not unusal for any car sold in the USA). The thing is, everything else works. And I do mean everything else works, the power seats, the radio, the electronics for the cruise control, DSTC, etc, they all work. It's a great car. My next car? A Volvo"

14 people out of 14 found this review helpful

S60-R

Thumbs up

By on Tuesday, September 25, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Beautiful, smooth ride-will stick with Volvo"

Cons: "Expensive repair and lack of public knowledge"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have had my car for 2 years now. I love it! It has comfort, handling, and of course, a little power to it. The only thing is that NO matter what you are replacing/or getting fixed, it WILL be expensive. As a college student, I would be in the pits if something significant happened. So far, so good however! Let's hope Volvo stands true to it's name of reliability."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

The Volvo S60 is reliable and comfortable.

By on Monday, September 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Luxury at an affordable price."

Cons: "Turning radius. Legroom in backseat."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I've owned my S60 for 4 years. I bought it off a two year lease and felt confident of the value with the 100k mile extended warranty. I had it in for a few minor issues and regular maintenance. It drives beautifully. Only complaint is the turning radius. Can be challenging when parking in tight spots. I'm looking at buying a new Volvo next year. Disappointed that the V50 was discontinued. I'll look at the S60 for a replacement."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

OK

By on Tuesday, March 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "Expensive to Maintain"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Great new car... but small items tend to drive you nuts! Air conditioning has been an issue... Fun to drive, great on ice/snow but overall hasn't aged as well as Toyota's or Honda's i've driven in the past. Oil changes are more expensive unless you are a DIY'er."

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Thursday, February 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, Quiet, Great Stereo, Smooth gearbox"

Cons: "Rear leg room, The dealer's outrageous prices"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"You get everything that is expected from Volvo; Safety, Reliability, Comfort, And Sportiness. If you want a luxury car that isn't German or Japanese Volvo is in a class of their own.."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Good value

By on Tuesday, February 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 74,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"You get what you pay for a nice comfortable car with an affordable price. I have had some minor issues but this is my first car and it was 4 years old when I got it. 2 rear bulbs replaced and a headlight. Also, brand new rear tires went completely bald in 6 months. After replacement and alignment no issues. And the right rear brakes locked up and it had to be towed which was included under the extended warranty"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

2007 Volvo s60 2.5T AWD Special Edition

By on Wednesday, February 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,800

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car, expensive on repair. Worth every penny if you love Volvo's anonymous yet luxury style."

Great car but...

By on Friday, February 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Pros: Looks, style, front seat comfort, trunk space, good speakers and lots of them, fun to drive(I always drove 4 cylinders with no turbo before). Cons: Stereo lacking technology and difficult to replace/upgrade(some places told me they wouldn;t even try), back seat no leg room, MPG says 21/30 I drive mostly highway and get just over 21, poor turning radius."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

would not buy again

By on Thursday, February 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "quick car"

Cons: "expensiuve repairs($300 for headlight repair)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"repairs are expensive"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Good car for the right person.

By on Friday, January 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Drives great and handles incredibly."

Cons: "Strange issues from possibly being a dealer model."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I have owned my Volvo for about 5 years now. I purchased the dealer model because it was a great deal on a great car - $30k for a car that normally sells closer to $40k with only 4k miles on it. My main issues with the car are mechanical. I'm not sure if I have these issues because the car was the dealer model or if I just got a lemon, but here are the following problems I've encountered: - Brakes starting clinking after a couple of months. I was told the brakes were new, but who knows. My mechanic told me there was no issue with the brakes and they were fine. - This car eats up Anti-freeze/Coolant! I never remember having to refill the anti-freeze/coolant this much in my 1998 Jeep Wrangler. I'm adding more every 2 months. - This one is weird. I park my car on the street, and some of them are more angled towards the curb than others. If I park on a particular street that angles more towards the curb and the gas tank is at 1/4 full, I have trouble starting the car. I have never had an issue like this with any car that I've owned and this is my 4th car. - My only non-mechanical issue: design. In the winter, the snow builds up on the front of the car where the dash meets the hood, which makes the wipers useless as they turn into icicles. And leaves get caught in the trunk of my car where the trunk lid meets the rear window, which turns into mulch by the time I notice. Irritating design flaws. My only other issue that I have is comfort. The seats are super comfortable, but being 5'11", even the S60 is not spacious enough for the leg room. It was fine at first, but these last couple of years have become increasingly uncomfortable for me. I think this is a great car for the right person but it turns out it's not that great for me. Maybe I just got a lemon in a long line of prize apples."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great car

By on Tuesday, December 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "good value"

Cons: "power passenger seat is an added option"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"very nice car, just wish I had opted for the leather"

Best Car I've ever owned

By on Friday, November 25, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "definitely fun to drive"

Cons: "poor placement of MP3 plug in; no leg room in back"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Hands down this is the best car I've ever owned. I typically get bored with vehicles and replace them every 3 years. Still driving the S60 and love it! The performance and handling are superb. A few things I don't like. There is NO leg room in the back seat. I don't recommend this for people with teenagers or kids about to have a growth spurt like mine did AFTER we bought the car. It no longer fits the family. I also do NOT like the placement of the plug in for the MP3 player. It's inside the center console with no room for the wire to come out. So I've chewed through 2 cords for my iphone due to having the console lid closed on it and the constant rubbing. Much as I love my heated seats, they don't get as hot as I would like either. My husband has a Durango and his seats are much more toasty on the cold days. Overall minor complaints. The car drives like a dream, is amazing on gas (I've actually done a trip where I averaged almost 34 miles/gallon) and with all the paint Volvo puts on their cars you can't see a single parking lot ding, although I guarantee its been whacked by a door or two in the last 3 years."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I absolutely LOVE my Volvo S60!

By on Monday, November 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 109,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great Looking Car... Very fun to drive... Safe, Fast and Hot!"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volvo S60 near Honolulu. See local deals