Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2005 Volvo S60

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.3
Out of 10

Based on 347 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    8.6/10
  • Reliability
    8.6/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Exceeded expectations for reliability/performance.

By on Friday, January 16, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Sufficient power, good handling and reliable."

Cons: "Lacking rear leg room and small turning radius."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have had no major problems with the car."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Comfort, performance and dependebility

By on Saturday, December 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 68,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "quicly accelerates, comfortable, minimal costs"

Cons: "not a sports car but with sport bumper and sides,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought the car with sports grill and bumpers because of sleekness. Great on highway with turbo that kicks in and quickly accelerates, but still gets >30mpg highway at 89 mph. This car remains stylish, and costs for repairs though often high, are infrequent over 10 years. The Swedes build a great auto!!"

10 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Love this car. Best all around sedan I've owned.

By on Wednesday, December 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "You'll unlikely find a better car for the money."

Cons: "Maintenance costs."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This car is an excellent blend of go fast and comfort. It will go and stop in any weather. Extremely responsive to driver inputs. It is also deceptively powerful. Doesn't attract attention. Does keep yours."

9 people out of 12 found this review helpful

dealer maintained

By on Saturday, October 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"for a car 12 yrs old,,looks like it just came out the showroom,,,need to see to believe"

4 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Good Ride, Bad Drive

By on Thursday, August 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"It rides like a Buick. Like floating on pillows for suspension. Very well designed interior and high quality options, great sound system, and not bad looking on the exterior. But being behind the wheel is dismal. Unresponsive steering, braking, AND throttle. But, there are plenty of people that don't care about that stuff. If you are one of those people, then this is indeed an excellent car."

10 people out of 15 found this review helpful

In for the long haul

By on Tuesday, July 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Comfort, turn on a dime, great control!"

Cons: "Some of the plastic amenities have turned to ..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car used, for $7500 with 45,000 miles on it. Up until 99,000 miles, with regular service ( every 4,500 miles) it has been a true workhorse. Fan replaced at 98,000 miles and have had A/C problems ever since. Drove it from Rhode Island to Florida, in perfect comfort! I have two slipped discs and have yet to find another car that gives the comfort and support while driving. The deep seats, dual A/C, huge trunk, great leg room, great and comfy back seats! Have loved this car from day 1 and feel that I got a great deal at a great price. Looking into the XC6o now.. cannot give up these fabulous seats."

13 people out of 20 found this review helpful

I love this car!

By on Saturday, June 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a great car. After many years of driving I have decided to sell it."

2 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Wonderful, comfortable, and efficient.

By on Monday, May 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 147,750

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfort, efficiency, power, features"

Cons: "Limited legroom in the back seat."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I purchased this car off of a lease. I have driven this car over 110K miles in the last 8 years and have loved it every time I got into it. It is comfortable for me at 6'4" though the legroom in the back seat leaves a bit to be desired as my kids grow. It is great in the rain and snow and got me through two harsh South Dakota winters. The stereo system is pure joy. The leather is the softest I have ever felt even in other European sedans at much higher price points. There is a surprising amount of trunk space. There is ample power and yet I still manage to get as much as 31.5MPG on the highway with 85 octane fuel. I would strongly recommend this vehicle."

18 people out of 25 found this review helpful

Love this cat!

By on Saturday, April 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Very fun and sporty."

Cons: "Poor turning radius"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Very reliable. Great pick up. Very comfortable."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

saved my cousins lives

By on Thursday, March 20, 2014

I want this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "safe"

Cons: "nothing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"my cousins were brod sided at high speed and walked away they bolt another and the s60 extremly safe"

9 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volvo S60 near Honolulu. See local deals