Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2002 Volvo S60

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.3
Out of 10

Based on 342 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    8.6/10
  • Reliability
    8.6/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 14 | Next

Slowly becoming unreliable.

By on Thursday, July 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 147,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"A good car, but aged too soon. Last 940 went 227000 miles."

2 people out of 8 found this review helpful

I had it for 3 years

By on Wednesday, July 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,005

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great value"

Cons: "none aplecable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love my car knocking of wood still runs smoothly"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

So many pros, but a major con.

By on Wednesday, May 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great value, High end driving experience, Safe"

Cons: "300 miles to dealership for maintenance."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"A great car! I bought it used 3 years ago with very low miles for much less than comparable cars. It is quiet comfortable, and handles very well. The non-turbo engine is slightly under powered but the 32 mpg is great. I like the 7500 mile oil changes. I can also do any of the recommended maintenance at home including changing the timing belt. The con is a big one and will probably prevent me from buying another Volvo. Dealer specialties, only Volvo dealers can run diagnostics or make keys. The car must be at the dealer for anything electrically related. Dealer maintenance is quite costly and there are only 64 dealerships in the US that can do complete Volvo maintenance. So if you loose your keys plan on getting your car towed 300 miles to the nearest dealer so they can program the car to the new key for a modest $290. Check engine lights are about the same. Luckily my Volvo is very dependable and I got spare keys made before loosing the original. The dealer specialty maintenance is the only reason for a low resale value on a Volvo, if I lived within an hour of a dealer I wouldn't hesitate to buy another Volvo."

22 people out of 24 found this review helpful

Great car for dailydriving, having fun, and winter

By on Thursday, April 05, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 59,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Speed, handling, comfort, 4WD, Great Daily driver."

Cons: "None."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is fun to drive spirited as well as just be daily driven. It has tons of power, 300hp with a 6spd trans you wouldnt want any more. It also handles like a dream, it has 3 different suspension modes to choose from so it can be comfortable or handle like a race car. I have taken it to the road course a couple times and have done pretty well. Since it is 4wd it handles all slippery conditions great, no slipping and complete control in the snow. The car is extremely comfortable too. Any one who rides in the car comments about how nice the seats are in it. Gas milage is pretty good I get about 22 in the city and 29 on the highway. I have owned this car for about 4 years and it has been extremely relaible. I havent had a problem with anything at all on it. The car is about 8 years old now and I have never babied it so it is great. Normally turbo cars burn a bit of oil, not this one, it runs smooth and STRONG. For being older there is not one sqeak or rattle in the car just goes to show you that Volvo really took pride in this one considering it was thier "M3 Killer". I like this car a lot and dont think I can ask for a better more fun daily driver."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

very good car

By on Friday, March 30, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "reliable,safe,comfort,low milage,good paint,color"

Cons: "no GPS,scrape,leg room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Reliable, small car. 4 doors. Have gotten too old to drive. Power windows, locks.Comfortable, small for long legs."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Solid vehicle, lots of quality

By on Tuesday, March 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have had every car from a Suzuki to a Jaguar. Love this vehicle. It is 10 years old and it still runs well and looks timeless. Maintainance costs were not that bad, although I do have a small coolant leak from either the turbo or the seal-so far so good though!"

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

I've had this car for 2 years and I love it!

By on Saturday, March 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Everything about this car is wonderful. From the turn radius to the comfort of handling, it is the best car I've ever owned. I had a BMW, 2 4Runners, a Buick, 3 other Volvo's [740, 850 and 940] and i love my s60. The only time I've been at the mechanics is to change my oil."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Family sedan with the heart of a performance GT

By on Friday, March 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 53,800

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fast, luxurious, confidence inspiring, handsome"

Cons: "European reliability and maintenance costs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I've owned this car for eight years. It's fast, smooth, and confidence inspiring in both dry and wet (has AWD). Pushes at the limit, but the limits are very high and not something you will encounter on the street. The adjustable suspension works and has very distinct character between the settings. Downside: replacing the front shocks will run you $1k installed. Engine torque from 1,500 to 5,000 rpm rivals a small V8 and is especially deep at freeway speeds. Just press and pull away from most anything. Brembo brakes at all four corners are incredible. Solid, short stops, pads wear forever because they are, literally, the pads used on the 1st gen Dodge Viper. Can get squeal sometimes, though, because they are high-performance pads. Reliability of the car is just okay. Some expensive and/or unexpected parts have been replaced under warranty, such as the sunroof and sunroof motor, failed headlight (would have cost $1,100), radiator, power steering reservoir. And several of the rubber suspension bushings and engine mounts have been replaced, sometimes more than once. Those are obviously under-engineered, since all I do is drive this normally on the street, and have put just 54,000 miles on it in 8 years. Yet I've replaced the front control arm bushings twice. As a friend said, it's European and has higher maintenance. That has been my only disappointment."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

no complaints about this vehicle.

By on Thursday, March 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"If you don't have kids this is the best vehicle in its class comfort, power, reliablity excellent."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great highway/trip vehical -great sears

By on Monday, February 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,500

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very comfortable for long trip and good gas milage"

Cons: "expensive to repair"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Good looking car and very comfortable for long trips or commuting. Very safe. But expensive to repair. I have enjoyed driving this car. Gas mileage is much better than expected."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

good

By on Sunday, February 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 188,800

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"good"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

dream boat

By on Thursday, February 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"all volvo as expected."

Great in Winter, fun to drive, peppy, Safe

By on Saturday, February 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great for winter, great 'get-up-and-go!'"

Cons: "Cost of repairs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My wife loves this car, everyone who drives it can't believe the power it has. Great for passing. Unbeatable in the snow, better than my 4x4 truck! We get 29-30 mpg on the highway at 72 mph."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Very reliable, safe, and comfortable car.

By on Saturday, February 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliability, comfort, driving stability, safe"

Cons: "limited legroom in back seat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is one of the best cars I have owned, and is my second S60. My first went 269,000 miles with just routine maintenance and was running beautifully until my son totaled it. The S60 is very well designed and drives and handles very well, especially in snowy or wet conditions. It is very stable on the road and extremely comfortable, making it an ideal everyday driver and great for long trips. I average 26 - 27 mpg overall and get as much as 30 mpg on long trips. The only negative thing I can say about this car is that the legroom in the back seat is limited."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great Used car for teenagers.

By on Saturday, January 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Safety, good in snow, and fun to drive."

Cons: "Not much legroom in the back seats for tall people"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My family has owned Volvos since the early 70's. A 240 wagon my brother rolled and survived, to a'96 850 wagon that just won't quit, to the most recent purchase '02 s60 turbo for teenager. We have had great luck with both the safety and mechanical of Volvos. The s60 is no exception."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

best car i have ever owned.

By on Friday, January 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this is the only car in my lifetime that ia have held for over 50,000 miles.feels ,like a tank offering safety."

best car ive ever owned

By on Tuesday, January 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive, very reliable"

Cons: "premium fuel, lil wind noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car. Comfortable fast fun to drive. Only thing I dont like is having to use premium fuel."

Luxurious safety and sports car feel

By on Thursday, January 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Safety and comfort"

Cons: "Costly maintenance and service"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Sounds silly but, this car became part of our family. As a protective father and husband this vehicle fit the safety standards that made me feel at ease. It drives like a sports car but also handles well in the worst weather conditions. It is just as luxurious from home to the grocery store as it is to a trip from the city to the country. Back seat gets kind of small with two infant car seats. Service and maintenance are a bit spendy, but are worth the investment. Volvo standards for safety and comfort exceed that of most luxury family sedans. You can't go wrong with this vehicle."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!

By on Thursday, January 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 158,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great on gas"

Cons: "upgrade the entertainment unit"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned a few cars in my time and byfar this one is the best. Its comfortable,fast great on gas and did i mention fast? Its quiet yet you can still hear the engine growl when you step on the gas. if you want to get one i say you should! i have a BMW XDRIVE and to be honest i hardly drive it. this Volvo Rocks! don't believe me go drive one and see for yourself."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great Reliable Car

By on Wednesday, January 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great long lasting car"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this car, Ive owned many cars (Toyota, Dodge, Ford, Mazda) and this is by far the best one. You get more for your money and they last forever with proper maintenance. Plus i get great gas mileage(32 ) Very Comfortable and smooth ride."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love this car!

By on Friday, January 06, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Driving this car feels like driving on clouds! Tons of room for passengers. Has a lot of zip to it too! My next car will also be a Volvo"

Easy to maintain, trouble free, comfortable

By on Tuesday, January 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 158,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth quiet ride, great mileage, very reliable"

Cons: "Minor paint issues with age, expensive when new"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has the most comfortable seats I've ever had in a car. The gas milage is great! Often close to 30MPG that's fantastic for a 3500 lb car. Interior still looks new. uses no oil, no transmission issues. Everything still works after almost 8 years! Very minor issues with HVAC $800.00 repair and the main computer failed once for $800.00 repair. All else maintenance that I could perform myself. Parts are plentiful and redily availabel. New aftermarket brake pads and rotors delivered to your door for $80.00 can't be beat. Have only replace brakes once in 158K mi. Tires wear evenly. It's a very well made car."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Safe as a tank but

By on Thursday, December 29, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very safe car to drive."

Cons: "Turning radius, front tires rub wheel well"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"I feel extremely safe in this car. The downside is the turning radius, you can't make a tight turn as with all other cars. Also, the front tires rub the wheel well in a tight turn. This is a known defect and there is no cure unless you want to go to a big expense and go to a smaller tire and rim. Other than that, this is a fun car to drive. It has great get up and go, good handling and comfortable."

Volvo = safe and reliable yet sophisticated

By on Friday, December 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Most people don't realize the quality of Volvo"

Cons: "Finding a replacement as reliable or comfortable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Enough said!"

love it, bought it used 3 years ago, no problems!

By on Wednesday, December 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It is comfortable, fun to drive, best car value I have ever had. thought about getting an XC90 but they are not rated very well. Going with BMW next time"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 14 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volvo S60 near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details