Go

2002 Volvo S40

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.7
Out of 10

Based on 184 Ratings for the 2000 - 2003 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.8/10
    Quality
    7.9/10
  • Reliability
    7.9/10
    Performance
    8.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    8.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 37 | Next

Fun car but not worth the expense

By on Friday, March 21, 2008

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

"I was concerned about safety after my Honda got taken out by a Dodge Neon (!), so I purchased this sturdier Volvo, used. It's great to drive and doesn't look like every other car on the road, but there always seems to be something wrong with it: oxygen sensors, the fuel pump, faulty thermometer gauges, etc. I'm surprised the check engine light hasn't burnt out by now; most of the other bulbs have! The repairs are expensive, and so are the parts. Even the battery costs twice as much as the ones for "normal" cars. Other manufacturers are improving their cars' safety ratings, so it would be well worth your time to check out those cars, instead."

33 people out of 33 found this review helpful

Very well-built solid car....prob saved my life

By on Sunday, April 1, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "180k miles safely driven"

Cons: "cup holder, expensive to replace exhaust"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"After driving this car for 10 years and getting it up to 180k miles...it prob saved my life in a car accident recently. In an accident that would have probably totaled most cars and sent most people to the hospital...I was lucky to only have minor damage on the car and I left with very minor scrapes and bruises. Being able to walk away from a very bad accident without any major injury is why the safety Volvo always highlights is absolutely true."

21 people out of 21 found this review helpful

Solid perfomance

By on Sunday, January 1, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 152,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "No longer make as of 2011"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car used (17k)and has hand zero issues and performs as well as the newer Volvos today. Handles very well at high speeds and the gas milage is about 36 mpg for me right now. Like this one so much purchase an almost same car for spouse."

13 people out of 13 found this review helpful

great car, very fast, great handling

By on Sunday, June 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "nothing bad to say"

Cons: "parts can a little pricey"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this is one of the most fun cars to drive. Bought it with 27700 miles on it. Had to replace brakes and rotors since I bought it. Drove up to Cape Cod the first week I owned it. Got 34 mpg averaging 65-70 mph. With a little over 70000 miles it still runs great."

12 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Very Safe

By on Wednesday, October 24, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Had a Front end accident at about 45MPH, the car absorbed the impact, the passenger compartment was undisturbed. No injuries, thanks Volvo. This is my wifes car, after the accident, she wanted the exact same car, said she liked the power, the comfortable seats and how they adjusted. Great gas Mileage. Cons: Lights need to be replaced often, poor visibility based on the head rests. Finding tires that provide low noise level is not easy, finally went with the Kumho Ecsta asx, that did the trick. the stock tires were terrible. Synopsis: Styling, handling, gas mileage and safety is great. I like the body style better that the new boxier S40. Oh yeah, adding the spoiler and the mudflaps sure make this car look even better."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 37 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volvo S40 near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement