Go

1999 Volvo C70

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.0
Out of 10

Based on 101 Ratings for the 1998 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.3/10
    Quality
    8.3/10
  • Reliability
    8.3/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next

My Volvo, how Swede it is!

By on Sunday, May 25, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

"I have had my c70 for about 7 yrs and I LUV LUV it. I keep it in mint condition so many people are amazed that it is 10 yrs old. As far as style, buy far my car stands out in this city. Reliability, its never let me down thus far. Comfort, it is a coupe and it doesnt compare to my s-80 sedan volvo. I overall recommend this car. My Volvo, how Swede it is!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Monday, August 10, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fuel economy actual 21-28 mpg"

Cons: "poor door window regulators"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this is the best convertible I have owned. Some minor issues but overall excellent vehicle for the price. Rear glass in top separated at an early age even though car was garage kept. Both front door regulators failed after about 11 years. Otherwise very reliable. Blue color and sleek design make this a head turner."

16 people out of 22 found this review helpful

one Dealer all maintenance

By on Thursday, August 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"2013 install re-build transmission. 2014 rebuild motor. Consistent upkeep, new rims and tires. replace black convertible top with a matching grey convertible top looks really good with the silver body."

18 people out of 25 found this review helpful

2000 Volvo C70

By on Saturday, February 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Absolutely Gorgeous interior and exterior/"

Cons: "Small Space, cheap interior pieces"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"This has to be the strangest car in the world, everything about it sends me back to the Owners Manual. The radio requires a 2-3 hour wait with the car on to reset, which runs the batter down. The car makes sounds that are alarming to say the least. The trim is falling off in leaps and bounds. The hood will not shut, but this car is absolutely gorgeous, the body is perfect, the interior would make Henry Ford blush, and most of the options work in the car, you just have to search and find out how to use them. I am replacing three lights and I am just going to let a mechanic fix them. But all and all, I like the car."

18 people out of 25 found this review helpful

Don't buy a Volvo c70

By on Monday, March 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "It is a car and beats walking."

Cons: "More than 50 characters would permit."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"It's hard to imagine the person who approved many of the silly details on this car. The turning radius is very limited, don't attempt a u-turn unless you have 3 lanes of space to work with. The front seats use a poorly conceived electric motor to allow access to the back seats. It's certainly not a car that more than 2 people can hop in and drive away in. We bought the car after the model was recommended by a neighbor, now we wonder if the neighbor was playing a trick on us. Expect the check engine light to come on regularly for very minor issues (which makes getting the car smoged a HUGE pain in the butt.) It's a car that may seem like a good idea in the short time people generally take to test drive and inspect vehicles, but the longer you drive this car the more you will distain it. I have owned Volvo's before and loved them...this is simply a poorly designed car that will grant you more aggravation and annoyance than joy."

20 people out of 28 found this review helpful

looks good

By on Monday, August 23, 2010

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"I fell in love with this car, however, I was disapointed time after time with frequent and extremely costly repairs. When it was running it ran great, lots of power and handled well but it was just one thing after another, just couldn't keep up!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Not for me

By on Tuesday, July 27, 2010

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
5/10

"This was a classic case of getting carried away with the thought of driving a convertible and not paying attention to the details. The car looks great and performs as a Volvo should- no complaints. But buyers should pay attention to the extreme lack of storage and the HUGE turning radius of this car. It was also very loud and rough on the roads- a lot of cabin noise as the top rattles around you. Tires are expensive to replace. I really disliked this car and traded it in after only 2 years- which brings up the issue of resale. There is none. According to KBB, the value went down $11k in just 2 years. Love it for what it is- a weekend-drive in the country- convertible. But don't expect much else."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Fun Ragtop revisited

By on Tuesday, October 13, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this 1999 C70 with 130K miles... It is a bit expensive to repair but not out of line for its class. I love this car, moreso than any car I have had in the past 20+ years, it is so much fun to drive. Comfortable, stylish, and dependable. It has a surprisingly large turning radious, but it is so much fun, it makes you want to drive to Kansas to turn it around... Other than that, it performs very well, and is holding up well for the high miles mine has..."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Fantastic looks and driving

By on Wednesday, October 31, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car is not only beautiful from all angles, but is a joy to drive. The high output turbo provides excellent accelleration and yet is very quiet. All it needs is a good dual exhaust system to complete it."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Volvo Never Again

By on Tuesday, April 20, 2010

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

"I bought a Volvo C70 for reliability, styling, and comfort. What a piece of trash. In 6 years I replaced the battery twice, console lights twice, brakes every 20K miles, auto trans needed a rebuild (can't change fluid). What a piece of junk. In great apperance shape and got $6300."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Expensive frequent repairs

By on Saturday, April 5, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,600

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Mid life snit car for conservative types"

Cons: "Needs push peddles to go when the car fails"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Electrical gremlins, pinched wires, security key sensor replaced 3 times, electrical distribution system, convertible top sticks on stowage, transmission coast shock, body cowl shake, fails to start about 4 times per year. Prepare to spend 2-5k per year post warranty."

25 people out of 41 found this review helpful

enjoy it

By on Wednesday, December 1, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"poor turning radius, but I adore mine. Fun to explore, lots of looks, VIP total pkg was a good buy for maintenane. Maybe need a bigger auto but will be so sad to part and go to someting else."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

not bad of a car pretty fast for a 5cly 2.3 turbo

By on Thursday, August 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"really good car reliability and pretty fast car for something that wazs over 4,000 pounds.just a lot of electrical issues i dont like, door lockz, window switches and door handles not working but overall a good car."

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Best to avoid this car

By on Monday, December 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Nice looking"

Cons: "cupholder, driver visor, key release, check engine"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Rear window began falling out around 30K miles."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever!

By on Friday, December 2, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 199,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I really like this car!"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Good till 100000

By on Tuesday, January 11, 2011

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"I bought this car with 55000 and drove it till 99000. It was expensive for repairs. Top had to be fixed due to bad sensor and that cost 700, blew a tire once and the rim bent that was a few hundred. Headlight switch broke so had to tape to keep lights on. Driver door window regulator broke so driver window would always leak Was a pretty good car all in all. Handled OK in the snow with good tires. Fun to drive and looks good. all in all it was ok"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Very powerfull car!

By on Thursday, May 7, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I still own this car already for 10y and i do like to replace it with something like this one HPT 20Valve etc.Wery fast powerfull and good gasmilege cca from 0 to 60 M/Hr in 5.2sec. and choice of sport or economy ride. Plastic interior components are braking very easely and they are very pricey to replace it. Wery stable on the road and curves! Much fun to drive!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Monday, December 1, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Monday, November 10, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Tuesday, September 2, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is a great car! Good gas mileage, comfortable ride, great power, and sleek Swedish styling. Out of the cars I've owned this is the best by far."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Saturday, June 14, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, January 17, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, September 27, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Monday, August 6, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Monday, August 6, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volvo C70 near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement