Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
Go

2004 Volkswagen Touareg

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.8
Out of 10

Based on 291 Ratings for the 2004 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.8/10
    Quality
    8.2/10
  • Reliability
    7.9/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next

Great car

By on Friday, April 03, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great in snow dependable"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The only reason I am selling this car is because my husband died and I cannot afford the payments on my own. This car has been great no major issues with it and is in very good condition."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best car I ever owned

By on Sunday, March 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Safety is tops, comfortable, luxurious, powerful"

Cons: "Expensive (58K new), but worth it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Minimal, minor upkeep. Incredibly safe vehicle."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Love/Hate Relationship

By on Thursday, March 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,100

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Beautiful inside and out"

Cons: "Way too many expensive electrical issues"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I don't know quite where to begin. I purchased my used, 2004 V8 AWD Touareg in November 2014. She is luxurious, comfortable, and sexy in every way but sure is darn deceiving. After three days of bliss, I started experiencing issue upon issue with my used Touareg. Upwards of $5,000 worth of pesky electrical work needs repairs, and today I had to watch my baby get hauled away on a tow truck to the shop because my key fabs stopped working and car won't start. She is beautiful and I love Blair (yes, she has a name), but I am frustrated with the endless issues that continue to arise. It may have been because of a bad dealer who didn't perform the 100,000 service check like they said they did. I'm hoping after these problems are fixed that it will be smooth sailing but I'm skeptical. I would not recommend buying a used Touareg."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Most comfortable, smooth and reliable ever

By on Thursday, February 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "LOVE the way she corners, even at high speeds."

Cons: "Navigation is not good"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I LOVE my Touareg 2! I have never once had any kind of issue with it. I have a very bad back and the comfort of the vehicle is A+, I can ride in her for hours. She is a beauty to look at and the body style is very stylish. There is plenty of leg-room for four and the tailgate is a breeze. I take very good care of her because I wish to keep her for years and she wants to look as good as she drives. My only complaint would be the navigation system, it's not user friendly, in fact I hope that VW has upgraded that."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great driving, expensive to maintain

By on Saturday, February 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, good off road, comfortable ride"

Cons: "Very expensive to maintain, German prices"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"I love driving the car. Very comfortable off road or on highway. Very well appointed. However, shares platform with Porsche Cayenne, taking it well above VW prices for repairs & maintenance. For that reason alone I would never buy another one."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

This SUV is a luxurious beast!

By on Wednesday, February 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Drives like a dream; fearless in bad weather."

Cons: "mp3 hookup would be nice on my model"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This vehicle drives extremely well and is very comfortable around town or on road trips. It may not have third row seating, but we have a small family and don't need a mini bus. Great leg room for backseat passengers. I absolutely love this vehicle, and we feel very safe in it as well."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I love my Touareg

By on Tuesday, December 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,300

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price, awesome to drive, hugs the road"

Cons: "Expensive to repair, eats breaks and light bulbs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"This is the best vehicle I have bought so far. It's great in snow, rain and can handle beautiful in the highway. It's 8 years old and a lot of people always assume it's newer...It does go through breaks, gas and light bulbs more often than any of my other cars. I just finished payment for it and of course the warranty has expired and I was just informed that it needs a timing belt replacement. The local VW dealer is asking for $6,999.00 for the repair. I'm waiting to hear back from another VW repair shop (not a dealer) and see how much it would cost through them. I love my car and would hate to get into another car payment so I'm not sure what to do at this point. I might consider buying an Extended warranty (waiting for some quotes). Wish me luck!"

10 people out of 21 found this review helpful

fine european truck designed to ride like a car

By on Friday, October 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,210

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "driving dynamics- ease of entry and exit- luxuriou"

Cons: "expensive to repair"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

pure white and dynamite

"great road manners- plenty of power 3.2 v6 motor-very classy looking and very few around so she is unique and fun to drive"

12 people out of 23 found this review helpful

pure white and dynamite

Very nice vehicle

By on Friday, October 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "smooth ride, nice sound system, just good lookin"

Cons: "Tires and brakes.. low gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Love the ride! This SUV is so smooth. It is very heavy so it also has great take off in the snow, which is great in Colorado. It doesn't like to stop in the snow though. and this SUV is known for going through tires and brakes... but everything else on the SUV is no worries. Love it!"

7 people out of 16 found this review helpful

I owned the vehicle for 7years. What a lovely car.

By on Thursday, October 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fairly priced, Very lovely piece of machine"

Cons: "All Touareg should come with GPS already installed"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Dependable automobile. I personally love to own another one like it. I'm selling the vehicle because I love to have Porsche Cayenne."

6 people out of 11 found this review helpful

best car ever. reliable, comfortable, spacious

By on Tuesday, August 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,600

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Well maintained with VW dealer service throughout"

9 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have purchased!

By on Wednesday, July 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Other than Ad Blue pump failing two years after purchase, and a recall issue of a leaky cooling pump, the vehicle has not had any other problems. It is fun to drive and handles very well. My wife and I love the Touareg!"

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

After 130,000 miles tight and solid as if new

By on Sunday, July 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "tight as new"

Cons: "get pwr seat passenger side"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Have owned many 4wd's. This is the best one for solid construction ---drives like it is new after 130,000 miles."

14 people out of 22 found this review helpful

I love my Toureg,it's ,best car ever

By on Thursday, May 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "Fuel mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love everything about it,performance,style,legroom comfort stereo"

12 people out of 18 found this review helpful

75,000 miles and the engine blew up.

By on Thursday, March 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Looks good, rides good"

Cons: "money pit, not durable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"We bought it used and did all the maintenance. Replaced front and rear brakes and both headlights. Very disappointed in what was supposed to be a durable well built car."

9 people out of 18 found this review helpful

I kiss my extended warranty every week.

By on Thursday, March 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "560 lb ft..of ungodly torque"

Cons: "expensive to fix."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I bought used 2006 V10 a year ago. It spent almost a month in a dealership getting various fixes. Luckily, previous owner bought bumper to bumper transferable extended warranty. Without it, it would have cost me approximately $10,000 to fix up the car. That is the extent of all the negatives. Other than that, this SUV rocks… I pull 30 ft camping trailer. I used to pull it with 5.7L V8 truck and did not like it at all. It did pull OK but hated gassing up every 2.5 hours. I also hated bumpy and noisy ride of truck. Also I just could not live with a truck as a daily driver. This small SUV pulls it like a champ. Thanks to 560 lb-ft of torque, only way to make this car downshift is to floor the gas on highway, while going uphill and towing a trailer. On highway, this thing is a rocket. 0-60 at 7.5 isn’t all that fast but 0-30 and highway passing acceleration is just phenomenal. Also thanks to air suspension, this thing also ride like Lexus LS430 I used to have. Basically, this thing ride like my Lexus LS430, pulls better than 5.7L V8 truck and pass better than many sports cars. But all that will cost you. I am so glad I have my extended warranty for another 4 years and 30,000 miles. I am getting a daily driver so I won’t run out of my warranty soon. I work for a car company and I owned/leased 19 cars in last 20 year. By far, this is the best car I ever owned."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Love this car

By on Thursday, March 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything except"

Cons: "the gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Drove this car off the lot in 2006....I never, ever had one regret!! Love everything about this car, except the gas mileage on this very fast V8. It's beautiful, safe, well equipped, Sexy and drives like a slot car! Looking forward to the new Touareg TDI"

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Once warranty expires very expensive to maintain

By on Friday, February 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Best SUV out there"

Cons: "Maintanence is very very expensive."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have bought many suvs New... RR Supercharged, Nissan Murano, Acura MDX, another RR back in 1990. This VW is as good as the 06 new RR I bought. I like the sensors better then rear view camera. Over all its the best SUV I have ever had. I have rattles from back seat. I will find them and address them. otherwise it is as good as new. feels secure, powerful. You need to be ready to pay rediculaus amounts of money to keep it tip top after warranty expires. So I decided to keep it. I would rather spend a lot of money to keep this top shelf SUV rather then trade it in and have another 30k instalment loan...and for what? It wont be a better car... This one is like new already..."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Uncommon Quality and Driveability

By on Wednesday, February 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Does everything in style, Safety, Handeling"

Cons: "Stop & Go City Driving Gulps Fuel"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The Touareg TDI is, in all aspects, a standout vehicle of uncommon build quality. Having said that, it's not the best choice for a non-engaged owner/driver. If you're looking for strictly a grocery getter and/or don't enjoy keeping your vehicles properly maintained, the Touareg might not be for you. (This is a serious driver's machine.) Prior to purchasing my TDI Touareg, I was driving Audis (A6 & A4)for the past 13 years. I can honestly report that driving the Touareg is very much akin to driving a huge Audi A6. The fun-to-drive factor is actually a toss-up when comparing the Touareg to the A6 I consider my Touareg as an APV (all purpose vehicle). You can arrive at the symphony in black tie one night and the next day, you could be navigating a high country back road heading to your secret fishing spot. This rig does it all! The MPG with the TDI is very impressive, with drivers reporting well over the EPA estimates. The power is more than ample and power delivery is smooth and immediate. So far, the only problems have been extremely minor (light bulbs and computer reset etc.) and were covered under warranty. I plan to keep this Touareg for the rest of my days or until the wheels fall -- whichever occurs first. One note for folks who may be considering a Touareg. If your plans include serious off-road operation, you might want to look at a low millage 2010 or older Touareg so you will have the selectable low-range 4Xmotion capability and locking rear differential. This was discontinued in the 2011 and newer Touaregs. Check-out the YouTubes on the Touareg's off-road prowess."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

awesome suv

By on Saturday, February 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,300

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, price on used market"

Cons: "premium fuel required"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"On my 2nd Touareg and totally love these. The driving dynamics are the same as a car. V8 has great power and mpg is not much worse than V6 version. Very nice luxury and amenities also. Reliability has been great, but I also keep up with maintenance schedule religiously. I believe any vehicle that is well maintained and not abused can be reliable and last a long time. Although one must be aware that this vehicle with the V8 will cost a little bit more to maintain than a Honda or Toyota. Drive them back to back and you'd understand why I've owned 2 of these and 12 VW/Audi vehicles in total through the years."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best Car I have owned

By on Saturday, February 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great car"

Cons: "big"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"comfortable, reliable, fun to drive"

Could be great

By on Sunday, December 08, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 59,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great SUV, everything is good except the following: Axle broke around 30,000 miles, good thing it was under warranty.... Coolant Warning came on around 58,000, good thing we BOUGHT warranty! Replaced four brake light bulbs, $38 each. On the other hand, I love: THe driving and handling on a normal day and/ or in a Colorado Blizzard. My T-Rex is one of the only cars running on the road during the past storms and blizzard that we've had. extremley safe because of the weight and the number of air bags that it has."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

If you need a beast to tow in style and comfort...

By on Saturday, November 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "High quality. built to last"

Cons: "never saw a gas station it didn't like"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Heavy AWD vehicle uses fuel, not a surprise. Great brakes, high quality components. Has held up remarkably well here in central NYS where salted winter roads have caused lesser vehicles to dissolve like the candy coating on an M&M. Not so with the Touareg..after a detaling she still can be mistaken for almost new after 112000 miles. Repairs can be costly as it is a complex vehicle, but these gen 1's were so overbuilt. Same platform as Porsche Cayanne or Audi Q7. The 4.2 v8 is Audi and bullet proof. Huge brembo brakes. Springs,suspension and exhaust unphased by 100K miles."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best feature is NO 3rd Row....

By on Monday, October 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Better than a Pickup Truck."

Cons: "Too few colors offered."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"3rd Row Seats a waste. At most should be an option. Just dead weight for most people. Great Seats, and driver legroom. Plus no gps, no radar and no camera. A drivers SUV. Minimal gadgetry. Less is more."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Best Driving Car Available

By on Thursday, September 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Love all about it"

Cons: "Not available with all features or options after 2"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best driven car in the world"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Touareg near Honolulu. See local deals