Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

2012 Volkswagen Tiguan

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 108 Ratings for the 2009 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    8.7/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next

Very fun, solid, quality, vehicle to drive

By on Wednesday, March 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 9,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Vehicle performs as a whole not a bunch of parts."

Cons: "Its not a bargain but probably worth it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is 1 of 2 vehicles I have owned that I will remember and hate to get rid of some day. The first was a 1974 TR6. My first new vehicle."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I love my Tiguan!

By on Thursday, February 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great value, sporty, full loaded, dependable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I owned a Ford Edge before purchasing my Tiguan last year and can only rave about my Tiguan. My Edge can't compare to the value I've found in this car. Although it only has a 4-cylinder compared to my 6-cyclinder Edge, it's lighter and sporty so I don't notice a decrease in power. The turbo can really get you where you need to be. I purchased my Tiguan for about $10,000 less than an Edge with all the same amentities. This car has been great and that's coming from a previous VW owner who swore never to own another VW after a terrible Jetta experience. My son asked me the other day if I'd get another Tiguan if something happened to the one I have now. I told him I'd absolutely make the same decision again to purchase a Tiguan. You can't beat the car for the money...not to mention the VW dealerships around here provide much better service than the Ford dealerships....I love my Tiguan and would recommend it to anyone looking for a great small SUV that's fully loaded."

14 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Great handling

By on Wednesday, February 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 27,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great handling, torque. Good in snow. Great reliability!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

had several issues with engine

By on Monday, January 30, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 36,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "power is a little better than competitors in price"

Cons: "vw is terrible to deal with"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"The Tiguan has a quiet ride and turbo is nice for added pep. The overall quality and performance is very disappointing for a small suv in this price range. Don't recommend VW leases."

6 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Responsive

By on Friday, January 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "details are well done"

Cons: "a bit pricey"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Had the car a couple years, great for touring and quite nimble. Snow is no problem and the size is good for two or four. Handy to carry the kayak or bikes."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Honest Comparison on Tiguan

By on Monday, January 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "superb handling"

Cons: "price over the ceiling when options are added"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i know i maybe too early to rate my Tiguan (only 1500miles,) but i m talking about 1500miles in 3wks cuz it's really a blast to drive. i had a venza (09,) a RX (03,) 2 CRVs (99,2011)"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Fantastic car, a little pricy but it's worth it.

By on Friday, January 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Havent had any issues with the car other than a leak in the moon roof that vw took care of right away."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

We love this truck!!!

By on Thursday, January 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We traded in our X-terra for this truck, and we made a great decision. Gas Mileage is 25mpg combined. Great power, plenty of room...and the large sunroof is amazing. Car is loaded with Technology."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Should be a birth rite

By on Thursday, January 05, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Seats and Drive."

Cons: "Seems like locks are "ON" all the time."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I liked this so much, just bought a matching 2012. Red, instead of white gold which we love! Beats X3 and ML350.......seats are better and drive is great. Wind and snow....NO problems!"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best SUV ever !!! Drives like a sports car !!!

By on Wednesday, January 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 14,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun Quality.... Comfort...Quality interior"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This granny is absolutely thrilled with her tiguan. I feel like I am driving a sports car, but still have room for all I need, and get great visibility. Comfortable and sassy !!! Great engineering ...wonderful vehicle!!! Love love to pass those slow folks....and the fantastic nav system gets me wherever I need to be. Back-up camera is the best ever."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love it!

By on Monday, January 02, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my car - and so does everyone who rides in it! It's compact yet roomy on the inside with the benefits of a small SUV. It's very fun to drive. If I won the lottery I would still keep my car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

solid suv

By on Monday, January 02, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"had this car about 5 months. no complaints. good ride, quiet, peppy, good looks in and out. smallish cargo size. near luxury without the price."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Very reliable vehicle in like new condition$25,000

By on Saturday, December 24, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 26,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price for a very reliable vehicle"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Goes anywhere at any time,quick acceleration(4 cylinder turbo)and makes for a comfortable drive. Engine= 2.0L I-4 Power= 200 @ 5,100 rpm Transmission= 6-spd w/OD 0-60= 8.7 seconds Drivetrain= 4Motion all wheel Seating= 5 passengers(Front Seats Heated) Cargo=56.1 cu.ft. MPG= 18 City / 24 HWY Option of having Sirius Radio"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Surprisingly Disatisfied...

By on Thursday, December 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fun to drive and smooth, options good."

Cons: "Gas pedal very sensitive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"I downgraded from a Honda Ridgeline to the VW Tiguan. I was looking for gas savings as well as performance. While this is a nice looking car, the gas mileage is subpar...the Honda was better, and it was a truck. The VW is very, very noisy when idleing, so loud you need to turn up the volume on the radio to drown it out. I have had the vehicle checked by the dealer and they assure me it's normal. Tire pressure problem from day one as well as electrical problems. Vehicle is small on the inside, but options are nice. Handles OK...have not driven in the snow yet. I am very disapointed with this vehicle."

7 people out of 13 found this review helpful

I love this car!

By on Thursday, December 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comes standard with bluetooth!"

Cons: "small trunk space..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I never considered a Volkswagen before and after weeks of research (thank you KBB), I was down to the CRV and Tiguan. I test drove both and I LOVED the Tiguan. I have only had the car for a month, but I am so happy with the choice I made. This car is SUPER FUN to drive and I only got the base model. Plus, I love that it comes with Bluetooth standard (the Honda doesn't) and I can play my iPhone with Blutooth audio!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

The more I drive it the more I love it

By on Tuesday, November 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "German engineering a reality in all areas. Solid"

Cons: "Pricey, but definitely get what you pay for"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Just what my wife and I needed in a small SUV. Reasonable fuel milage,great performance with turbo, stylish,comfortable, easy to scoot around in,with many options!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

great car... great price.

By on Friday, November 11, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I got this car almost new with 100,000 mile warranty for 2,000 less than a used, junky Honda CRV. The two vehicles don't even compare. VW has excellent engineering, and is well designed. I love it."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I love it!

By on Friday, October 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, looks, quality"

Cons: "Price...but hey, you get what you pay for!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I owned a 2009 prior to this one and it saved my life. Very comfortable and reliable. Sleek and stylish. I absolutely adore it. I think I treat it better than my family sometimes ;-)"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever!

By on Friday, October 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "the passanger seat does not lean back far enough"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love love love this car will never own another car except a VOLKSWAGEN"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Fun, Sporty, Practical, Small Family Car

By on Thursday, October 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, Quick, Versatile, Practical,"

Cons: "Wish there was a little more cargo space."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We love our Tiguan. It is a great vehicle that was reasonably priced with a little luxury to it and of course it is also sporty. It is just me and my wife; we use it to travel a good bit and it is great. We bought it with expectations of beginning a family. It is a very safe car ratings wise but it also provides a feeling of confidence. It is stable and feels planted to the gorund at all times. The interior is surprisingly roomy and comfortable. We fell in love with the heated seats; being in the south we didnt think they were necessary but man have we changed our minds. The only complaint we have is that occasionally we will bring friends along on a trip. If you have four adults and any substantial amount of cargo or luggage it starts to get a little cramped. Oh, one last thing. This thing drives great in low traction situations. Ours is Front Wheel Drive but I have driven it confidentally during ice storms and wintery conditions. It even went up a steep hill where several cars were stranded trying to go up. We even used it to drive down a muddy Georgia red clay road which if you have had experience with can be as bad or worse than ice."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

VW Tiguan

By on Friday, October 07, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"I have a 2010 Tiguan, the cup holder and the emergency brake are next to each other. My wife's coffee splashed out and got on the E-brake. The E-Brake engages sometimes for 20-30 mins. and will not release, of course it was my fault even though it did this prior to the coffee incident and will not be covered by the warranty. Also, the brakes do not always work properly when stopping, sometimes you wonder if you are going to get stopped. The vehicle has great power and is comfortable, however, I would not recommend the vehicle and after the way ALL VW service department have treated us I will not ever be buying another VW. The vehicle is great when it is brand new but after some road time it will have problems. The day after I bought the car I had a note left on my windshield that said I would regret buying a VW and to get rid of it before the warranty runs out which is something like 3yr/36000 so evidently VW doesn't have much faith in their vehicles either. They cost a fortune to fix as well. Hope this helps."

20 people out of 27 found this review helpful

Excellent car for every season

By on Saturday, September 17, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great value and benefits overall"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"4Motion drives in winter like a charm"

my first suv no regrets.

By on Thursday, August 11, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "A lot too many to mention."

Cons: "maybe could be a little cheaper but overall price not bad."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Well my 4th vw and love it,but my first suv nothing bad to say about it,good horsepower for 4 cyls rides good handles very very good especially in the snow I got the SE 4motion gas mileage very good also,no complaints some people give some negative feedback about it I don't know what they expect example noise I never heard it.bottomline I recomend this compact suv to any regular size family 1 or 2 kids max even 5 average size persons could ride confortable."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Fun to Drive

By on Tuesday, May 24, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Great car very fun to drive. Very comfortable interior and good quality. Just made it through my first winter with it and loved having the 4Motion! Have seen it decent gas mileage too."

By on Friday, May 13, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Tiguan near Honolulu. See local deals