Go

2009 Volkswagen Tiguan

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 139 Ratings for the 2009 - 2016 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.1/10
    Quality
    8.6/10
  • Reliability
    8.3/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 4 5 6 | Next

Great car to drive.

By on Tuesday, May 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great size."

Cons: "Several recalls in 5 years."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Love the way it handles. Good size SUV for me - just big enough."

11 people out of 22 found this review helpful

Ilove the full top sun roof with screen slide over

By on Saturday, November 2, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"the way it handles on the road very smooth ride it is clean, and never been smoked in.always detailed once a year in and out."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

This is an excellent small SUV, great driving...

By on Tuesday, March 24, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great power, good fit and finish, comfortable..."

Cons: "Premium gas, average mpg..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"The Tiguan has impressive performance and power that gets you everywhere. Fit and finish are quite good, and the cabin is spacious for its size. The engine is very peppy, although it runs on premium gas that makes it more expensive to own. However, the overall good quality, nice dimensions that make it easy to park and maneuver, and fairly low road noise make it a good choice among other SUV's."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Very fun, solid, quality, vehicle to drive

By on Wednesday, March 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 9,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Vehicle performs as a whole not a bunch of parts."

Cons: "Its not a bargain but probably worth it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is 1 of 2 vehicles I have owned that I will remember and hate to get rid of some day. The first was a 1974 TR6. My first new vehicle."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

By on Saturday, September 25, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Good average car, a bit overpriced.

By on Monday, August 4, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "not too good on gas for a 4 cylinder car."

Cons: "handled well in snow."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"overall happy with car and handling,"

19 people out of 39 found this review helpful

Great car for the price!

By on Monday, June 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 34,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have owned several VW products back to the 60's. Good product, with German engineering."

15 people out of 31 found this review helpful

Comfortable, though not alot of storage space

By on Monday, November 3, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 13,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Navigation/Audio and Panaramic roof are top notch"

Cons: "Gas miieage with kids and stuff, only so-so"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Have had this Tiquan for one year, and it has been a pleasure to drive. Engine has quite a bit of pep to it. Though when we had whole family in it, along with cargo box on roof and three mountain bikes mounted on back, it was pretty sluggish. Gas mileage is not as good as the Jetta Sportswagen, but head height is much approved. We can get away with the lack of rear storage through use of a cargo box mounted to the factory rail system. Unfortunately it takes the view of our panorama roof away, and it quite noisy at highway speeds."

7 people out of 15 found this review helpful

ridesn nice

By on Saturday, March 28, 2015

I want this car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "nice car good reputation"

Cons: "dont know seller"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"like the car but it has 100000 miles on it and wondering what maintenance will be coming up"

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great pseudo-luxury compact SUV: 2012 Tiguan SEL 4

By on Tuesday, March 4, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,700

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "styling, responsiveness, gitty-up, fit and finish"

Cons: "rims, mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great car. Only complaint is that the fancy rims that come with the SEL 4 motion are too big (ie tire thickness too thin) for any kind of road. Ride is noisier and rougher than it needs to be in this great car, although the S and SE have the smaller rims and thicker tires. Highly recommend this car for small size, great performance and all the bells and whistles. The 4 motion gas mileage isn't great, but that was no surprise. A sweet ride."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best Crossover Available

By on Wednesday, February 24, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"It is "better" than Toyota, Honda, Nissan, and all the rest. Great engineering, design, features, ride, handling, performance, looks, and fun to drive. 13 months after my purchase, I am very satisfied that I made the right decision. VW makes great vehicles. Go see for yourself and you will be glad you did!!"

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Enjoyable, just avoid the running boards!

By on Wednesday, March 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,300

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Comfortable, fun to drive"

Cons: "Stained running boards"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"We picked up this car a couple months ago, and we have enjoyed it so far. You know going in that this car is going to be short on rear cargo space, the gas mileage is not going to be as good as the competitors, and the safety ratings on this car are not as good as they could be. That being said, you get a comfortable riding car that is fun to drive. Our biggest complaint is the running boards. While they looked great off the lot, and they are helpful for our child, they are stained from the winter road treatment. The dealership says I can get down there and scrub them with steel wool, but to be honest, I don't baby my car that much. I keep it clean and run it through the car wash regularly, but I don't fine tooth comb it. Plus, I really don't want to risk putting scratches on them. So unless you need them, I recommend saving the cash. All in all, great car. I can't say it enough, don't get the running boards (unless you are the kind of person that enjoys scrubbing your car with steel wool)."

8 people out of 19 found this review helpful

Fun, well-constructed with some engine problems

By on Thursday, April 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great handling, peppy for small SUV."

Cons: "Problematic engine coils; limited storage/truck."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"As one of the prior reviewers noted, the S-model is a great buy... no fancy stuff but great price. I bought one with manual transmission and it feels like a real automobile, not one of those tinker cars! Dealer couldn't wait to get it off his lot -great price, under $22K. Only problem has been "engine". At 26000 miles, almost 3 years (still under warranty) one of the ignition coils failed. Not much pep in a 4 cylinder with one not functioning. Dealer replaced. Ten days later another ignition coil failed. Now have four new coils. Hoping the new coils last. Other than this problem this is probably the best engineered car I have owned since my 1961 Chevy Impala."

5 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Appreciate the German engineering.

By on Monday, December 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 27,444

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "My wife and I have been the only drivers ."

Cons: "Would have enjoyed power seats."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My wife and I are both home bound because of our health and must give up our drivers license ."

17 people out of 45 found this review helpful

Not for me!

By on Saturday, May 9, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 53,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "It looks stylish"

Cons: "Can't see the hood while driving, poor road view."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"The car drives fine. The navigation system doesn't work well--often taking me to the wrong place. It's fairly comfortable & roomy. However, I can't tell where I am on the road. I hate that! The windshield is slightly curved & I can't see any of the hood which makes my perception of the road very uncomfortable. I feel like I'm always over both lane lines. It's very disconcerting & I've been driving for over 30 years. Because of this issue, I can't stand the car! I've only had it since July & I want to replace it. And typically, I keep my cars until they're dead. Not the Tiguan. I can't wait to get rid of it :("

16 people out of 49 found this review helpful

AC unit configuration

By on Wednesday, March 12, 2014

I don't own this car

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "built well from research findings"

Cons: "AC unit - yuk"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I don't understand the way they are making cars at all. Do people really care about viewing the radio and music that much? I prefer the Air Conditioning to be configured just like the Passat is or the Nissan Sentra. Why did they start believing that a split Air Conditioning is better? I'm here to tell you - it's Awful. No air blows on me - but it sure does blow on my hands!! Consumers be aware!"

6 people out of 18 found this review helpful

had several issues with engine

By on Monday, January 30, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 36,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "power is a little better than competitors in price"

Cons: "vw is terrible to deal with"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"The Tiguan has a quiet ride and turbo is nice for added pep. The overall quality and performance is very disappointing for a small suv in this price range. Don't recommend VW leases."

6 people out of 18 found this review helpful

We love this truck!!!

By on Thursday, January 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We traded in our X-terra for this truck, and we made a great decision. Gas Mileage is 25mpg combined. Great power, plenty of room...and the large sunroof is amazing. Car is loaded with Technology."

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, April 5, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

bring on the love of the Tiguan

By on Thursday, August 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i love Tiguan love it"

3 people out of 10 found this review helpful

By on Friday, January 28, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, March 15, 2011

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 5 found this review helpful

fun to drive, not cofortable

By on Wednesday, August 18, 2010

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
3/10

"This little car moves and is fun to drive, too bad the seat is the most uncomfortable thing ever! Maybe it's' because I'm 5'3", but the head rest pushes my chin to my neck and the seat is too deep and I hunch over. You also can't roll a window or two down without having so much pressure in the car you decide to roll them back up or roll them all down."

2 people out of 14 found this review helpful

i do not recomend it at all to anyone

By on Monday, January 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "everything else"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"there isnt much to say the dealer was VERY NICE AWSOME COSTUMER SERVICE BUT !!!! the car is horrible."

9 people out of 70 found this review helpful

i dont recomend it

By on Sunday, November 4, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "sorta sporty"

Cons: "everything else !!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"i would never get a tiguan again"

6 people out of 87 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 4 5 6 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Tiguan near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement