Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2012 Volkswagen Routan

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
6.2
Out of 10

Based on 113 Ratings for the 2009 - 2013 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    6.6/10
    Quality
    6.4/10
  • Reliability
    6.3/10
    Performance
    6.8/10
  • Comfort
    7.3/10
    Styling
    7.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next

I love it.

By on Thursday, September 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 13,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Power; handling; sound system; warranty; interior"

Cons: "Shifts too soon so I find myself going to manual."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I received a great price at the end of 2012, love the interior, the engine has plenty of power, a large gas tank, and plenty of room for the family. Storage on top is also a plus and I don't have any real downsides of the van."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best minivan on the road

By on Tuesday, August 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfortable, lots of storage, best styling"

Cons: "Chrysler built"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love the comfort, ride and storage. Best looking / style of minivan on the road. Very good gas mileage on the interstate even loaded down. Will normally get 26-27 mpg on the interstate. Had the smaller 3.8L engine in the 2009 model. This 2010 SEL was loaded with the 4.0L engine. At 70 mph is barely turns 1600 rpm. Can be very quick for a minivan. Lots of grunt and power. Very comfortable ride even on long trips."

very reliable vehicle :-)

By on Sunday, August 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Got a great price for it; solid & reliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this van new 5 years ago to replace another VW van. This one is far superior to previous one!!! A German vehicle built by Chrysler in Canada...go figure :-)) Love the way it drives and handles--very smooth and solid. Seats are generous & comfortable for long distance driving. Gas mileage is around 19-20. Overall vision is very good w/ glass all around. Control panels well designed, easy to use. Aside from regular maintenance, have had only very minor issue with one of the power windows. Didn't get a van with a lot of bells & whistles, so there's less to go wrong/repair. Overall it's well made, and a good value. Gets me where I want to go, comfortably & reliably. Would recommend :-))"

Not bad for a minivan

By on Friday, May 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "adding oil pretty often"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Drove this van through snow storms, hail, dessert heat, cross country, and even raced/ chased a few crooks in it. 118,000 no transmission service done, basic maintenance, and it is still going strong. It does suck oil up pretty fast, but compared to other reviews I feel lucky thats all I really had to deal with. I drive this Van Like I am in Nascar!"

10 people out of 19 found this review helpful

might be the reason why VW stop making their van

By on Friday, May 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 57,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
3/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"does not get around good in snow, bad traction on wet streets, factor tire sensor goes out a lot, caused a blow out while traveling. Lots of great storage"

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Do not buy this vehicle.

By on Monday, April 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "DVD system"

Cons: "New pads every nine months, shoddy transmission"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I bought this van because I have only ever driven VWs. This is not a VW, however, this is a Chrysler, a fact I found out later. Roters were replaced almost immediately, calipers bad almost immediately and I am now at the point where I have to replace pads at least once every ten months and the steering wheel violently shakes whenever the brake is pressed. On two separate occasions my brakes actually caught fire. Transmission jumps every time the car switches gears. I have had it just can't wait to get rid of it."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

worst vehicle ever!

By on Tuesday, April 15, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: too many problems!

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "very nice looking..."

Cons: "not realiable car...."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"The car had too many electrical problems, it consumed too much gas, the interior was made with cheap plastic, the shift gear timing was off all the time. Bad choice - DO NOT BUY IT!"

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

worst vehicle ever!

By on Tuesday, April 15, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: too many problems!

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "very nice looking..."

Cons: "not realiable car...."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"The car had too many electrical problems, it consumed too much gas, the interior was made with cheap plastic, the shift gear timing was off all the time. Bad choice - DO NOT BUY IT!"

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

worst vehicle ever!

By on Tuesday, April 15, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: too many problems!

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "very nice looking..."

Cons: "not realiable car...."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"The car had too many electrical problems, it consumed too much gas, the interior was made with cheap plastic, the shift gear timing was off all the time. Bad choice - DO NOT BUY IT!"

This vehicle is not worth the VW hype!

By on Wednesday, March 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "roomy, floor storage, lots of cup holders"

Cons: "unreliable, expensive, gas hog, customer service"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"We bought this vehicle used with one previous owner. In the 2 years we have owned it the electrical system in the driver side sliding door slowly failed one piece at a time. Every time we took it in we were told there is nothing wrong with it. The door now no longer functions at all electronically. Not even the window works. Gas milage sucks. Tires have had a slow leak from day 1. Parts are rediculously expensive and heavan forbid you try to use a non-VW part. If you do, it won't work properly. Overall, I will never own one of these vehicles again and will probably just go back to my trusty Fords."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

not a good van

By on Wednesday, February 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "the body styling, entertainment system"

Cons: "mechanical (see above), bad in the snow"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"it was the first year so there were some kinks to work out. I expected VW to stand by their product and do the right thing when issues in the first year design came up. we had/have issues with one of the running lamps always being out, the brakes were too small for the weight of the van (went through 3 sets of brakes and only got the last ones for free after loud complaining I would have expected that since it was a known issue they would have realized and not make me buy brakes every couple of miles), tire pressure sensors rusted out and needed to be replace. for the tire pressure sensors the dealer was looking for $90 per wheel and then $180 to put them in...over $400! bought them on amazon and had the local tire guy install them without issue."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

We needed a van. VW had vans.

By on Wednesday, January 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Features, price, engine mileage"

Cons: "Tranny, tranny, tranny."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"With VW closing out the Routan in 2012 I had an opportunity for a very good deal. An SE with Nav and RSE and 3 year maint for $23k. I couldn't find a 2010 lower level Toyota Sienna with under 40k miles for that price. I didn't expect a Toyota. I had one on an extended rental and it was nice. But neither did I want to pay Toyota money. The engine in the VW is great. Very powerful and surprising mileage. On a trip from the Central coast to the LA area (5 hrs) the van got 27 MPG and that was average 75 mph +. The transmission on the other hand gets easily confused. On the highway it's fine. If you drive it like a grandma easing on the throttle trying to save gas it's pretty smooth. But try to pass or push the throttle a little to make it shift down good luck. It doesn't want to stay in the lower gear. It stutters on shift changes. It will shift up so that it's at 1200 RPM at 45 miles per hour going up hill. There should be a patch for this. Wife loves it. She drives like a grandma saving gas."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Stay Away!

By on Tuesday, November 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Lots of great features for passengers"

Cons: "Bad brakes, uses oil, bad service at dealership"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"We were very pleased with the 2010 Routan when we first got it as it was $10,000 off the sticker price brand new from the dealership. That should have been our first warning! The car holds a lot and has lots of great features, but that is where the "pros" end. The car is very comfortable for everyone except the driver. We have taken it on many long road trips and I always feel like I have to fight with it. It drives more like a truck than a car. I loved my Sienna and this is definitely on the opposite side of the comfort spectrum. I guess some people may like this, but I feel it lends to driver fatigue. It is the only car I have ever driven where my foot actually falls asleep while driving! The car is very heavy, but does not do well in the snow of Western New York. I have gotten stuck a few times and needed to be pushed just to get up a small incline or hill. Not good for a family of skiers! Hoping that a better set of tires will help with that this year. Also, the transmission does seem to drop while accelerating. We have had the brakes fixed 3 times within 40K miles averaging about once a year since we have owned it. When the brakes go, they burn up smoking and getting incredibly hot! It is now beginning to use oil as well. I have had to add at least 2 quarts just to get to the next oil change. I was told this was "normal" usage. Never before have I had to use this much oil! It seems it was easier for VW to just stop making this vehicle than fix it!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

THEY JUST WANT YOUR $$$$$$

By on Friday, September 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,500

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "roomy"

Cons: "Everything -pricy,bad sevice,bad brakes,bad doors"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I bought my van new $37000 in '09 I have had MANY problems to many to list. The main 2 are first the rear brake the caliper frame was faulty causing rotor and pad to be shot that was '11 and even though they knew frame was faulty was not replaced now '13 it wore out my brake and rotor again and now there saying it was from the caliper bracket so they wont do anything about it. (its the same part)but HAHA my warranty is over I think thats what they were waiting for so they could get more money. Second my side door on passenger side wasn't working properly and there was a recall but they only did that side and now my other side is acting up and they say well the recall is outdated so they probably wont cover it. DO NOT BUY A VW OF ANY MODEL YOU WILL WISH YOU DIDNT."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Would'nt do it again, unless I really had too!

By on Friday, August 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great use of space. Quiet on good roads."

Cons: "A mix of Chrysler and VW? Not the best grounds...."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"I always consider the reliability if a vehicle by how much time it spends at a dealership in a twelve month period. More importantly, how good a service department is at resolving issues. Firstly, brakes on this vehicle were truly not engineered well. Just view the extensive complaints about warped rotors? I normally put these comments down to bad driving habits, but not in this case. My vehicle has never been driven with more than three people in, never loaded and still I've replaced three sets of front rotors within 30k miles. Half a dozen repair attempts at fixing the side rattling doors, never resolved. Chrsyler modded their vans while VW never did the same. Noisy transmission, that bumps and drops between gears, something that a VW tech considers normal. Numerous failed window motors, buttons and regulators. Poor city MPG. Rust appearing on upper internal areas of door. Vehicle has spent 10 weeks at dealer within the last 60... I'd truly be surprised, if this vehicle makes it to a 100k, without a major issue! Such a shame, considering my previous Odessey clocked up 180k before any real concerns."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

LOVE our car

By on Saturday, August 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 68,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "can fit tons of stuff in it"

Cons: "middle seats not on tracks and cost"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We bought our Routan used and we still love it. It accommodates all 4 of children and is wonderful during 14 hour road trips. If I had to pick one flaw that we work around is that the middle seats aren't adjustable (on tracks) as far as for leg room. Other than that it gets great gas mileage and its a living room on wheels. Tons of room! awesome car just wish it was a little cheaper."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Solid Choice

By on Tuesday, July 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Like the stow-and-go feature."

Cons: "Wished gas mileage was a little better (who wdnt)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We recently bought a 2009 Routan. Shortly after we bought it we drove it out to the Grand Canyon (2800+ mile round trip). After driving it around before our vacation trip I was a little concerned about how the 3.8L engine would do in the mountains, but I was pleasantly pleased with the performance. The downside of the performance was that when the cruise was on the mph would go down 5-10 before the transmission would shift to compensate for the elevation gain. The ride is a little stiffer than our old van (Chrysler T&C), but not too bad. Overall, I am happy with our purchase."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Not your typical minivan!

By on Friday, May 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 52,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, great features w/o the price,"

Cons: "towing capacity"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have loved this van. As a man who drives it a lot, I love how it handles more like a semi-sports car than a loose town-car. I've heard some people say it's not as smooth riding but I don't know what they're talking about. It's got very responsive steering and an engine to back it up. We've made several long road trips in it and it travels well. We put about 20k miles a year on our vehicles and it has stood up to the wear and tear. In the VW, you get many of the "upgrades" but without the premium price. I personally like the sporty changes that VW put on the van. The spoiler, different nose, and interior designs are great. All the seats are VERY comfortable. The leather has been extremely durable and I would highly recommend it. There's also a lot of great extra storage space in the floor due to the design from Chrysler but without the stow-and-go seats. We have one with a dual entertainment system and wireless headphones. Our kids love it. If we wanted to, our kids can be watching 2 different movies on the headphones and we can listen to iPod or something up front on a long trip. It also has an AUX input by the rear row that you can plug a game console or iPod into and feed into speakers and/or video screen(s). The touchscreen entertainment system has been great. We love the built in hard drive for loading CD's onto it. We did have an issue with an engine valve spring but it was covered under the warranty. The VW dealership has a technician who is specially trained to work on the Routan. I did wish that it had a bit more towing capacity but even the other vans can't tow that much. One other thing, if you want to use the LATCH in the 3rd row, it will fit 2 car seats and not leave any room left for a third person. We've gone ahead and just used the seat belts and it hasn't been a problem. I would recommend this to anyone in a heartbeat."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

good but not great

By on Tuesday, February 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"i bought this van new, within 6000 miles had a seal go out on the trans, but over all satisfied, rides great and handles like a sports car!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I really like the Routan

By on Sunday, February 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,400

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great price, nice ride, no problems"

Cons: "No longer produced so I can't recommend it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"I admit that I bought the Routan because of the whopping discount. The thought was I could put up with most anything with the savings. After 15 months I really like the van. It looks great, rides nice, has lots of power, handles well, and has a huge amount of cargo space. Unfortunately the Routan is an orphan - it's been discontinued but since it was produced by Chrysler which is making plenty of the Routan siblings (T&C, Grand Caravan, Ram Van), I'm not too concerned."

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Best deal for the money for a mnivan

By on Sunday, January 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Gas mileage - space, comfort"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Awesome van!!! Gas mileage is incredible - getting 21 city and up to 36 highway so far and its only a year old! Love live love it!!!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

worse car ever

By on Monday, January 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,900

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"i understand this car was made by dodge and so you can imagine how inferior they made it compared to their grand caravan. If you are a user start thinking fast. The worse part is the value you get for trade in."

1 person out of 7 found this review helpful

Awesome MPG, comfortable 2nd row

By on Thursday, December 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 34,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Sunroof, Leather seats, MPG, Looks"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Awesome van with great MPG and power, comfortable seats, much better interior then the T&C."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

WOW BEST MPG .... I am SAVING $250 PLUS A MONTH

By on Tuesday, September 25, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 4,200

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "WOW GREAT MPG"

Cons: "WISH I GOT THE SUNROOF"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Almost 30 mpg Highway 25 avg. Better than the sticker says. I am not a hyper Miler either! The extra money in the pocket means alot..... Great handeling, tight; and the kids love the Captain Chairs. I DO NOT MISS MY "AWD VAN" WHICH WAS ALWAYS IN THE SHOP OR GAS STATION !!!!!!!!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

ROUTAN SAVES ME $250-$300 A MONTH IN GAS

By on Wednesday, September 12, 2012

I own this car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "GREAT MPG MORE THAN EXPECTED"

Cons: "WHISH THEY HAD AWD OPTION"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I USED TO OWN A 2008 AWD VAN AND THE MPG 16 AVG 20 HWY WAS KILLING ME. MY ROUTAN IS GETTING 30 PLUS HWY AND 24 AVG... ALMOST 40% BETTER MPG. IT IS HEAVIER AND RESPONDS BETTER ON THE ROAD AS WELL. THE SEATING IS WIDER AND THE STEERING WHEEL IS TIGHT. SO FAR I HAVE NO COMPLAINTS AND THE DEALER IS WONDERFUL."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Routan near Honolulu. See local deals