Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2012 Volkswagen Routan

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
6.1
Out of 10

Based on 119 Ratings for the 2009 - 2013 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    6.5/10
    Quality
    6.3/10
  • Reliability
    6.3/10
    Performance
    6.8/10
  • Comfort
    7.3/10
    Styling
    7.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next

WORST CAR EVER!!!

By on Tuesday, January 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 39,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "good design"

Cons: "constant problems!!! too many to list: recalls!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Don't let the great features fool you this car is a shaking, cheaply-made, is a money pit on wheels. Something is always breaking! I have to keep a running list for when I go in for oil changes (every 4ish months) of all the things that are not working properly, often they can't even fix them! I've never experienced such a poorly manufactured car. whatever you do ... don't buy this car!!!"

7 people out of 13 found this review helpful

love this van

By on Tuesday, January 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We ve had this van for 3 years & its been great for our fam of 5. Minor probs with cruise (fixed 1x under warranty) & now still wrks intermittently. Comfortable ride & very convenient."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Not Bad

By on Tuesday, January 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,600

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Nice styling, lots of pep"

Cons: "Resale value"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"I thought that the Routan was discontinued after the 2012 model. I see that some dealers are still selling '13s and '14s but not here in my town. I bought the car new in October 2011 at a huge discount and it has been a pretty good car. I don't think I'd be thrilled now if I paid anywhere near the MSRP."

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

Vehicl is riddled with issues--always at the dealr

By on Monday, December 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great look. Good Power. Comfortable"

Cons: "A lot of body roll. Electronics dont always work"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I bought the vehicle new in 2010. Since delivery it has been acting up. Auto doors don't open/close half the time, they got replaced at 20k miles. Electronics are always malfunctioning: nav freezes up, rear entertainment dvd systems work half the time, radio shuts of randomly. The vehicle has had 2 modules go and continues to run odd. I have hated this car since the first year and the value does not hold up as i have been unable to trade out of it. I knew it was a chrystler product, but still... this has been horrible."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

smart interior and very reliable

By on Wednesday, December 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "LOVED under 2nd row storage! Always snacktime!"

Cons: "would like a softer drivers seat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"i bought this, my first, van because i was taking on a long commute carpool for school. 5 teenage kids, 2+ bags ea, @100 miles, 3-4 days a week. did not disappoint! reliable, stable (like in bad weather)and comfortable for me and kids."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Wish I hadn't bought it

By on Wednesday, November 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "comfortable ride"

Cons: "poor quality vehicle"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"A comfortable riding van, but that's the only good thing about it. It's underpowered and won't hold speed on a hill with the cruise on. Door remotes won't work unless within 10 feet or so. Uconnect, won't. Dealer wouldn't even attempt a warranty repair, said "all of them are like that". Transmission is noisy, dealer won't look at it until it fails. Driver's door electric window switch won't work. TPMS light on constantly, not a warranty issue according to dealer."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I love it.

By on Thursday, September 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 13,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Power; handling; sound system; warranty; interior"

Cons: "Shifts too soon so I find myself going to manual."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I received a great price at the end of 2012, love the interior, the engine has plenty of power, a large gas tank, and plenty of room for the family. Storage on top is also a plus and I don't have any real downsides of the van."

5 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Best minivan on the road

By on Tuesday, August 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfortable, lots of storage, best styling"

Cons: "Chrysler built"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love the comfort, ride and storage. Best looking / style of minivan on the road. Very good gas mileage on the interstate even loaded down. Will normally get 26-27 mpg on the interstate. Had the smaller 3.8L engine in the 2009 model. This 2010 SEL was loaded with the 4.0L engine. At 70 mph is barely turns 1600 rpm. Can be very quick for a minivan. Lots of grunt and power. Very comfortable ride even on long trips."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

very reliable vehicle :-)

By on Sunday, August 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Got a great price for it; solid & reliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this van new 5 years ago to replace another VW van. This one is far superior to previous one!!! A German vehicle built by Chrysler in Canada...go figure :-)) Love the way it drives and handles--very smooth and solid. Seats are generous & comfortable for long distance driving. Gas mileage is around 19-20. Overall vision is very good w/ glass all around. Control panels well designed, easy to use. Aside from regular maintenance, have had only very minor issue with one of the power windows. Didn't get a van with a lot of bells & whistles, so there's less to go wrong/repair. Overall it's well made, and a good value. Gets me where I want to go, comfortably & reliably. Would recommend :-))"

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Not bad for a minivan

By on Friday, May 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "adding oil pretty often"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Drove this van through snow storms, hail, dessert heat, cross country, and even raced/ chased a few crooks in it. 118,000 no transmission service done, basic maintenance, and it is still going strong. It does suck oil up pretty fast, but compared to other reviews I feel lucky thats all I really had to deal with. I drive this Van Like I am in Nascar!"

13 people out of 25 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Routan near Honolulu. See local deals