Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
Go

2008 Volkswagen R32

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.5
Out of 10

Based on 53 Ratings for the 2008 - 2009 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.6/10
    Quality
    9.7/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.8/10
  • Comfort
    9.7/10
    Styling
    9.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 | Next

Sporty, Fun, Easy to add performance modifications

By on Saturday, May 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to upgrade, drive, very comfortable and awe"

Cons: "decent stock sound system no great"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Is a great car especially in the snow the one time i drove it, in the summer it is an amazing vehicle mine has about 300 horsepower which is 50 more then the stock 250. Very easy to get there with safe bolt ons and performance software upgrade. have never had an issue with it, would recommend new speakers once you get it it makes the driving experience much better but i prefer the exhaust note with a cat-back exhaust you won't want music playing on this car. Mine gets 27 mpg on the highway which is better then what they have estimated. Another great thing is there are only 4500 of these left in the u.s. since they predict at least 500 of them have been destroyed, damaged beyond repair, or shipped other places. Great car will be keeping it for many years."

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Solid, slick and quick. Perfect Tahoe car.

By on Sunday, January 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Pulls hard, shifts perfectly and handles great."

Cons: "Tight on bumpy roads, 19 MPG is worth it!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The combination of the strong, narrow VR6 motor, magical DSG and solid, stable Haldex AWD means this car pulls hard and sticks like glue the the twisting curves of your neighborhood. VW has really perfected the DSG and the two modes allow a mellow and smooth run up and down through the gears or a ripping flawless climb up the gears in sport mode. I used to love rowing up and down the gears in a manual but these days I have a cuppa coffee and a phone call to make. DSG makes that easy but when you are ready to have that VR6 sing, drop it into sport mode and it just snarls like an F1 racer! It automatically blips the throttle on downshifts and that is music like a Wagner symphony. Mileage is about 19 city but the fun is so worth it. Great comfortable heated seats. Interior is fully upgraded and impressive but the Navigation is a bit dated and runs off a CD. I see an upgrade in my future to an Advent system for about $1600 and that solves the bluetooth, iPod and phone compatibility issues that bring it out of 2008 technology. The car is exclusive and a real performer. Get one used while you can and driving will be a blast! Plus the hatch and seats make it practical. It's a sleeper but the performance guys will know what the .:R32 badge means-Fast, fun and solid ride."

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Best Sports Car in my 65 Years of Driving

By on Wednesday, October 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Sports car handling and driving pleasures"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Captivating daily driver, whether in the city or on the highway. The DSG tranny is a engineering marvel--do not use the paddle shifters or Tiptronic console shifter--distracting and less performance per DSG. The curb weight of almost 3600 pounds is never intrusive to one's driving if the vehicle is handled as a sports car with proper set-up between the accelerator and brakes. Brakes are fantastic in feel and compliance, esp for left-foot braking, using "trail-braking techniques"--only way to drive this vehicle. Recall on the DSG and the evaporative fuel system--no big issues, as handled by Dealer. DSG factory warranty then extended to 10 years or 100,000 miles from the five year--60000 mile warranty. Great suspension for road/chassis alignments and tire wear durability; secret in maintaining the correct tire pressure per tires used. Am recording over 18mpg in tight city driving, but do use the great "Marvel Mystery" oil in every gas fill-up for upper cylinder lubrication and maintenance, plus Amsoil synthetic European and VW spec oil--5w-40. Live in Northern Ohio, have over 40 inches of snow, but a secondary set of alloy wheels with true snow tires, and the intuitive electronic stability control system of the R32, keeps one on the road, and out of trouble. Purchased certified-VW dealer used in 2009, driven over 43000 miles, and being 81 years of age, the family will bury me in this vehicle--my last love!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

AWD and HP make it a kick to drive

By on Wednesday, April 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 34,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Stealthy, Fast, Fun, Great Handling and Practical"

Cons: "The back seat access is tight in the 2 door"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"With the 3.2 V-6 reviewers suggest it feels nose heavy but this makes it an excellent long range highway cruiser. Car feels larger than it is on the road let is compact and maneuverable in the city. I had some trouble with the DSG and hesitant shifting but it was fixed by the dealer under warranty with no trouble. Beautiful interior, I sometimes wish it had the easy access of four doors (mine's only two doors). All wheel drive makes it great in the snow and wet. Good all season tires help. Back seat is surprisingly comfortable. Mileage isn't great...19-20 in town and mid 20's on the highway albeit averaging 75 ."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Luxury Pocket Rocket

By on Monday, March 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great interior, always fun on the road."

Cons: "DSG clunky, no 6 speed manual"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"This car is always a joy to be in, and is awesome in slick conditions. Passengers are always surprised by how refined the interior is, and I am always pleased at how much fun it is to blast down the road. The German build quality is rock solid. For a real-world, adult sport compact, there isn't a better choice."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best VW Sports car!!!

By on Sunday, October 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "FAST AND FUN"

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my R32 and can't wait for a 2012 !!!"

The best car I've owned

By on Tuesday, October 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great Value, Fun to drive, Reliable"

Cons: "Latch to rear seat seems flimsy."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Previously i drove an Infiniti G35 Coupe, and this car blows it out of the water. Fun to drive, reliable, comfortable, fast, handles incredibly and gets looks everywhere i go. This is just an excellent vehicle and by FAR the best purchase I've made."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great Car!

By on Monday, May 02, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Once the recall for the fuel system was fixed which was two visits to the dealership, the car was excellent! Handles great, looks great, fast and comfortable to drive. Also will get much attention from all ages when parked. The problem you will have though is everyone will want to race you, especially the Subaru guys! Enjoy the car!!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, April 06, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Great car

By on Thursday, January 27, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Great car lots of fun, great in snow and all kinds of weather I feel safe driving this car, very responsive, great handling."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Wednesday, January 05, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Honestly this is the best car I have owned. Comfortable, reliable, good styling, and great fun to drive."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

r32 owner

By on Tuesday, October 05, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Great car, performs well, reliable."

By on Sunday, July 18, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Thursday, July 15, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Surprisingly adaptable! Fast, comfortable, useful!

By on Sunday, April 18, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"let me start by saying that I am a fan of most products from the VW Audi group, having owned, 1 polo, 2 audi's, 2 Rabbits/Golfs I have had 2 MK5 Golfs with the R32 being my second and latest. This vehicle is great, when you need to get lots in the seats fold down to a surprisingly large cargo carrying area. Yet just 1 or 2 up with the performance this car has, it adjusts to a great sports tourer. My friends are always surprised the first time they get in the vehicle at how quick it is! I've been skiing many times and the all wheel drive has been great - no need for a huge 4x4 - I have 4 people ski's and snowsboards in no dramas! around town the nimbleness is great as is the ability to park! Then when heading out of town the v6 really allows you to cruise with ipod, zune, siruis playing the miles away. Great car, I'd still get this car over the brand new Mk6 Rabbit GTI - reasons: 1. the engine is great 2. styling still looks sharp against the new model 3. residual values are great - just 5000 cars made as an R32 4. more sporty than the GTI and just a little more different from the crowd! Go check one out and see what I mean!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Monday, March 29, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Great Car

By on Tuesday, February 23, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Great Touring Car. The car loves to blast down the highway. Plenty of power for everyday driving and some fun though the twisties."

By on Tuesday, December 29, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have own both models and loved them both very reliable, great preformance, just a great car over all"

amazing all around

By on Wednesday, December 02, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've had this car for over 2 years now and it has never let me down. always a blast to drive. very comfortable for long trips. the interior materials are top notch. fit and finish is like what you would expect from a bmw or mercedes. amazing power delivery and handling. if you want a car that has it all, this is it. amazing in the snow also. I constantly get compliments."

most fun to drive

By on Friday, November 27, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Overdrive would be a plus to improve fuel milage. CD doesn't play with navigational CD operating."

Love the sound

By on Wednesday, October 14, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is a great car, I traded in my 2006 Audi A3 for this car and I was amazed that the fit and finish in the R32 seemed to be beyond that of the Audi. The performance is incredible and I love going through tunnels the sound is music to my ears. I cannot believe the low end torque, it is amazing. This is the first car that I have owned that I didn't see the need to chip it."

great AWD sleeper

By on Tuesday, September 29, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Amazing handling, quick DSG shifts, smooth powerfulll engine, great exhaust sound, overal a great AWD car!"

Great bang for the buck

By on Sunday, September 27, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car has it all. Its fast, handles well, nice european interior. I've been happy with it since day one. The transmission allows me to have a sporty car that can handle everyday traffic."

By on Saturday, September 12, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Solid Vee Dub

By on Monday, August 17, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"What can I say? It 's a VW, and it's an .:R. I dinged it in the area of quality because of the cheap feel of the door panels. Granted, it is a vast improvement over the interiors of earlier VW's, but one expects a little more out of a vehicle in this price range, especially one of German descent. Performance received a negative 1. In my opinion the car is underpowered and heavy. The bloated mass also results in pronounced nose dive during turn-in on hard cornering. The only reason i gave styling 4 stars is the absence of the european-market Recaro seats that we did not receive due to "safety regulations". Bah, humbug. Aside from these minor annoyances, VW has produced a solid little sports car that gets my vote."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen R32 near Honolulu. See local deals