Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
Go

2008 Volkswagen R32

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.5
Out of 10

Based on 53 Ratings for the 2008 - 2009 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.6/10
    Quality
    9.7/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.8/10
  • Comfort
    9.7/10
    Styling
    9.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 11 | Next

Sporty, Fun, Easy to add performance modifications

By on Saturday, May 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to upgrade, drive, very comfortable and awe"

Cons: "decent stock sound system no great"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Is a great car especially in the snow the one time i drove it, in the summer it is an amazing vehicle mine has about 300 horsepower which is 50 more then the stock 250. Very easy to get there with safe bolt ons and performance software upgrade. have never had an issue with it, would recommend new speakers once you get it it makes the driving experience much better but i prefer the exhaust note with a cat-back exhaust you won't want music playing on this car. Mine gets 27 mpg on the highway which is better then what they have estimated. Another great thing is there are only 4500 of these left in the u.s. since they predict at least 500 of them have been destroyed, damaged beyond repair, or shipped other places. Great car will be keeping it for many years."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Solid, slick and quick. Perfect Tahoe car.

By on Sunday, January 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Pulls hard, shifts perfectly and handles great."

Cons: "Tight on bumpy roads, 19 MPG is worth it!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The combination of the strong, narrow VR6 motor, magical DSG and solid, stable Haldex AWD means this car pulls hard and sticks like glue the the twisting curves of your neighborhood. VW has really perfected the DSG and the two modes allow a mellow and smooth run up and down through the gears or a ripping flawless climb up the gears in sport mode. I used to love rowing up and down the gears in a manual but these days I have a cuppa coffee and a phone call to make. DSG makes that easy but when you are ready to have that VR6 sing, drop it into sport mode and it just snarls like an F1 racer! It automatically blips the throttle on downshifts and that is music like a Wagner symphony. Mileage is about 19 city but the fun is so worth it. Great comfortable heated seats. Interior is fully upgraded and impressive but the Navigation is a bit dated and runs off a CD. I see an upgrade in my future to an Advent system for about $1600 and that solves the bluetooth, iPod and phone compatibility issues that bring it out of 2008 technology. The car is exclusive and a real performer. Get one used while you can and driving will be a blast! Plus the hatch and seats make it practical. It's a sleeper but the performance guys will know what the .:R32 badge means-Fast, fun and solid ride."

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Best Sports Car in my 65 Years of Driving

By on Wednesday, October 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Sports car handling and driving pleasures"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Captivating daily driver, whether in the city or on the highway. The DSG tranny is a engineering marvel--do not use the paddle shifters or Tiptronic console shifter--distracting and less performance per DSG. The curb weight of almost 3600 pounds is never intrusive to one's driving if the vehicle is handled as a sports car with proper set-up between the accelerator and brakes. Brakes are fantastic in feel and compliance, esp for left-foot braking, using "trail-braking techniques"--only way to drive this vehicle. Recall on the DSG and the evaporative fuel system--no big issues, as handled by Dealer. DSG factory warranty then extended to 10 years or 100,000 miles from the five year--60000 mile warranty. Great suspension for road/chassis alignments and tire wear durability; secret in maintaining the correct tire pressure per tires used. Am recording over 18mpg in tight city driving, but do use the great "Marvel Mystery" oil in every gas fill-up for upper cylinder lubrication and maintenance, plus Amsoil synthetic European and VW spec oil--5w-40. Live in Northern Ohio, have over 40 inches of snow, but a secondary set of alloy wheels with true snow tires, and the intuitive electronic stability control system of the R32, keeps one on the road, and out of trouble. Purchased certified-VW dealer used in 2009, driven over 43000 miles, and being 81 years of age, the family will bury me in this vehicle--my last love!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

AWD and HP make it a kick to drive

By on Wednesday, April 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 34,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Stealthy, Fast, Fun, Great Handling and Practical"

Cons: "The back seat access is tight in the 2 door"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"With the 3.2 V-6 reviewers suggest it feels nose heavy but this makes it an excellent long range highway cruiser. Car feels larger than it is on the road let is compact and maneuverable in the city. I had some trouble with the DSG and hesitant shifting but it was fixed by the dealer under warranty with no trouble. Beautiful interior, I sometimes wish it had the easy access of four doors (mine's only two doors). All wheel drive makes it great in the snow and wet. Good all season tires help. Back seat is surprisingly comfortable. Mileage isn't great...19-20 in town and mid 20's on the highway albeit averaging 75 ."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Luxury Pocket Rocket

By on Monday, March 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great interior, always fun on the road."

Cons: "DSG clunky, no 6 speed manual"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"This car is always a joy to be in, and is awesome in slick conditions. Passengers are always surprised by how refined the interior is, and I am always pleased at how much fun it is to blast down the road. The German build quality is rock solid. For a real-world, adult sport compact, there isn't a better choice."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 11 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen R32 near Honolulu. See local deals