Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Volkswagen Passat Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $24,762 - $25,789.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $27,495

Fair Purchase Price $25,276
Fair Market Range ($24,762 - $25,789)

Invoice $26,402
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 8.0 of 10

10/8.0

Buyer's Resources

Apply with our preferred lender now
Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 112 Ratings for the 2012 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 21 22 23 | Next

First VW purchase. Love it.

By on Thursday, December 01, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Loaded for the price, great handling"

Cons: "V6 overpriced, no rear camera"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We looked at other cars, but had our minds set on this one. Very tight, responsive drive. Would have liked more power (got the 2.5L SEL Premium), but it comes loaded with options. Instruments are intuitive and the amount of interior space, without sacrificing trunk room, is amazing."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

2012 Passat is a Rattle Box

By on Sunday, November 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,200

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Only sedan with diesel engine"

Cons: "Poor quality, fuel sloshing sounds; rattles; drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Yes my car has several rattles from the very first day. Dealer has been able to fix couple but still have couple. The fuel tank is very poorly insulated and you can hear the fuel sloshing around in the tank. I have never heard that in any of the previous six cars I have ever owned. Dealer does not know how to rectify this issue either. This is my first VW and I am telling the way I see it. I saw on other forums that other VW owners are in denial and too proud of their cars to accept lot of issues with VW quality. I would have never bought this car had the media did not give all the great reviews on this car and empty promises of quality. My biggest reason for buying this car was TDI Diesel with 6-speed manual transmission combo impossible to find in another car unless you buy a dodge diesel truck. So unless you are looking for that combo and can live with all the VW short comings and quality problems stay away from these American made VWs. They are no different. Also spending countless hours on VW websites I have come to realize the VW owners will never tell you how much extra they spend on maintenance and they will also be in denial."

32 people out of 48 found this review helpful

Great pep, great mileage, great car!!!

By on Sunday, November 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fuel mileage (TDI), handling, looks great!"

Cons: "None."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased a brand new Passat, TDI, SE w/ sunroof and automatic transmission. Drove this car home from St. Louis to Kansas City at 80 miles per hour and pulled in 39 mpg on a very windy day! Everything has been wonderful with this car, stereo sounds great! Seats are very comfortable and the ROOM I can extend the seat out comfortablly (I'm 6"0) and sit in the back seat with plenty of room to use a laptop! This is a must buy!"

10 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Comfortable, Beautiful, Reliable, and Intuitive

By on Wednesday, November 09, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great Price, Comfortable, Reliable, High MPG"

Cons: "Low Horsepower"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The 2012 Passat TDI SE is a great vehicle to own if one would love a reliable vehicle that is comfortable, beautiful, and gets excellent mileage. The exterior has subtle yet striking lines and the interior is simple yet refined for the price range. The sound system is great and the electronic features are easy to use. There is ample seating and storage room. The high level of torque makes driving fun but the lack of horsepower can get disappointing at higher rpm's if you are used to a high level of performance. Overall this is a great vehicle to own if you would like to travel in style and comfort while getting some of the best fuel mileage available. I usually average 41 mpg per tank and have gotten up to 48 mpg on a trip."

21 people out of 22 found this review helpful

Classy exterior

By on Thursday, November 03, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 400

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Stunning exterior and fun drive"

Cons: "Interior from the early 90's"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is our 4th Passat and our 7th VW. The new Passat has a classy and stunning exterior and drives like a real German car(very sturdy on the road and you feel that you have total control). Interior very spacious because the seats are smaller, does not WOW me and there is no AC vents for the back seats. If you like gadgets and technology the new passat went backwards."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 21 22 23 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details