Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Volkswagen Passat Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $18,382 - $19,535.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord


You Might Also Like...

For around the same price, you might also be interested in these other vehicles:

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $21,665

Fair Purchase Price $18,959
Fair Market Range ($18,382 - $19,535)

Invoice $20,810
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 8.0 of 10

10/8.0

Buyer's Resources

Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 164 Ratings for the 2012 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 19 20 21 ... 33 | Next

Excellent car and a great value

By on Sunday, June 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, sleek design, dependable"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I leased this car brand new and have put on 31,000 miles. So far the only non-scheduled maintenance issue I've had was a headlight that shorted out and was replaced under warranty. The car rides very smooth, is comfortable and reliable. I love having the XM Satelite radio. The leather seats are comfortable. The car is stylish, but also comfortable for long trips. I plan to purchase at the end of the lease."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Great sports sedan

By on Wednesday, December 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Love it"

Cons: "Steering wheel electronics complicated"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Fastest car I've owned in a long time(280hp) Still gets 32mpg hway if I take it easy. Wish the seats were leather instead of VW tex. Didn't get the real leather because it has like suede inserts. The Fender stereo is fantastic. The power seat doesn't tilt. Styling doesn't really stand out in a crowd."

9 people out of 13 found this review helpful

2 years and I still love it! Buy the TDI !!

By on Wednesday, July 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great Mileage!"

Cons: "Diesel takes a while to get used to. Turbo lag"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased my 2012 VW Passat TDI SE just about 2 years ago when this body style first came out. As an owner of a 2010 Jetta (Wolfsburg) I liked the fit and finish of the Jetta however the gas 2.0T in it was killing me in the mileage department. I was pleasently supprised by Passat. The fit and finish, ammenities, and handling between the two cars were comperable. However the intirior and trunk were so much more spacious than I thought they would be. The automatic transmisssion is quick and firm. It shifts nicely at all speeds and RPMs. The brakes are firm. However the low RPM turbo lag takes a little while to get used to. It is not a race car by any stretch of the imagination but it will get up and go when you need it to. But if you somp on the gas from a stop, you will probably spin the tires a bit as soon as the turbo kicks in. Neither a pro or a con, just something to get used to. In the 2 years I have had very few problems. My left mirror cracked when I forgot to turn off the heated mirror. Easy driveway fix with either an OEM mirror or I went with a european convex mirror. Sometimes, when the radio is low, you can hear the fuel sloshing around in the tank. Again, not a big deal with just a little music. Overall the TDI Passat is great! I get over 600 miles to a 18 gallon fill up when driving to and from work. On several road trips I've gotten almost 800 miles to the same 18-19 gallons! Thats amazing!"

9 people out of 13 found this review helpful

falls short on the easy, every day details

By on Saturday, November 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "fuel mileage and handling"

Cons: "tire noise, slow touch screen responses"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"a lot of road noise from tires and wind noise from passenger side windows. The reaction time on the touch screen is slow. There is a hesitation when you change radio stations, volume, and phone commands. you think it didn't receive the command so you hit it again and by then it is reacting to the first push. so by now the volume is too low or way too loud or you changed radio stations twice by now. same thing with the phone, you push the screen to answer it or hang up and nothing happens until you push the screen about three more times. The AM radio is terrible. Was told by VW that because of the dark tinted windows the AM radio won't work very good. The climate control doesn't keep the car at a constant temperature. i'm always having to change the temperature settings and fan speeds. I had a Toyota Camry that had a great climate control in it. I never touched it. HOWEVER, i love the fuel mileage and the handling of the car so I can over look these poor features but would i buy a VW Passat again??? not sure ?"

9 people out of 13 found this review helpful

TDI is the only way to go

By on Wednesday, December 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fuel economy, torque, DSG trans is awesome"

Cons: "radio/ navigation are outdated."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had my doubts about VW when I bought the Passat back in 2012 because I heard so many stories about the reliability. I looked at a few other sedans but opted for the TDI SE with the DSG. I have not regretted it for a single day. I went from a car with the worst transmission on the planet (a part italian owned big 3) to the BEST transmission out there. I put 87k miles on it and it still feels solid as the day I bought it. Maintenance is a bit more expensive for the TDI sure, but fuel economy makes up for it - and this is the ONLY car that I ever get better fuel economy that the EPA rating! My local VW dealer is very nice as well. I constantly get 42-43mpg on long hauls with the family. Phoenix to Las Vegas and back without stopping for fuel is nice too! I would recommend it highly."

35 people out of 52 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 19 20 21 ... 33 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.