Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2013 Volkswagen Passat Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $18,021 - $19,198.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord


You Might Also Like...

For around the same price, you might also be interested in these other vehicles:

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $21,640

Fair Purchase Price $18,610
Fair Market Range ($18,021 - $19,198)

Invoice N/A
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 8.1 of 10

10/8.1

Buyer's Resources

Apply with our preferred lender now
Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 96 Ratings for the 2012 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 20 | Next

Great leg room, good handling, great gas mileage

By on Tuesday, April 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 34,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Best car for the price"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has lots of leg room in front and back seats. Gas mileage is better than projected - some days I average over 50/mpg during my 33 mile one-way commute. Great handling and response which really surprises me for a 4 cylinder diesel. Trunk space is almost as much as my wife's SUV."

Would not buy it again

By on Sunday, March 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, engine seems good."

Cons: "Poor build quality of the interior. Rattles."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Loved my car when I first bought it. Fun to drive, seemed solidly built, and a unique looking car compared to your Honda and Toyota competitors. If I had to do it all over again I would NOT buy this car. My reasoning may be a little picky, but I'm one of those car people who likes my car to be virtually rattle free. This car rattles a lot due to a poor fit/finish. I've had parts replaced on the interior, paid for by the dealer, which obviously showed the poor quality of the interior of the car. In addition to the rattles/squeaks, VW is still in the ice age when it comes to technology. The backup camera hasa no beeping sound, the stereo/NAV/backup cam are so slow to boot up when you start the car that you're usually well on your way before the backup cam comes on. If you're one of those who doesn't care about the fit/finish of your car and truly wants a car to get you from point A to point B then it's fine. The car is fun to drive and responsive, but the rattles and poor build quality of the interor are a deal breaker for me. Can't wait until it's paid off so I can trade it. I will never buy a VW again..."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best mid-size car out there!

By on Thursday, March 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,700

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have had 2 other mid-size cars. My wife and I ask ourselves why we waited this long to buy a VW. For our Wedding Anniversary, we were planning a trip to California, making a loop thru the southern states and returning via the northern part of the USA. After shopping several other cars, we decided the Passat was for us; excellent road-handling, firm suspension, just-right seats, quiet engine, great MPG, etc. All 8,000+ or our Journey was delightful ."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

I absolutely love this car

By on Tuesday, March 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "nice touring Sedan for road trips"

Cons: "I probably would have opted for the SEL / TDI"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is a lease and has been a joy to drive I have had no issues with it and it has performed well even this winter which was harsh on the car and the roads... handled well on snow and ice... interior is comfortable and heated seated were a plus... Had no maintenance issues or recalls. overall this car has been a joy to own. :-)"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

All about personal tastes.

By on Sunday, March 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "You have to drive a Passat TDI to understand."

Cons: "You either love or hate a diesel."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We own three 2013 Passats. Two SE with manual transmissions and one SEL Premium with the DSG. All diesels. Build quality on all is well above the norm. Styling is a sort of Teutonic understated elegance differing considerably from the competition. Some like it and others don't. Totally subjective. The TDI? While diesel fuel costs more per gallon, the per mile cost is still less than the gasoline editions. Further, the diesel's forte is the open road. No annoying downshifts and range beyond belief. Comfort levels being very good on either the SE or SEL. Just more toys on the SEL. I almost forgot upfront costs... There's a considerable premium exacted for the TDI. Quite often we overlook the fact that a good portion of this cost will be returned when the car is sold or traded. The TDI makes a huge difference in value between it and its non-TDI siblings."

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 20 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.