Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2012 Volkswagen Passat

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 146 Ratings for the 2012 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

BEST CAR EVER MADE

By on Saturday, February 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "EVERYTHING"

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

I am soo in love with this car! I have never been so satisfied with a vehicle like i am with this one!

"I've had 2 Jetta's in the past and I traded in my Jetta for a Scion tC.....not worth it. I was not happy from day one. So I went to the dealership Monday and traded in my tC for the 2015 Passat Sport 1.8T. I absolutely LOVE this luxurious vehicle."

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

I am soo in love with this car! I have never been so satisfied with a vehicle like i am with this one!

awesome vehicle for the value

By on Saturday, February 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, eye-catching, its a VW"

Cons: "could use some lighting upgrades"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Leased this VW to roll over some negative equity in a previous vehicle and was pleasantly surprised. Went in to look at a Jetta and left with a Passat. Rides better than some Cadillac's I've been in, can't beat the gas mileage for the power that comes from the engine, and the overall styling is pretty fun."

Outstanding TDI Passat

By on Sunday, February 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Outstanding fuel economy. Tons of rear leg room"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 2012 TDI Passat turned out to be a much better vehicle than I anticipated. I typically turn my vehicles over every two years but not this time.. The Passat has been extremely reliable and fun to drive. Im geting up to 800 miles per tank on freeway trips which I take 3 to 4 days a week. It has good looks and never lets me down. Keep up the quality control VW and I will consider my next car a TDI Passat, however, that might be quite a ways down the road."

8 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Diesel particulate filter clogged with soot!

By on Sunday, February 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 800

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "Comfortable and roomy"

Cons: "TDI can't handle short drives, buyer beware"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I have owned a 2015 Passat TDI SE for three weeks. I live about a mile away from work and I drive home for lunch. I drove it on the highway during the weekend and I like how it handles. I was driving back home from the store one day when my check engine light came on, my glow plug light was flashing, my diesel particulate filter (DPF) change light came on, the multifunction display said the DPF was clogged with soot and the car became very under powered. I only had 700 miles on the car and took it to the mechanics. They took it for a "special drive." It says in the owners manual to drive it at 45 mph in 4th gear for 15 minutes if the DPF light comes on and that's what they did. That's because the diesel particulate filter needs to be hot in order to clear the emissions. I didn't find this out until after I got the car and because I only live a mile away from work it's getting clogged. The mechanic told me it was going to cost $100 if I bring it to him again for the "special drive." It could cost about $2000 to replace the filter if it gets clogged more than 95% and the worst part of it is that it's not covered under the warranty because VW sees it as "your fault" for driving short frequent trips. This is the worst engineering design I've ever heard of and VW should have a warning. I shouldn't have to change my driving habits or spend money on maintenance on a brand new car just because I live close to work. If VW warned me I would have bought a different car. I'm taking it straight back to the dealership and telling them to give me something else. This is the worst car I've ever owned."

confort ,ice blue /wht.int and ex.fuel eco.

By on Friday, January 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "it's perfect for anyone"

Cons: "make in usa"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"my car is an exc.condition out side and interior , maintenance at vw dealer only with less than 21000 miles"

27 people out of 56 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Passat near Honolulu. See local deals