Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2010 Volkswagen Passat

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.9
Out of 10

Based on 504 Ratings for the 2006 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.2/10
    Quality
    8.2/10
  • Reliability
    8.0/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 21 | Next

A great Car given regular Dealer Service

By on Saturday, May 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "nice ride and handling"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I am pretty loyal VW customer. I have had many and as long as you take care of them by having all the recommended maintenance done they are excellent cars."

Excellent Handling but Expensive Repairs

By on Wednesday, February 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "excellent handling, good highway mileage"

Cons: "Only 16 mpg city not 20 mpg stated"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I am really satisfied with my Passat 3.6 4 Motion wagon but the repair work is quite expensive. For example, a new headlight will cost around $425 installed at a dealer (they told me the front bumper had to be removed) but around $225 at a certified shop (they did not have to remove the front bumper so go figure that out) which was quite surprising to me. I have the lower profile version with oversize wide tires and the car handles like an expensive European sedan car. I am also impressed with the great acceleration. On a side note, I have never used the paddle shifters or Triptronic and I am not sure why both had to be installed. As for the interior, I have not had any issues at all so far but for the exterior, the rims seem to ding and scratch fairly easily. Be careful with the low profile front end because scraping curb parking bumpers can be an issue"

10 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Fantastic car

By on Saturday, February 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Everything is thumbs up on this car"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The best car I have ever owned. Reliable, comfortable, powerful, percise handeling, great gas milage, and with large storage capacity for this size of the vehicle. Just a pleasure to drive and will wake up any sports car next to you. Just sad that they have discontinued it in the Passat size."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Very good value and well supported by service.

By on Thursday, January 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good price, practical, economical"

Cons: "Locks unpredictable. Poor pick up at standing st."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"A good reliable car and well admired. Mileage good. Minor complaints include the back looks all doors apparently at random when closed and the rear doors, again, at random, remain locked when exiting the car."

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Great value, practical to use and fun to drive

By on Friday, December 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "quality of build"

Cons: "they no longer make this model"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great value, practical to use and fun to drive"

9 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Very comfortable and dependable vehicle.

By on Sunday, December 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Peppy and responsive from start to highway speeds."

Cons: "Vehicle is 8 yrs old. Headliner is falling out."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Volkswagon has maintained its state of the art mechanics and design efficiencies with the PASSAT. The vehicle is extremely reliable and roadworthy. Vehicle handling is extremely responsive and safe. Unfortunately, the installed 2006 auto transmission is sealed and cannot be routinely serviced."

5 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Made me a VW/Audi man

By on Saturday, September 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Price, power, comfort, build quality"

Cons: "A bit higher cost to maintain."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been nothing but joy since I bought it used in 2012. Ive had the car for a little over 2 years and have only had one issue. The Check engine light came on one day but no worries! Took it to the dealer and they fixed it for free under a recall VW had sent out. Nothing else popped up. Compared to my wifes 2011 camry se, this thing takes it on every level. Power, comfort, road noise, even fuel economy. I highly recommend to anyone looking for a great intro luxury car. You will not be disappointed."

20 people out of 39 found this review helpful

Car is Best VW I've ever owned and I've owned 9 so

By on Tuesday, September 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability, Build Quality-Deutche..."

Cons: "You wont' ever want to sell it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"With every option but the AWD/4-Motion & Dynaudio I have found this car to be the best VW I've ever owned and I doubt I'll ever let it go. The interior of the car is that of a cc with remarkable quality stittching and amazing comfort and control. This is the first DSG car I've owned and its exteemly responsive when shifted into Sport Mode. Paddle Shifting...WHAAAATT? VR6 Power and often up to 30 MPG when I'm not "DRIVING" it like Andretti. Reliability has been AMAZING...no issues but I do maintain the car well. VW really stood behind everything on the CPO "World Auto" cerrtified program... Most of these were made in the 2.0 Turbo variant but this is the VR6...virtually indestructable and FarvegnuQuick!"

7 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Worst VW poor factory warranty

By on Saturday, September 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Very low quality interior. Plastic parts were blistering and headliner fell apart within 2 years despite being parked in a garage. No dealer or factory warranty compensation Have test driven other VWs and I see no change in quality in past 8 years. New car's interiors are falling apart while on the lot. Never again I grew up with VW including buying a 78 bus in 1986 and putting 150k miles in 9 nines before selling it for move than I paid for it."

5 people out of 13 found this review helpful

great car

By on Thursday, September 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i've absolutely loved it - comfortable, stylish, and fun to drive."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Very reliable...But pricey to maintain.

By on Tuesday, June 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great road car."

9 people out of 20 found this review helpful

Meh.

By on Tuesday, May 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Meh."

Been a good car

By on Monday, May 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Drives great, lots of power"

Cons: "goes through tires, value loss"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"It has been a good car, put over 60000 miles on it. We put tires on it every 20000 miles, it wears the tires fast. We have had to have some of the injectors replaced before 90,000 miles. The interior is comfortable but has rattled since 30000 miles and the dealerships couldn't ever replicate the issue. The car did not hold value like we were told that VW's do. This is disappointing."

16 people out of 20 found this review helpful

Little less than satisfied

By on Sunday, May 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, hugs road nicely."

Cons: "Expensive to repair"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This car has had several recalls which when fixed by the dealer caused car to burn oil. We add about two quarts of oil every 3000 miles. The interior door panels, especially the grab bars, electric switches, remote mirrors, and door handles are manufactured poorly. The sliding sun-roof drain clogs frequently filling the car with water in the driver's side foot area. The fold-down divider between rear seats - latch is inferior. It's a fun car to drive. Holds the road well. Feels solid and safe. Gas mileage could be better."

13 people out of 22 found this review helpful

Love driving it, hate fixing it.

By on Tuesday, April 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great to drive, excellent MPG"

Cons: "Repairs are too many/too expensive."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"I bought this as a certified used car and it did very well for 2 years. Then the repairs began to pile up."

8 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Great blend of performance, comfort and economy.

By on Saturday, April 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "a touch small, no rolling stops allowed"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Wolf in sheep's clothing. Great blend of performance, ease of use and economy. This car is nimble and fun to drive. 3.6L mated to 8 speed transmission is simply superb. Thoughtful safety features make this car a great value."

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Looks and Drives Like New

By on Wednesday, April 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 74,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"2008 Volkswagen Passat Komfort 2.0L--IMMACULATE—BLACK PLEATHER INTERIOR---HEATED SEATS--POWER OPTIONS—Premium Sound System—sunroof—automatic and manual shift --Vehicle History Report—New Car Rust Protection (Ziebart)—74,000 miles --LOOKS AND DRIVES LIKE NEW--A MUST SEE TO APPRECIATE"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I love this vehicle, it is very powerful.

By on Monday, March 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great Price, Fun to Drive, Powerful Engine, comfor"

Cons: "Pricey to repair.. Keep up preventive maint."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This car ride is smooth and comfortable, inside as well as the outside is stylish, nice cock pit - fully loaded. The only thing I regret is the expense involved with repairs. My suggestion is buy extended warranty make sure everything is covered. The prior owner covered up a vacuum leak that cost me about $700. to repair. Other than that I am very satisfied with this purchase, In fact back in 2006, this car priced in the mid to upper 30Ks. I would not have been able to afford it. But even now in 2014 this is a beautiful looking and performing machine."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Very snappy and comfortable car.

By on Monday, March 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, has very good acceleration."

Cons: "None except burning oil which is supposedly normal"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Had a 2001 prior to this (1.8 liter turbo, manual) but the '08 with 2.0 turbo, automatic is much faster. I'm 6' 3" and there is plenty of leg and head room. Handles very well. Gas mileage could be better, especially in suburban traffic (23-25 mpg)and have never seen better than 32 mpg on highway (I do drive 10 over the limit which contributes to lower mpg). This is a typical German car requiring maintenance. Had a shreaded cam follower and needed new intake cam and high pressure pump. Thankfully, covered under warranty. Also, check oil often, it does burn about 2 quarts every 3,000 miles."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Very snappy and comfortable car.

By on Monday, March 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, has very good acceleration."

Cons: "None except burning oil which is supposedly normal"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Had a 2001 prior to this (1.8 liter turbo, manual) but the '08 with 2.0 turbo, automatic is much faster. I'm 6' 3" and there is plenty of leg and head room. Handles very well. Gas mileage could be better, especially in suburban traffic (23-25 mpg)and have never seen better than 32 mpg on highway (I do drive 10 over the limit which contributes to lower mpg). This is a typical German car requiring maintenance. Had a shreaded cam follower and needed new intake cam and high pressure pump. Thankfully, covered under warranty. Also, check oil often, it does burn about 2 quarts every 3,000 miles."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Very snappy and comfortable car.

By on Monday, March 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, has very good acceleration."

Cons: "None except burning oil which is supposedly normal"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Had a 2001 prior to this (1.8 liter turbo, manual) but the '08 with 2.0 turbo, automatic is much faster. I'm 6' 3" and there is plenty of leg and head room. Handles very well. Gas mileage could be better, especially in suburban traffic (23-25 mpg)and have never seen better than 32 mpg on highway (I do drive 10 over the limit which contributes to lower mpg). This is a typical German car requiring maintenance. Had a shreaded cam follower and needed new intake cam and high pressure pump. Thankfully, covered under warranty. Also, check oil often, it does burn about 2 quarts every 3,000 miles."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Very snappy and comfortable car.

By on Monday, March 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, has very good acceleration."

Cons: "None except burning oil which is supposedly normal"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Had a 2001 prior to this (1.8 liter turbo, manual) but the '08 with 2.0 turbo, automatic is much faster. I'm 6' 3" and there is plenty of leg and head room. Handles very well. Gas mileage could be better, especially in suburban traffic (23-25 mpg)and have never seen better than 32 mpg on highway (I do drive 10 over the limit which contributes to lower mpg). This is a typical German car requiring maintenance. Had a shreaded cam follower and needed new intake cam and high pressure pump. Thankfully, covered under warranty. Also, check oil often, it does burn about 2 quarts every 3,000 miles."

After Volvo & Mercedes, Finally a Car Unmatched

By on Saturday, March 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Same engine as Audi 5A (2.0T)..great pick up the"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"After Volvo & Mercedes, Finally a Car Unmatched for Performance, Quality & Value Same engine as Audi 4A & 5A (2.0T)..great pick up and sound of this engine"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Very reliable, good looking, fast and fun to drive

By on Friday, March 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, very good warranty, good economy"

Cons: "Jack is difficult to use. Seat controls awkward"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"All around great car with excellent gas mileage."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

very trustful car

By on Saturday, March 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "everything about this car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"If you change the oil regularly( requires full synthetic) and check the water level,this car will give you no problem unless you are extremely unlucky. Of course you have to change some parts on some miles as book says. This car meets all my expectation, very comfortable very safe, huge trunk, nice to drive,looks cool inside and outside, economic( actually I was expecting better for fuel consumption but still better then most of the cars). The negative things, you need to use full synthetic oil but they are not too expensive any more. And also you have to use min 91fuel because car has turbo engine."

9 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 21 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Passat near Honolulu. See local deals