Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2006 Volkswagen Passat

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.9
Out of 10

Based on 488 Ratings for the 2006 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.2/10
    Quality
    8.2/10
  • Reliability
    8.0/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 49 | Next

Looks and Drives Like New

By on Wednesday, April 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 74,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"2008 Volkswagen Passat Komfort 2.0L--IMMACULATE—BLACK PLEATHER INTERIOR---HEATED SEATS--POWER OPTIONS—Premium Sound System—sunroof—automatic and manual shift --Vehicle History Report—New Car Rust Protection (Ziebart)—74,000 miles --LOOKS AND DRIVES LIKE NEW--A MUST SEE TO APPRECIATE"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I love this vehicle, it is very powerful.

By on Monday, March 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great Price, Fun to Drive, Powerful Engine, comfor"

Cons: "Pricey to repair.. Keep up preventive maint."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This car ride is smooth and comfortable, inside as well as the outside is stylish, nice cock pit - fully loaded. The only thing I regret is the expense involved with repairs. My suggestion is buy extended warranty make sure everything is covered. The prior owner covered up a vacuum leak that cost me about $700. to repair. Other than that I am very satisfied with this purchase, In fact back in 2006, this car priced in the mid to upper 30Ks. I would not have been able to afford it. But even now in 2014 this is a beautiful looking and performing machine."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Very snappy and comfortable car.

By on Monday, March 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, has very good acceleration."

Cons: "None except burning oil which is supposedly normal"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Had a 2001 prior to this (1.8 liter turbo, manual) but the '08 with 2.0 turbo, automatic is much faster. I'm 6' 3" and there is plenty of leg and head room. Handles very well. Gas mileage could be better, especially in suburban traffic (23-25 mpg)and have never seen better than 32 mpg on highway (I do drive 10 over the limit which contributes to lower mpg). This is a typical German car requiring maintenance. Had a shreaded cam follower and needed new intake cam and high pressure pump. Thankfully, covered under warranty. Also, check oil often, it does burn about 2 quarts every 3,000 miles."

Very snappy and comfortable car.

By on Monday, March 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, has very good acceleration."

Cons: "None except burning oil which is supposedly normal"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Had a 2001 prior to this (1.8 liter turbo, manual) but the '08 with 2.0 turbo, automatic is much faster. I'm 6' 3" and there is plenty of leg and head room. Handles very well. Gas mileage could be better, especially in suburban traffic (23-25 mpg)and have never seen better than 32 mpg on highway (I do drive 10 over the limit which contributes to lower mpg). This is a typical German car requiring maintenance. Had a shreaded cam follower and needed new intake cam and high pressure pump. Thankfully, covered under warranty. Also, check oil often, it does burn about 2 quarts every 3,000 miles."

Very snappy and comfortable car.

By on Monday, March 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, has very good acceleration."

Cons: "None except burning oil which is supposedly normal"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Had a 2001 prior to this (1.8 liter turbo, manual) but the '08 with 2.0 turbo, automatic is much faster. I'm 6' 3" and there is plenty of leg and head room. Handles very well. Gas mileage could be better, especially in suburban traffic (23-25 mpg)and have never seen better than 32 mpg on highway (I do drive 10 over the limit which contributes to lower mpg). This is a typical German car requiring maintenance. Had a shreaded cam follower and needed new intake cam and high pressure pump. Thankfully, covered under warranty. Also, check oil often, it does burn about 2 quarts every 3,000 miles."

Very snappy and comfortable car.

By on Monday, March 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, has very good acceleration."

Cons: "None except burning oil which is supposedly normal"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Had a 2001 prior to this (1.8 liter turbo, manual) but the '08 with 2.0 turbo, automatic is much faster. I'm 6' 3" and there is plenty of leg and head room. Handles very well. Gas mileage could be better, especially in suburban traffic (23-25 mpg)and have never seen better than 32 mpg on highway (I do drive 10 over the limit which contributes to lower mpg). This is a typical German car requiring maintenance. Had a shreaded cam follower and needed new intake cam and high pressure pump. Thankfully, covered under warranty. Also, check oil often, it does burn about 2 quarts every 3,000 miles."

After Volvo & Mercedes, Finally a Car Unmatched

By on Saturday, March 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Same engine as Audi 5A (2.0T)..great pick up the"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"After Volvo & Mercedes, Finally a Car Unmatched for Performance, Quality & Value Same engine as Audi 4A & 5A (2.0T)..great pick up and sound of this engine"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Very reliable, good looking, fast and fun to drive

By on Friday, March 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, very good warranty, good economy"

Cons: "Jack is difficult to use. Seat controls awkward"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"All around great car with excellent gas mileage."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

very trustful car

By on Saturday, March 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "everything about this car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"If you change the oil regularly( requires full synthetic) and check the water level,this car will give you no problem unless you are extremely unlucky. Of course you have to change some parts on some miles as book says. This car meets all my expectation, very comfortable very safe, huge trunk, nice to drive,looks cool inside and outside, economic( actually I was expecting better for fuel consumption but still better then most of the cars). The negative things, you need to use full synthetic oil but they are not too expensive any more. And also you have to use min 91fuel because car has turbo engine."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Fastest, best handling car I have ever had!

By on Friday, February 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fast, great handling,gas mileage, and cargo room"

Cons: "Cup holders need work"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

This is a year ago. The snow is deeper today, 21 February 2014.

"As the Review Summary says, I think this is the fastest, best handling car I have ever had! And I have had quite a few cars since my first one in 1972!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

This is a year ago. The snow is deeper today, 21 February 2014.

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 49 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Passat near Honolulu. See local deals