Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2005 Volkswagen Passat

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.5
Out of 10

Based on 796 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.8/10
    Quality
    7.9/10
  • Reliability
    7.5/10
    Performance
    8.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 30 31 32 | Next

Loved my wagon

By on Saturday, August 18, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I traded my 04 4cyl stationwagon in for a 4cyl Rav 4 toyota 07. I miss it. Great pick up compared to the Rav, I suppose thats german engineering.That car flew like the wind, 100 miles felt like 50mi. Kept getting speeding tickets in the volks. Had 80,000 miles certified used and warranty ran out at 74,000 so I got scared. Volks was due for timing belt which ranges from $1200. to $800. Volk Tech said I needed rear brake job at about $350.I got scared plus due to relocation post Hurricane Katrina, I am now in a town which does not service Volks. Exterior paint is much better than the Rav. Interior is classic. I want my Volks back. Disadvantages: No storage in front. Too small for a Large person. Folding back seats to lay flat was awkward.Get electric seats."

Very Capable

By on Friday, August 17, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I live in Bozeman, MT where we get a considerable amount of snow every winter. When my Passat would be parked on the street, the plows would plow the snow toward the curb and basically bury the vehicles in snow. When big four-wheel drive pickups would be stuck, the traction control and all-wheel drive would pull me right through. An excellent car on slick surfaces it's also a very attractive car as well and I have been very satisfied with it."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

OK vehicle

By on Friday, August 17, 2007

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
3/10

"im not a big fan of foreign cars but this 1 is ok."

Great Car

By on Thursday, August 16, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The first time I saw this model I wanted it and waited 2 years to buy one. I have loved it everyday I've owned it. It is quiet, roomy, smooth driving, gets good gas milage (22 around town) and looks great. I am thrilled I was able to buy it."

Love/Hate relationship

By on Thursday, August 16, 2007

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"I just dumped over 3500$ into electrical problems, in a car that I thought prided itself on going forever?? When it runs good I like it. But when I think of the money I just spent on the computer that blew 3 times while taking out other electrical parts at the same time....I hate it, and am selling it. I am so angryI can hardly look at it."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, August 16, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

I hate this car!

By on Wednesday, August 15, 2007

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

"This car has required unscheduled service 15 times! It has left me stranded while on vacation 3 times! At @5,000 miles the engine malfunction light came on, had to replace the all fuel injectors, 12,000miles the car just quit all electrical items in the car died, trunk release actuator shorted, and has required numerous electrical services about every 5,000 miles. I have had this car serviced some times 3 days in a row! Volkswagen has reluctantly replaced parts under warranty, but I bought this car NEW and my warranty just ran out. The worst car purchase I made in 36 years!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, August 14, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

more smiles per mile

By on Tuesday, August 14, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"It's fun to drive,goes more like a v-8,and at 40 honest miles per gallon for all around driving,just can't be beat."

Nice car, but could be better

By on Monday, August 13, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

"This car has great performance at the cost of poor gas mileage with the W8 motor. Have only owned about four months and had to have 2 things fixed. The interior is very nice and comfy, however, for the additional cost for the W8, they could have made a few things more noticable vs. the other passat models."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Monday, August 13, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

The best of the best car is Passat

By on Sunday, August 12, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I don't now what to say I have my Passat V6 for 3 years and no problem at all it's a great car so much comfort nice style and everybody like it. You buy one you will love it for sure."

Quiet, reliable, comfortable

By on Friday, August 10, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"29,000 miles without any problems. Easy on the pocket book (35-40 mpg). Leather heated seats add to value. Resale price continues to hold with diesel motor. True full size 4 passenger adult legroom, front and back. Con: Radio system below par, but CD & changer great. Stock tires produced excessive road noise, New tires eliminated noise!"

The VW Passat Rocks!

By on Friday, August 10, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"We've owned a number of cars and the VW Passat is the best sedan we've ever owned. It drives great, has a ton of space inside, is 100% reliable and has been a great value. I can't say enough about this car!"

2005 Passat TDI sedan 4Dr

By on Friday, August 10, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"31000 miles, no major problems. ABS sensor and ignition coil problems till date. Fun to drive. Tiptronic enhances driving fun. 32 MPG in city/ 45 MPG highway"

best buy

By on Thursday, August 09, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"love the performance and comfort this car has so many options and it holds its value I cant say any bad things about the passat"

Great car but needs alot of maintaining.

By on Tuesday, August 07, 2007

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"This is a great car, handles very well, good MPG and basically alot of fun to drive. However for a car with less than 50K on the clock i have had ALOT of things that have needed the attention (at alot of cost) of the dealer. Fun to drive but get ready to empty your pockets for repairs!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Monday, August 06, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"Overall gets 35-40 mpg with mostly city driving. Have gotten over 43 mpg on the highway. Well build and overall fun to drive."

Not a good car

By on Monday, August 06, 2007

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

"I have had nothing but problems since 1 month after I purchased the car. The engine coils failed, the front axel had to be replaced, the back trunk leaked, the wheel well over the gas tank had a recall, etc. The car has spent more time at the dealer getting repaired than a new car should."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Friday, August 03, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, August 02, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Excellent value

By on Wednesday, August 01, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Ive driven this car on very long trips between Seattle and Houston. The car is very comfortable with a clean ride. It isn't a sports car, however, as noticed from the lower (yet not bad) performance. My car was upgraded with an electronic chip to add horsepower to make sure I can get around those large trucks on the highway. Excellent car."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

DIESEL GAL ALL THE WAY!!

By on Tuesday, July 31, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Like they say.. "Once you go diesel, you never go gas!" I frowned at the idea of getting a diesel at first because the picture i had in my head were those old mercedes benz putters that leave black clouds of smoke behind them. Definately not the case with my Passat! I love the fuel economy I get. $45 in diesel gets me 515-530 miles per tank! I haven't had any problems at all!"

By on Monday, July 30, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Sunday, July 29, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 30 31 32 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Passat near Honolulu. See local deals