Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2005 Volkswagen Passat

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.5
Out of 10

Based on 781 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.8/10
    Quality
    7.9/10
  • Reliability
    7.5/10
    Performance
    8.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 79 | Next

A Distant Cousin to the BMW M3

By on Saturday, January 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,750

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "V6 Engine Power"

Cons: "Expensive Repairs/Maintenance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I own an E46 M3 and this Passat is the little engine that could of the M3. Driving in tiptronic mode is a blast and the car will reward you with precision inputs. It is quite expensive to maintain. It's reliability is average, and that's quite disappointing given that my '02 Passat GLX was built in Germany."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Least reliable vehicle I ever owned

By on Monday, January 20, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Constantly in need of dealer service

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Handled well"

Cons: "Unreliable, turbo lag , unreliable, $$$"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Torn CV joint boots - $900 Two emission repairs - $1,700 Bad engine cam chain - $1,500 Timing belt and water pump - $1,300 Quit when dealer said I had leaking hydraulic engine mounts, leaking rear differential and needed portions of the exhaust replaced Car was kept in a garage each evening and had all dealer recommended synthetic oil changes to avoid sludge problem and also had dealer tune up and other recommended maintenance."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I love it!

By on Saturday, January 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive, fast, good handling"

Cons: "takes premium gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love this car! The interior design is nice, a bit small for the price, but it's a good fit for me! Having all wheel drive is very beneficial, and the V8 engine is phenomenal. A certain downfall is that the vehicle takes only premium gas, so 91 or higher on the pump. Repairs are also somewhat expensive, but the car is very reliable!"

Best car I have ever owned

By on Friday, January 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 143,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Handling, build quality,"

Cons: "Maintenance seems kind of high."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new 11 years ago. I have owned 35 cars and this one is the best overall. Too bad VW doesn't sell Passat Wagons in the US anymore. I often tell people that German cars are best and that VW is the only one that is a good value."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Think Twice!

By on Monday, December 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 129,582

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Size, Good Back Seat, Easy to drive and park"

Cons: "Horrible quality"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"We bought this car from our local garage, thinking that since they bought it, it must be good. We were soon proven wrong when the heat and A/C stopped working, the passenger seat motor broke. We had the skid plate just fall off on a road trip to Canada. Needless to say we just cut it off with a hunting knife. (Quality) HA! It also refuses to start, and just the other day had the starter go in it. We are used to driving Fords, and starters being an hour fix and not too expensive. $600 later we listed the car on craigslist. We bought this used 2 years ago, put less than 30,000 miles on it and the value has nearly depreciated 50%!!! IN 2 YEARS!!! I understand that some may be perfect cars, but people please do the research and see what is most likely to fall apart"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Nothing but problems

By on Wednesday, December 11, 2013

I owned and sold this car
Reason: burns oil!

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "It's roomy"

Cons: "IT BURNS OIL"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I traded a perfectly good Mustang for a passet because I had a little boy. I figured the 4 door would make it easier on me with the carseat. The only good thing about this car is that it is roomy. But other than that it has been nothing but a money pit for me from day one. Right after I bought it, it kept breaking down I took it to the shop and found out the car was burning oil, needed a tune up, the coils were out on it. Let's just say I didn't expect to have to spend $700 on the car right after I bought it and now 5 months later it is burning oil again !! I traded it in and got me a 2012 ford focus today !! lets hope this treats me better than the passet! all I can say is buyer beware if your getting a passet."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

best,most reliable Ive owned

By on Sunday, December 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Sports car handling and response, 28-32mpg hwy"

Cons: "Brakes need replacement freequently"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"excellent ride, handling,comfort. Has never left me stranded. controls convient. My wife loves it"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Too good to sell!

By on Monday, November 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 69,150

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Price, Quality, Economy, Appearance, Dependability"

Cons: "Sun Visors to short to use on side windows."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Looks good out in the woods.

"Quiet, comfortable, over 30mpg highway, good performance when turbo kicks in entering freeway. Never any problems on the road. Fit and finish excellent - looks same as new except for normal dings and scratches. Never any leaks or unusual noises. Styling similar to 2012 Passat, people do not believe me when I tell them it is a 2002 model. A few minor recalls, dealer fixed no charge. Used the extended warranty for 2 flat tires, axle boots changed once. Replaced motor mounts last year - fluid was seeping out the tops. A few other minor repairs made in recent years. I was considering a new car but after looking at medium size sedans no suitable replacement was found. I fully expect this car will last longer than I will. My wife refuses to give up her low mileage 95 Nissan 240sx; people walk up to our house and in parking lots asking if she would like to sell. Looks like my car buying days are about over."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Looks good out in the woods.

It rides....for a long time!

By on Monday, October 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,999

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Reliable, though a little pricey w/premium gas"

Cons: "Wish she didn't require so many garage visits"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this Passat in late-2001, had water immersion problems early on, which dealer fixed. Other than that, and the occasional brakes/engine repair as part of routine maint., this car is still in my driveway, though I now have another VW, a Touareg, to bigger hauls. This stil is my everyday, drivearound car, and I won't sell it."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Car to drive

By on Wednesday, October 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great car to drive, lots of giddy-up"

Cons: "Hard on the wallet with gas and repairs, 12mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Body immaculate, color is gray, Interior in good shape no rips or tears, black leather. Newer tires, new front barkes last november, new rear brakes June 2013 and front left side drive axle same time. needs right side drive axle replaced soon. Battery replaced last year too. car handles great and has great acceleration, lots of power."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 79 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Passat near Honolulu. See local deals