Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2005 Volkswagen Passat

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.5
Out of 10

Based on 779 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.8/10
    Quality
    7.9/10
  • Reliability
    7.5/10
    Performance
    8.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 78 | Next

Love this car. The best of the sm class

By on Sunday, April 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Handling and performance is very good"

Cons: "gas mileage could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I would recommend and buy again. The unrealibility issues are over blown as far as I can tell. German cars cost more and they cost more to fix. They are not more prone to brake-downs. Over ten years old now, my real complaint is that they aren't made anymore."

Great Economical value - over 38MPG in summer

By on Saturday, April 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Classic european style and snappy for a diesel"

Cons: "Need high octane diesel in winter"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought car in 2007 so I am the second owner. No problems at all and car mileage is outstanding averaging 36MPG in winter and near 40MPG in summer. Just had it repainted in December. VW has the most cars in service over 100K and 200K miles many at 300K and more."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

My most favorite vehicle.

By on Saturday, April 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 139,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive, classy comfy, smooth, dependable."

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love my Passat. I had never driven one before, was buying a car, liked the look and took it for a test drive, I was sold. It has a very smooth ride, turns on a dime, super comfortable to sit in and all the bells and whistles. i have owned it for two years now with no problems. I will definitely buy another."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love my TDI

By on Wednesday, March 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,150

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great gas mileage, handles well"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My previous car was an Audi A4, and while I thought of this car as a 'step down' the German engineering is consistent and I am pleased with the performance and styling of the Passat. When I walked on the lot, I never thought I'd buy a car with a diesel engine. But I LOVE it. I am on the road a lot and the gas mileage is WONDERFUL - especially for a full size sedan."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

be ready to spend spend spend

By on Monday, March 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
4/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"prone to breaking down run"

sweet ride

By on Thursday, March 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 174,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "rain sensing wipers"

Cons: "cup holders are sort of small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"heated seats are the best in any car i've had. great options like power folding mirrors and key operated windows from the outside make this car fun to play with.."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Friday, February 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "comfort and performance"

Cons: "car will need repair maintenance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Great car. Drives great. Has smooth ride and lots of power."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

I looked long and hard for this vehicle

By on Friday, February 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "I find the VW TDI Wagon fun to drive, safe feeling"

Cons: "Mirrors are wierd - hard to back up sometimes."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought my TDI Wagon in VA...not sold in NYS then. Have had an accident on a blind curve in IND but no problems since. Dealers in VA were basically good and fair. Since I moved back to NYS I have had no problems. Did replace the rear hatch switch in the driver door...had the a/c compressor go out at 53,000, but VW went halves on replacement. Tires last 30-40,000 using Conti's, Kelly, Pirelli and Goodyears. Continue to get 40+ mileage on Green Diesel w/ additives - no gelling, I would recommend my TDI Passat Wagon to anyone with 20,000 mile/ year needs."

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

A Distant Cousin to the BMW M3

By on Saturday, January 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,750

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "V6 Engine Power"

Cons: "Expensive Repairs/Maintenance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I own an E46 M3 and this Passat is the little engine that could of the M3. Driving in tiptronic mode is a blast and the car will reward you with precision inputs. It is quite expensive to maintain. It's reliability is average, and that's quite disappointing given that my '02 Passat GLX was built in Germany."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Least reliable vehicle I ever owned

By on Monday, January 20, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Constantly in need of dealer service

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Handled well"

Cons: "Unreliable, turbo lag , unreliable, $$$"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Torn CV joint boots - $900 Two emission repairs - $1,700 Bad engine cam chain - $1,500 Timing belt and water pump - $1,300 Quit when dealer said I had leaking hydraulic engine mounts, leaking rear differential and needed portions of the exhaust replaced Car was kept in a garage each evening and had all dealer recommended synthetic oil changes to avoid sludge problem and also had dealer tune up and other recommended maintenance."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 78 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Passat near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details