Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2005 Volkswagen Passat

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.5
Out of 10

Based on 785 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.8/10
    Quality
    7.9/10
  • Reliability
    7.5/10
    Performance
    8.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 157 | Next

Passat TDI B4 wagon is amazing!

By on Friday, August 08, 2014

I want this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Solid German driving dynamics! DAS AUTO! Torque!"

Cons: "Lack of horsepower"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"There are not many German engineered vehicles like the Volkswagen Passat TDI sedan and wagon. They have best heated seats. The blue and pink diode gauges are a nice added touch to the interior. I wish that VW had this car in a GLX that would offer the automatic Climatronic and the rain sensor, auto dimming interior mirror, pwr. seats and last but not least the pwr. folding mirrors. The B4 passat wagon is hands down the best built and reliable Passat on the market. I would highly recommend this vehicle."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I love this car, but now have 2 cars and 1 driver.

By on Wednesday, July 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,350

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "excellent value"

Cons: "rear headrests limit visibility (remove)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car and have owned it for 9 of its 10 years. Its a great road car, powerful and comfortable, with very low mileage. A beautiful car for a very low price. Current photo will be uploaded."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever until 100,000 miles

By on Sunday, July 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "feels solid (not tinny), handles beautifully"

Cons: "thought it would hold out till 200,000"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car used 8 years ago. I had no issues with it (loved it loved it loved it!) until it hit about 100,000 miles.. since then it has become a money pit (calipers, rotors, brakes, axles, and now needs a clutch)... Nevertheless, I would fix the clutch and keep it if I could get the brake warning lights to stop coming on! Every few weeks a light comes on the one that screams STOP-brake failure... too scary for me even if the mechanic says brakes are fine. So, it is time to go for a new car. However, I will be checking out another Passat!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Bought it at 129,000 miles, now 146,000

By on Monday, June 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "For a wagon, fun to drive."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I knew that the Passat has a sketchy reliability record. It's a German car and needs to be cared for. Did the timing belt, new front brakes and alignment and other things as recommended. A very sweet car (2002 Passat Wagon)."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Excellent car

By on Sunday, June 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, easy to drive; still looks good"

Cons: "Heater and purge accumulator valve problems"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have enjoyed driving it and owning it. Minor problems include heater problems and the check engine light comes on regularly telling me to replace the purge accumulator valve. I have replaced it at least 3 times. I have found the heater/air conditioning controls to be difficult to use. It still gets 20 mph in town, which is what it got when I first bought it. Gets 25 mph on the highway."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 157 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Passat near Honolulu. See local deals