Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2005 Volkswagen Passat

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.5
Out of 10

Based on 779 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.8/10
    Quality
    7.9/10
  • Reliability
    7.5/10
    Performance
    8.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 156 | Next

I love this car, but now have 2 cars and 1 driver.

By on Wednesday, July 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,350

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "excellent value"

Cons: "rear headrests limit visibility (remove)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car and have owned it for 9 of its 10 years. Its a great road car, powerful and comfortable, with very low mileage. A beautiful car for a very low price. Current photo will be uploaded."

Best vehicle ever until 100,000 miles

By on Sunday, July 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "feels solid (not tinny), handles beautifully"

Cons: "thought it would hold out till 200,000"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car used 8 years ago. I had no issues with it (loved it loved it loved it!) until it hit about 100,000 miles.. since then it has become a money pit (calipers, rotors, brakes, axles, and now needs a clutch)... Nevertheless, I would fix the clutch and keep it if I could get the brake warning lights to stop coming on! Every few weeks a light comes on the one that screams STOP-brake failure... too scary for me even if the mechanic says brakes are fine. So, it is time to go for a new car. However, I will be checking out another Passat!"

Bought it at 129,000 miles, now 146,000

By on Monday, June 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "For a wagon, fun to drive."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I knew that the Passat has a sketchy reliability record. It's a German car and needs to be cared for. Did the timing belt, new front brakes and alignment and other things as recommended. A very sweet car (2002 Passat Wagon)."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellent car

By on Sunday, June 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, easy to drive; still looks good"

Cons: "Heater and purge accumulator valve problems"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have enjoyed driving it and owning it. Minor problems include heater problems and the check engine light comes on regularly telling me to replace the purge accumulator valve. I have replaced it at least 3 times. I have found the heater/air conditioning controls to be difficult to use. It still gets 20 mph in town, which is what it got when I first bought it. Gets 25 mph on the highway."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Expesive to repair and maintain.

By on Saturday, May 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Handles great in bad wheather"

Cons: "High Maintance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I so much wanted to love this car, but it has been without a doubt the most needy and expensive car I have ever owned to maintain. Granted I drive a lot, but I have put just as many miles on other vehicles and did not have to rebuild a transmission or replace a crank shaft. I will say it handles great in snow and is fun to drive; however, painful on the pocketbook. I will soon be buying a new car and cannot see myself buying another VW. I wish i did not have to say this."

5 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 156 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Passat near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details