Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2004 Volkswagen Passat

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.5
Out of 10

Based on 782 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.8/10
    Quality
    7.9/10
  • Reliability
    7.5/10
    Performance
    8.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 32 | Next

Love this car!

By on Tuesday, August 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, nice size"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car new, kept up with necessary maintenance when needed and the car is still running in excellent condition."

Foreign car that's quite expensive to maintain.

By on Saturday, August 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,500

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Nice to drive"

Cons: "Oil burner. Costly to repair."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Oil burner from day one! Gas guzzler. Hatch hydraulic lift pistons susceptible to give up. Seat warmers fail. Heater core fail. Water leak in head liner. Multiple Engine Light warnings. Reliability and Maintenance wise, this car does not compare with my supreme, 1997 Toyota Avalon. For that matter it can't measure up to any Toyota or Honda. Never buy a VW in the rest of my lifetime!"

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Passat TDI B4 wagon is amazing!

By on Friday, August 08, 2014

I want this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Solid German driving dynamics! DAS AUTO! Torque!"

Cons: "Lack of horsepower"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"There are not many German engineered vehicles like the Volkswagen Passat TDI sedan and wagon. They have best heated seats. The blue and pink diode gauges are a nice added touch to the interior. I wish that VW had this car in a GLX that would offer the automatic Climatronic and the rain sensor, auto dimming interior mirror, pwr. seats and last but not least the pwr. folding mirrors. The B4 passat wagon is hands down the best built and reliable Passat on the market. I would highly recommend this vehicle."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I love this car, but now have 2 cars and 1 driver.

By on Wednesday, July 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,350

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "excellent value"

Cons: "rear headrests limit visibility (remove)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car and have owned it for 9 of its 10 years. Its a great road car, powerful and comfortable, with very low mileage. A beautiful car for a very low price. Current photo will be uploaded."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever until 100,000 miles

By on Sunday, July 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "feels solid (not tinny), handles beautifully"

Cons: "thought it would hold out till 200,000"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car used 8 years ago. I had no issues with it (loved it loved it loved it!) until it hit about 100,000 miles.. since then it has become a money pit (calipers, rotors, brakes, axles, and now needs a clutch)... Nevertheless, I would fix the clutch and keep it if I could get the brake warning lights to stop coming on! Every few weeks a light comes on the one that screams STOP-brake failure... too scary for me even if the mechanic says brakes are fine. So, it is time to go for a new car. However, I will be checking out another Passat!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Bought it at 129,000 miles, now 146,000

By on Monday, June 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "For a wagon, fun to drive."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I knew that the Passat has a sketchy reliability record. It's a German car and needs to be cared for. Did the timing belt, new front brakes and alignment and other things as recommended. A very sweet car (2002 Passat Wagon)."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Excellent car

By on Sunday, June 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, easy to drive; still looks good"

Cons: "Heater and purge accumulator valve problems"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have enjoyed driving it and owning it. Minor problems include heater problems and the check engine light comes on regularly telling me to replace the purge accumulator valve. I have replaced it at least 3 times. I have found the heater/air conditioning controls to be difficult to use. It still gets 20 mph in town, which is what it got when I first bought it. Gets 25 mph on the highway."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Expesive to repair and maintain.

By on Saturday, May 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Handles great in bad wheather"

Cons: "High Maintance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I so much wanted to love this car, but it has been without a doubt the most needy and expensive car I have ever owned to maintain. Granted I drive a lot, but I have put just as many miles on other vehicles and did not have to rebuild a transmission or replace a crank shaft. I will say it handles great in snow and is fun to drive; however, painful on the pocketbook. I will soon be buying a new car and cannot see myself buying another VW. I wish i did not have to say this."

9 people out of 15 found this review helpful

do not buy, turbo troubles at 100K, $3K to $4K

By on Thursday, May 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 128,500

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"do not buy, turbo troubles at 100K, $3K to $4K to repair. Good driving car, but reliability is terrible. Surprised at VW, would never buy another one."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Awesome vehicle

By on Tuesday, May 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "safe, awesome car, very efficient,"

Cons: "No aux in"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this car for a little over two years now. Bought it with about 82,000 miles in it and it now has about 104,000. I drove it across the country last year when I moved from the Midwest to Florida. I have traveled quite a bit with it to Ohio, Georgia, Minnesota, Florida, Iowa, and Alabama. It is very reliable and dependable. I absolutely love it. When driving in the highway, I feel very safe in it, because of how stable it feels on the pavement. Gas is amazing. It goes on forever on one tank. I took a 20 hour trip and I probable spent about 150 or less on gas. The downside of owning a VW is that parts are expensive and you need a specific person to fix it for you. The safety is a plus, it's a very heavy vehicle, so you'll be very safe inside the cabin. When it comes the time to change cars, I'm sticking with VW."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

I love this car!

By on Wednesday, April 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great value, fun to drive, nice comfort touches"

Cons: "Parts, when you do need them, can be expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Drives wonderfully, high-quality, comfortable, and reliable car. Great pick-up and looks beautiful too. I have had it for 6 years and no major problems. In fact, I'm selling this one and going to get the exact same new car!"

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Lemon

By on Monday, April 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 191,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great gas milage, roomie, fun to drive"

Cons: "engine problems, not reliable, expensive to fix"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I got this car when it was 6 years old. I loved the look of it and thought VW made decent cars. Less than a year into driving it, I had an oil sludge problem which lead to a number of other engine problems. I bought this car for 8,000 and all together I say I had to put 9,000 into the engine/radiator. All in all I could have ended up buying a brand new car for 17,000. I'm now finally selling it (more like getting rid of it) because I have electrical problems which will cost much more to fix than the car is worth. She had a good run, but lots of problems along the way. It's kinda sad to see her go but I know it's time."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

WARNING: DO NOT BUY

By on Sunday, April 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
1/10

Cons: "Not reliable whatsoever, very pricey for repairs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I'm a college kid and bought my 2004 Volkswagen Passat GLX for a great price (should have been a warning sign from the start). Please let this review be the one to curb people from purchasing one of their own; DO NOT BUY THIS CAR. It is an absolute money pit. One thing after another--car mounts bad, camshaft solenoid bad, etc. Many many trips to the mechanic on top of all of the normal car care work (new tires, oil every 3,000 miles, premium gasoline). Consumer reports got it right when it rated Volkswagen one of the least reliable makers in the business. Please do not buy this car."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love this car. The best of the sm class

By on Sunday, April 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Handling and performance is very good"

Cons: "gas mileage could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I would recommend and buy again. The unrealibility issues are over blown as far as I can tell. German cars cost more and they cost more to fix. They are not more prone to brake-downs. Over ten years old now, my real complaint is that they aren't made anymore."

Great Economical value - over 38MPG in summer

By on Saturday, April 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Classic european style and snappy for a diesel"

Cons: "Need high octane diesel in winter"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought car in 2007 so I am the second owner. No problems at all and car mileage is outstanding averaging 36MPG in winter and near 40MPG in summer. Just had it repainted in December. VW has the most cars in service over 100K and 200K miles many at 300K and more."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

My most favorite vehicle.

By on Saturday, April 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 139,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive, classy comfy, smooth, dependable."

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love my Passat. I had never driven one before, was buying a car, liked the look and took it for a test drive, I was sold. It has a very smooth ride, turns on a dime, super comfortable to sit in and all the bells and whistles. i have owned it for two years now with no problems. I will definitely buy another."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love my TDI

By on Wednesday, March 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,150

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great gas mileage, handles well"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My previous car was an Audi A4, and while I thought of this car as a 'step down' the German engineering is consistent and I am pleased with the performance and styling of the Passat. When I walked on the lot, I never thought I'd buy a car with a diesel engine. But I LOVE it. I am on the road a lot and the gas mileage is WONDERFUL - especially for a full size sedan."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

be ready to spend spend spend

By on Monday, March 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
4/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"prone to breaking down run"

sweet ride

By on Thursday, March 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 174,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "rain sensing wipers"

Cons: "cup holders are sort of small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"heated seats are the best in any car i've had. great options like power folding mirrors and key operated windows from the outside make this car fun to play with.."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Friday, February 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "comfort and performance"

Cons: "car will need repair maintenance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Great car. Drives great. Has smooth ride and lots of power."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

I looked long and hard for this vehicle

By on Friday, February 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "I find the VW TDI Wagon fun to drive, safe feeling"

Cons: "Mirrors are wierd - hard to back up sometimes."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought my TDI Wagon in VA...not sold in NYS then. Have had an accident on a blind curve in IND but no problems since. Dealers in VA were basically good and fair. Since I moved back to NYS I have had no problems. Did replace the rear hatch switch in the driver door...had the a/c compressor go out at 53,000, but VW went halves on replacement. Tires last 30-40,000 using Conti's, Kelly, Pirelli and Goodyears. Continue to get 40+ mileage on Green Diesel w/ additives - no gelling, I would recommend my TDI Passat Wagon to anyone with 20,000 mile/ year needs."

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

A Distant Cousin to the BMW M3

By on Saturday, January 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,750

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "V6 Engine Power"

Cons: "Expensive Repairs/Maintenance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I own an E46 M3 and this Passat is the little engine that could of the M3. Driving in tiptronic mode is a blast and the car will reward you with precision inputs. It is quite expensive to maintain. It's reliability is average, and that's quite disappointing given that my '02 Passat GLX was built in Germany."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Least reliable vehicle I ever owned

By on Monday, January 20, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Constantly in need of dealer service

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Handled well"

Cons: "Unreliable, turbo lag , unreliable, $$$"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Torn CV joint boots - $900 Two emission repairs - $1,700 Bad engine cam chain - $1,500 Timing belt and water pump - $1,300 Quit when dealer said I had leaking hydraulic engine mounts, leaking rear differential and needed portions of the exhaust replaced Car was kept in a garage each evening and had all dealer recommended synthetic oil changes to avoid sludge problem and also had dealer tune up and other recommended maintenance."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I love it!

By on Saturday, January 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive, fast, good handling"

Cons: "takes premium gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love this car! The interior design is nice, a bit small for the price, but it's a good fit for me! Having all wheel drive is very beneficial, and the V8 engine is phenomenal. A certain downfall is that the vehicle takes only premium gas, so 91 or higher on the pump. Repairs are also somewhat expensive, but the car is very reliable!"

Best car I have ever owned

By on Friday, January 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 143,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Handling, build quality,"

Cons: "Maintenance seems kind of high."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new 11 years ago. I have owned 35 cars and this one is the best overall. Too bad VW doesn't sell Passat Wagons in the US anymore. I often tell people that German cars are best and that VW is the only one that is a good value."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 32 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Passat near Honolulu. See local deals