Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2004 Volkswagen Passat

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.5
Out of 10

Based on 789 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.8/10
    Quality
    7.9/10
  • Reliability
    7.5/10
    Performance
    8.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 158 | Next

Love my 02 GLX!

By on Tuesday, November 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Up to date looks. Reliable. Built well."

Cons: "Expensive repairs."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

My old blue one. My baby (black). Boyfriend's GTI. We love VW!!!

"I absolutely love my car. This is actually my second one. Loved the first one so much (besides the fact the person I bought it from withheld a lot of information) I decided I wanted the same one. My car is my baby. If you stay on top of your routine maintenance like your supposed you, you will never have a problem. It is more pricey compared to other vehicles and you can hardly buy your products from your local car shop. The key is plan ahead and buy online (super cheap). I have learned to do all my own mechanical work, really not that hard and youtube is great! You have to stay on top of your oil changes and check regularly, when the leaks come they are hard to get rid of. The interior is great and designed clean. I love the cup holders and the heated seats. To this day I am still finding new things about this car! Engine is built solid. It is temperamental with its fuses, so always have them handy. Overall take care of it and it will take care of you. This thing will last forever. BTW the first one I owned had over 200k miles on it.."

My old blue one. My baby (black). Boyfriend's GTI. We love VW!!!

Review of 2002 VW Passat GLS Wagon.

By on Tuesday, November 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,500

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "fun to drive,good handling"

Cons: "Takes Premium gas,repair parts too expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Overall it is a dependable automobile.Not a vehicle for casual shadetree mechanic to work on.Parts are way too expensive ."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

WORST VEHICLE I'VE EVER OWNED.

By on Friday, October 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Nice interior, seat warmers were the best ones!"

Cons: "Too many mechanical problems!! Money pit."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Bought used, every problem that could happen did. Never should have ever bought this car. I will not be buying another Volkswagen again. Nice interior and comfortable, just way too many mechanical problems."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

possibly the beset car ever.

By on Thursday, October 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 169,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, easy to work on, build quality"

Cons: "the dealership, avoid if possible"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"if properly maintained this is the best car ever. if not you can expect engine failure. take care of your car and it will take care of you! Usually."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

engine an audi..interior finishes fall apart..

By on Sunday, October 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "engine drives like the Audi that it is- fantastic"

Cons: "Interior doesn't hold up even in GLS model"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Drives like the Audi engine that it has. Maneuvers fantastically, turn radius, pick up, ability to do mountain roads - all excellent. Rides very low <5 inches. Cracked the oil pan twice on CA "dips" a $500 fix each time. Interior buttons, radio, trim deteriorated faster than Japanese comparables- and expensive to fix. I do a lot of camping, mountain roads, surfing- and it has plenty of room for all of this. But no off road, dirt roads, stay on the nice state park roads. It has treated me well."

3 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 158 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Passat near Honolulu. See local deals