Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2004 Volkswagen Passat

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.5
Out of 10

Based on 771 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.8/10
    Quality
    7.9/10
  • Reliability
    7.5/10
    Performance
    8.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 78 | Next

Lemon

By on Monday, April 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 191,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great gas milage, roomie, fun to drive"

Cons: "engine problems, not reliable, expensive to fix"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I got this car when it was 6 years old. I loved the look of it and thought VW made decent cars. Less than a year into driving it, I had an oil sludge problem which lead to a number of other engine problems. I bought this car for 8,000 and all together I say I had to put 9,000 into the engine/radiator. All in all I could have ended up buying a brand new car for 17,000. I'm now finally selling it (more like getting rid of it) because I have electrical problems which will cost much more to fix than the car is worth. She had a good run, but lots of problems along the way. It's kinda sad to see her go but I know it's time."

WARNING: DO NOT BUY

By on Sunday, April 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
1/10

Cons: "Not reliable whatsoever, very pricey for repairs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I'm a college kid and bought my 2004 Volkswagen Passat GLX for a great price (should have been a warning sign from the start). Please let this review be the one to curb people from purchasing one of their own; DO NOT BUY THIS CAR. It is an absolute money pit. One thing after another--car mounts bad, camshaft solenoid bad, etc. Many many trips to the mechanic on top of all of the normal car care work (new tires, oil every 3,000 miles, premium gasoline). Consumer reports got it right when it rated Volkswagen one of the least reliable makers in the business. Please do not buy this car."

Love this car. The best of the sm class

By on Sunday, April 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Handling and performance is very good"

Cons: "gas mileage could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I would recommend and buy again. The unrealibility issues are over blown as far as I can tell. German cars cost more and they cost more to fix. They are not more prone to brake-downs. Over ten years old now, my real complaint is that they aren't made anymore."

Great Economical value - over 38MPG in summer

By on Saturday, April 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Classic european style and snappy for a diesel"

Cons: "Need high octane diesel in winter"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought car in 2007 so I am the second owner. No problems at all and car mileage is outstanding averaging 36MPG in winter and near 40MPG in summer. Just had it repainted in December. VW has the most cars in service over 100K and 200K miles many at 300K and more."

My most favorite vehicle.

By on Saturday, April 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 139,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive, classy comfy, smooth, dependable."

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love my Passat. I had never driven one before, was buying a car, liked the look and took it for a test drive, I was sold. It has a very smooth ride, turns on a dime, super comfortable to sit in and all the bells and whistles. i have owned it for two years now with no problems. I will definitely buy another."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Love my TDI

By on Wednesday, March 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,150

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great gas mileage, handles well"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My previous car was an Audi A4, and while I thought of this car as a 'step down' the German engineering is consistent and I am pleased with the performance and styling of the Passat. When I walked on the lot, I never thought I'd buy a car with a diesel engine. But I LOVE it. I am on the road a lot and the gas mileage is WONDERFUL - especially for a full size sedan."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

be ready to spend spend spend

By on Monday, March 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
4/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"prone to breaking down run"

sweet ride

By on Thursday, March 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 174,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "rain sensing wipers"

Cons: "cup holders are sort of small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"heated seats are the best in any car i've had. great options like power folding mirrors and key operated windows from the outside make this car fun to play with.."

Great car

By on Friday, February 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "comfort and performance"

Cons: "car will need repair maintenance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Great car. Drives great. Has smooth ride and lots of power."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

I looked long and hard for this vehicle

By on Friday, February 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "I find the VW TDI Wagon fun to drive, safe feeling"

Cons: "Mirrors are wierd - hard to back up sometimes."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought my TDI Wagon in VA...not sold in NYS then. Have had an accident on a blind curve in IND but no problems since. Dealers in VA were basically good and fair. Since I moved back to NYS I have had no problems. Did replace the rear hatch switch in the driver door...had the a/c compressor go out at 53,000, but VW went halves on replacement. Tires last 30-40,000 using Conti's, Kelly, Pirelli and Goodyears. Continue to get 40+ mileage on Green Diesel w/ additives - no gelling, I would recommend my TDI Passat Wagon to anyone with 20,000 mile/ year needs."

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 78 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Passat near Honolulu. See local deals