Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2003 Volkswagen Passat

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.5
Out of 10

Based on 793 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.8/10
    Quality
    7.9/10
  • Reliability
    7.5/10
    Performance
    8.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 80 | Next

Money pit

By on Friday, December 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "interior space"

Cons: "expensive maintenance, chronic issues"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I simply wish I had never bought this car. I end up spending more money to fix it than I paid for it. Stay away .."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Low boy with a long quality ride

By on Sunday, December 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,300

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "quality-safe heavy car-"

Cons: "plastic hook for sunvisor-cover for GDO"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am selling my VW because of my advancing age.(80). It is low and difficult for a senior's in and out. It is one of the best cars I have ever owned. Diesel fast with comfortable leather seats and ample cargo space. A safe heavy car with 32/46 real diesel.(biofuel lowers these figures bet 2-5 mpg)"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Car for the Price

By on Monday, December 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun, great for road trips, worth every penny"

Cons: "The VW stealership."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Fun and offers great gas mileage. This particular car seems to have soul and responds well to the driver. Very good looking car timeless design that still looks new."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Solidly built, smooth on the road

By on Wednesday, November 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Built like a tank, good ride, handling, accelerati"

Cons: "Some interior materials fail early"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Solid German engineering sums up this car. It has a quite comfortable secure feeling ride and good handling. The brakes are excellent. The turbo 4 gas engine has some small amount of turbo lag but gives good mileage and acceleration when needed. One downside is some engine vibration in gear when at a stop. Otherwise the engine is very smooth out on the road. A caution though is to use fully synthetic engine oil as recommended by VW and change the oil at the intervals they say to. If you don't you may end up with engine sludge and having to replace the engine. I have always used the correct oil and change interval and have had no engine problems. As a note here to tuners I replaced the standard struts and shocks with Koni sport models and the front anti-sway bar with a HD one from H&R. Those small changes made this an even better car. It feels like it is nailed to the road."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Love my 02 GLX!

By on Tuesday, November 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Up to date looks. Reliable. Built well."

Cons: "Expensive repairs."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

My old blue one. My baby (black). Boyfriend's GTI. We love VW!!!

"I absolutely love my car. This is actually my second one. Loved the first one so much (besides the fact the person I bought it from withheld a lot of information) I decided I wanted the same one. My car is my baby. If you stay on top of your routine maintenance like your supposed you, you will never have a problem. It is more pricey compared to other vehicles and you can hardly buy your products from your local car shop. The key is plan ahead and buy online (super cheap). I have learned to do all my own mechanical work, really not that hard and youtube is great! You have to stay on top of your oil changes and check regularly, when the leaks come they are hard to get rid of. The interior is great and designed clean. I love the cup holders and the heated seats. To this day I am still finding new things about this car! Engine is built solid. It is temperamental with its fuses, so always have them handy. Overall take care of it and it will take care of you. This thing will last forever. BTW the first one I owned had over 200k miles on it.."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

My old blue one. My baby (black). Boyfriend's GTI. We love VW!!!

Review of 2002 VW Passat GLS Wagon.

By on Tuesday, November 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,500

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "fun to drive,good handling"

Cons: "Takes Premium gas,repair parts too expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Overall it is a dependable automobile.Not a vehicle for casual shadetree mechanic to work on.Parts are way too expensive ."

4 people out of 10 found this review helpful

WORST VEHICLE I'VE EVER OWNED.

By on Friday, October 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Nice interior, seat warmers were the best ones!"

Cons: "Too many mechanical problems!! Money pit."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Bought used, every problem that could happen did. Never should have ever bought this car. I will not be buying another Volkswagen again. Nice interior and comfortable, just way too many mechanical problems."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

possibly the beset car ever.

By on Thursday, October 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 169,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, easy to work on, build quality"

Cons: "the dealership, avoid if possible"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"if properly maintained this is the best car ever. if not you can expect engine failure. take care of your car and it will take care of you! Usually."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

engine an audi..interior finishes fall apart..

By on Sunday, October 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "engine drives like the Audi that it is- fantastic"

Cons: "Interior doesn't hold up even in GLS model"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Drives like the Audi engine that it has. Maneuvers fantastically, turn radius, pick up, ability to do mountain roads - all excellent. Rides very low <5 inches. Cracked the oil pan twice on CA "dips" a $500 fix each time. Interior buttons, radio, trim deteriorated faster than Japanese comparables- and expensive to fix. I do a lot of camping, mountain roads, surfing- and it has plenty of room for all of this. But no off road, dirt roads, stay on the nice state park roads. It has treated me well."

4 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Loved this car! Great to handle and comfortable

By on Saturday, October 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 147,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"to sit in. Lots of leg room for tall people."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 80 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Passat near Honolulu. See local deals