Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2003 Volkswagen Passat

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.5
Out of 10

Based on 798 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.8/10
    Quality
    7.9/10
  • Reliability
    7.5/10
    Performance
    8.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Owned for 11 years with no major problems

By on Wednesday, April 22, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Owned for 11 years with no major problems"

Love this car!

By on Tuesday, March 10, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, sporty, good cargo space"

Cons: "sometimes parts are expensive."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 2004 VW Passat Wagon brand new and I love it! I have the 5-speed manual and I love how sporty it is, yet can haul a lot of cargo. I have had very few problems with this car, it has been completely reliable even after 105K miles, and I expect it to be around for another 11 years at least. It handles really well, and the German engineering is top-notch. I would absolutely buy this car again, and will likely get the newest version when I eventually say goodbye to my '04 baby."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

best look VW PASSAT

By on Friday, January 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 133,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"MUST SEE DETAIL"

1 person out of 8 found this review helpful

Money Pit

By on Monday, January 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,500

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "lots of leg room"

Cons: "too expensive to repair"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"ABS system went.....over $2000 Heater core went.....good bye another $2000 plus Now it needs exhaust system including catalytic converters... estimate is $3000 good bye to this money pit"

20 people out of 22 found this review helpful

Outstanding Vehicles worth every penny

By on Wednesday, January 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 195,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability, Cost, Fun, Great Car!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Impressive! With nearly 200,000 miles on the odometer, car is still worth about 7,000 dollars on the market (8000K in the best possible shape). It is worth buying German Diesel Technology. The engine is very reliable, as we never did anything on it, except replacing the timing belt, one sets of break pads at 160,000 miles (thanks to the tiptronic transmission), one set of tires every 100,000 miles, and one clean up to remove dust build up in the air intakes. When you think about the retail price of the car (I bought it new in 2005,) the depreciation cost of the vehicle without counting diesel fuel cost is less than 10 cents a mile. Not bad! With an average consumption of 43 miles per gallon, even at $3.50 a gallon, the overall cost is still very cheap at less than 20 cents a mile. Over the last ten years, I crossed Minnesota from the Twin City to Fargo Morehead and to Detroit Lakes in every possible blizzards and subfreezing temperatures, the car never said “no”, and held slippery pavement at all time with my 4 Energy All Season Michelin Tires. My brother in law has one too... he drives in the north of Minnesota where it is really, really, cold. His VW Passat TDI is over 230,000 miles. That tells you something!"

8 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Money pit

By on Friday, December 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "interior space"

Cons: "expensive maintenance, chronic issues"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I simply wish I had never bought this car. I end up spending more money to fix it than I paid for it. Stay away .."

15 people out of 22 found this review helpful

Low boy with a long quality ride

By on Sunday, December 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,300

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "quality-safe heavy car-"

Cons: "plastic hook for sunvisor-cover for GDO"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am selling my VW because of my advancing age.(80). It is low and difficult for a senior's in and out. It is one of the best cars I have ever owned. Diesel fast with comfortable leather seats and ample cargo space. A safe heavy car with 32/46 real diesel.(biofuel lowers these figures bet 2-5 mpg)"

6 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Best Car for the Price

By on Monday, December 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun, great for road trips, worth every penny"

Cons: "The VW stealership."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Fun and offers great gas mileage. This particular car seems to have soul and responds well to the driver. Very good looking car timeless design that still looks new."

8 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Solidly built, smooth on the road

By on Wednesday, November 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Built like a tank, good ride, handling, accelerati"

Cons: "Some interior materials fail early"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Solid German engineering sums up this car. It has a quite comfortable secure feeling ride and good handling. The brakes are excellent. The turbo 4 gas engine has some small amount of turbo lag but gives good mileage and acceleration when needed. One downside is some engine vibration in gear when at a stop. Otherwise the engine is very smooth out on the road. A caution though is to use fully synthetic engine oil as recommended by VW and change the oil at the intervals they say to. If you don't you may end up with engine sludge and having to replace the engine. I have always used the correct oil and change interval and have had no engine problems. As a note here to tuners I replaced the standard struts and shocks with Koni sport models and the front anti-sway bar with a HD one from H&R. Those small changes made this an even better car. It feels like it is nailed to the road."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Love my 02 GLX!

By on Tuesday, November 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Up to date looks. Reliable. Built well."

Cons: "Expensive repairs."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

My old blue one. My baby (black). Boyfriend's GTI. We love VW!!!

"I absolutely love my car. This is actually my second one. Loved the first one so much (besides the fact the person I bought it from withheld a lot of information) I decided I wanted the same one. My car is my baby. If you stay on top of your routine maintenance like your supposed you, you will never have a problem. It is more pricey compared to other vehicles and you can hardly buy your products from your local car shop. The key is plan ahead and buy online (super cheap). I have learned to do all my own mechanical work, really not that hard and youtube is great! You have to stay on top of your oil changes and check regularly, when the leaks come they are hard to get rid of. The interior is great and designed clean. I love the cup holders and the heated seats. To this day I am still finding new things about this car! Engine is built solid. It is temperamental with its fuses, so always have them handy. Overall take care of it and it will take care of you. This thing will last forever. BTW the first one I owned had over 200k miles on it.."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

My old blue one. My baby (black). Boyfriend's GTI. We love VW!!!

Review of 2002 VW Passat GLS Wagon.

By on Tuesday, November 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,500

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "fun to drive,good handling"

Cons: "Takes Premium gas,repair parts too expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Overall it is a dependable automobile.Not a vehicle for casual shadetree mechanic to work on.Parts are way too expensive ."

9 people out of 19 found this review helpful

WORST VEHICLE I'VE EVER OWNED.

By on Friday, October 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Nice interior, seat warmers were the best ones!"

Cons: "Too many mechanical problems!! Money pit."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Bought used, every problem that could happen did. Never should have ever bought this car. I will not be buying another Volkswagen again. Nice interior and comfortable, just way too many mechanical problems."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

possibly the beset car ever.

By on Thursday, October 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 169,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, easy to work on, build quality"

Cons: "the dealership, avoid if possible"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"if properly maintained this is the best car ever. if not you can expect engine failure. take care of your car and it will take care of you! Usually."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

engine an audi..interior finishes fall apart..

By on Sunday, October 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "engine drives like the Audi that it is- fantastic"

Cons: "Interior doesn't hold up even in GLS model"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Drives like the Audi engine that it has. Maneuvers fantastically, turn radius, pick up, ability to do mountain roads - all excellent. Rides very low <5 inches. Cracked the oil pan twice on CA "dips" a $500 fix each time. Interior buttons, radio, trim deteriorated faster than Japanese comparables- and expensive to fix. I do a lot of camping, mountain roads, surfing- and it has plenty of room for all of this. But no off road, dirt roads, stay on the nice state park roads. It has treated me well."

4 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Loved this car! Great to handle and comfortable

By on Saturday, October 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 147,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"to sit in. Lots of leg room for tall people."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I bought this car new and have had no major issues

By on Saturday, September 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable and safe, fun to drive, sporty look"

Cons: "repairs are a little pricey for common parts"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Would love to buy a new one but nearest dealer is over 50 miles away, had one in our town but it closed."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Love this car!

By on Tuesday, August 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, nice size"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car new, kept up with necessary maintenance when needed and the car is still running in excellent condition."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Foreign car that's quite expensive to maintain.

By on Saturday, August 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,500

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Nice to drive"

Cons: "Oil burner. Costly to repair."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Oil burner from day one! Gas guzzler. Hatch hydraulic lift pistons susceptible to give up. Seat warmers fail. Heater core fail. Water leak in head liner. Multiple Engine Light warnings. Reliability and Maintenance wise, this car does not compare with my supreme, 1997 Toyota Avalon. For that matter it can't measure up to any Toyota or Honda. Never buy a VW in the rest of my lifetime!"

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Passat TDI B4 wagon is amazing!

By on Friday, August 08, 2014

I want this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Solid German driving dynamics! DAS AUTO! Torque!"

Cons: "Lack of horsepower"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"There are not many German engineered vehicles like the Volkswagen Passat TDI sedan and wagon. They have best heated seats. The blue and pink diode gauges are a nice added touch to the interior. I wish that VW had this car in a GLX that would offer the automatic Climatronic and the rain sensor, auto dimming interior mirror, pwr. seats and last but not least the pwr. folding mirrors. The B4 passat wagon is hands down the best built and reliable Passat on the market. I would highly recommend this vehicle."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I love this car, but now have 2 cars and 1 driver.

By on Wednesday, July 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,350

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "excellent value"

Cons: "rear headrests limit visibility (remove)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car and have owned it for 9 of its 10 years. Its a great road car, powerful and comfortable, with very low mileage. A beautiful car for a very low price. Current photo will be uploaded."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever until 100,000 miles

By on Sunday, July 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "feels solid (not tinny), handles beautifully"

Cons: "thought it would hold out till 200,000"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car used 8 years ago. I had no issues with it (loved it loved it loved it!) until it hit about 100,000 miles.. since then it has become a money pit (calipers, rotors, brakes, axles, and now needs a clutch)... Nevertheless, I would fix the clutch and keep it if I could get the brake warning lights to stop coming on! Every few weeks a light comes on the one that screams STOP-brake failure... too scary for me even if the mechanic says brakes are fine. So, it is time to go for a new car. However, I will be checking out another Passat!"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Bought it at 129,000 miles, now 146,000

By on Monday, June 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "For a wagon, fun to drive."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I knew that the Passat has a sketchy reliability record. It's a German car and needs to be cared for. Did the timing belt, new front brakes and alignment and other things as recommended. A very sweet car (2002 Passat Wagon)."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Excellent car

By on Sunday, June 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, easy to drive; still looks good"

Cons: "Heater and purge accumulator valve problems"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have enjoyed driving it and owning it. Minor problems include heater problems and the check engine light comes on regularly telling me to replace the purge accumulator valve. I have replaced it at least 3 times. I have found the heater/air conditioning controls to be difficult to use. It still gets 20 mph in town, which is what it got when I first bought it. Gets 25 mph on the highway."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Expesive to repair and maintain.

By on Saturday, May 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Handles great in bad wheather"

Cons: "High Maintance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I so much wanted to love this car, but it has been without a doubt the most needy and expensive car I have ever owned to maintain. Granted I drive a lot, but I have put just as many miles on other vehicles and did not have to rebuild a transmission or replace a crank shaft. I will say it handles great in snow and is fun to drive; however, painful on the pocketbook. I will soon be buying a new car and cannot see myself buying another VW. I wish i did not have to say this."

10 people out of 17 found this review helpful

do not buy, turbo troubles at 100K, $3K to $4K

By on Thursday, May 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 128,500

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"do not buy, turbo troubles at 100K, $3K to $4K to repair. Good driving car, but reliability is terrible. Surprised at VW, would never buy another one."

9 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Passat near Honolulu. See local deals