Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
Go

2002 Volkswagen Passat

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.5
Out of 10

Based on 783 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.8/10
    Quality
    7.9/10
  • Reliability
    7.5/10
    Performance
    8.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 157 | Next

I bought this car new and have had no major issues

By on Saturday, September 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable and safe, fun to drive, sporty look"

Cons: "repairs are a little pricey for common parts"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Would love to buy a new one but nearest dealer is over 50 miles away, had one in our town but it closed."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Love this car!

By on Tuesday, August 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, nice size"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car new, kept up with necessary maintenance when needed and the car is still running in excellent condition."

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Foreign car that's quite expensive to maintain.

By on Saturday, August 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,500

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Nice to drive"

Cons: "Oil burner. Costly to repair."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Oil burner from day one! Gas guzzler. Hatch hydraulic lift pistons susceptible to give up. Seat warmers fail. Heater core fail. Water leak in head liner. Multiple Engine Light warnings. Reliability and Maintenance wise, this car does not compare with my supreme, 1997 Toyota Avalon. For that matter it can't measure up to any Toyota or Honda. Never buy a VW in the rest of my lifetime!"

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Passat TDI B4 wagon is amazing!

By on Friday, August 08, 2014

I want this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Solid German driving dynamics! DAS AUTO! Torque!"

Cons: "Lack of horsepower"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"There are not many German engineered vehicles like the Volkswagen Passat TDI sedan and wagon. They have best heated seats. The blue and pink diode gauges are a nice added touch to the interior. I wish that VW had this car in a GLX that would offer the automatic Climatronic and the rain sensor, auto dimming interior mirror, pwr. seats and last but not least the pwr. folding mirrors. The B4 passat wagon is hands down the best built and reliable Passat on the market. I would highly recommend this vehicle."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I love this car, but now have 2 cars and 1 driver.

By on Wednesday, July 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,350

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "excellent value"

Cons: "rear headrests limit visibility (remove)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car and have owned it for 9 of its 10 years. Its a great road car, powerful and comfortable, with very low mileage. A beautiful car for a very low price. Current photo will be uploaded."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 157 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Passat near Honolulu. See local deals