Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2002 Volkswagen Passat

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.5
Out of 10

Based on 799 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.8/10
    Quality
    7.9/10
  • Reliability
    7.5/10
    Performance
    8.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 32 | Next

do not buy, turbo troubles at 100K, $3K to $4K

By on Thursday, May 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 128,500

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"do not buy, turbo troubles at 100K, $3K to $4K to repair. Good driving car, but reliability is terrible. Surprised at VW, would never buy another one."

9 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Awesome vehicle

By on Tuesday, May 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "safe, awesome car, very efficient,"

Cons: "No aux in"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this car for a little over two years now. Bought it with about 82,000 miles in it and it now has about 104,000. I drove it across the country last year when I moved from the Midwest to Florida. I have traveled quite a bit with it to Ohio, Georgia, Minnesota, Florida, Iowa, and Alabama. It is very reliable and dependable. I absolutely love it. When driving in the highway, I feel very safe in it, because of how stable it feels on the pavement. Gas is amazing. It goes on forever on one tank. I took a 20 hour trip and I probable spent about 150 or less on gas. The downside of owning a VW is that parts are expensive and you need a specific person to fix it for you. The safety is a plus, it's a very heavy vehicle, so you'll be very safe inside the cabin. When it comes the time to change cars, I'm sticking with VW."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

I love this car!

By on Wednesday, April 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great value, fun to drive, nice comfort touches"

Cons: "Parts, when you do need them, can be expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Drives wonderfully, high-quality, comfortable, and reliable car. Great pick-up and looks beautiful too. I have had it for 6 years and no major problems. In fact, I'm selling this one and going to get the exact same new car!"

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Lemon

By on Monday, April 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 191,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great gas milage, roomie, fun to drive"

Cons: "engine problems, not reliable, expensive to fix"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I got this car when it was 6 years old. I loved the look of it and thought VW made decent cars. Less than a year into driving it, I had an oil sludge problem which lead to a number of other engine problems. I bought this car for 8,000 and all together I say I had to put 9,000 into the engine/radiator. All in all I could have ended up buying a brand new car for 17,000. I'm now finally selling it (more like getting rid of it) because I have electrical problems which will cost much more to fix than the car is worth. She had a good run, but lots of problems along the way. It's kinda sad to see her go but I know it's time."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

WARNING: DO NOT BUY

By on Sunday, April 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
1/10

Cons: "Not reliable whatsoever, very pricey for repairs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I'm a college kid and bought my 2004 Volkswagen Passat GLX for a great price (should have been a warning sign from the start). Please let this review be the one to curb people from purchasing one of their own; DO NOT BUY THIS CAR. It is an absolute money pit. One thing after another--car mounts bad, camshaft solenoid bad, etc. Many many trips to the mechanic on top of all of the normal car care work (new tires, oil every 3,000 miles, premium gasoline). Consumer reports got it right when it rated Volkswagen one of the least reliable makers in the business. Please do not buy this car."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Love this car. The best of the sm class

By on Sunday, April 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Handling and performance is very good"

Cons: "gas mileage could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I would recommend and buy again. The unrealibility issues are over blown as far as I can tell. German cars cost more and they cost more to fix. They are not more prone to brake-downs. Over ten years old now, my real complaint is that they aren't made anymore."

Great Economical value - over 38MPG in summer

By on Saturday, April 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Classic european style and snappy for a diesel"

Cons: "Need high octane diesel in winter"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought car in 2007 so I am the second owner. No problems at all and car mileage is outstanding averaging 36MPG in winter and near 40MPG in summer. Just had it repainted in December. VW has the most cars in service over 100K and 200K miles many at 300K and more."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

My most favorite vehicle.

By on Saturday, April 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 139,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive, classy comfy, smooth, dependable."

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love my Passat. I had never driven one before, was buying a car, liked the look and took it for a test drive, I was sold. It has a very smooth ride, turns on a dime, super comfortable to sit in and all the bells and whistles. i have owned it for two years now with no problems. I will definitely buy another."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love my TDI

By on Wednesday, March 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,150

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great gas mileage, handles well"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My previous car was an Audi A4, and while I thought of this car as a 'step down' the German engineering is consistent and I am pleased with the performance and styling of the Passat. When I walked on the lot, I never thought I'd buy a car with a diesel engine. But I LOVE it. I am on the road a lot and the gas mileage is WONDERFUL - especially for a full size sedan."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

be ready to spend spend spend

By on Monday, March 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
4/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"prone to breaking down run"

sweet ride

By on Thursday, March 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 174,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "rain sensing wipers"

Cons: "cup holders are sort of small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"heated seats are the best in any car i've had. great options like power folding mirrors and key operated windows from the outside make this car fun to play with.."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Friday, February 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "comfort and performance"

Cons: "car will need repair maintenance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Great car. Drives great. Has smooth ride and lots of power."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

I looked long and hard for this vehicle

By on Friday, February 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "I find the VW TDI Wagon fun to drive, safe feeling"

Cons: "Mirrors are wierd - hard to back up sometimes."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought my TDI Wagon in VA...not sold in NYS then. Have had an accident on a blind curve in IND but no problems since. Dealers in VA were basically good and fair. Since I moved back to NYS I have had no problems. Did replace the rear hatch switch in the driver door...had the a/c compressor go out at 53,000, but VW went halves on replacement. Tires last 30-40,000 using Conti's, Kelly, Pirelli and Goodyears. Continue to get 40+ mileage on Green Diesel w/ additives - no gelling, I would recommend my TDI Passat Wagon to anyone with 20,000 mile/ year needs."

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

A Distant Cousin to the BMW M3

By on Saturday, January 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,750

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "V6 Engine Power"

Cons: "Expensive Repairs/Maintenance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I own an E46 M3 and this Passat is the little engine that could of the M3. Driving in tiptronic mode is a blast and the car will reward you with precision inputs. It is quite expensive to maintain. It's reliability is average, and that's quite disappointing given that my '02 Passat GLX was built in Germany."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Least reliable vehicle I ever owned

By on Monday, January 20, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Constantly in need of dealer service

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Handled well"

Cons: "Unreliable, turbo lag , unreliable, $$$"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Torn CV joint boots - $900 Two emission repairs - $1,700 Bad engine cam chain - $1,500 Timing belt and water pump - $1,300 Quit when dealer said I had leaking hydraulic engine mounts, leaking rear differential and needed portions of the exhaust replaced Car was kept in a garage each evening and had all dealer recommended synthetic oil changes to avoid sludge problem and also had dealer tune up and other recommended maintenance."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I love it!

By on Saturday, January 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive, fast, good handling"

Cons: "takes premium gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love this car! The interior design is nice, a bit small for the price, but it's a good fit for me! Having all wheel drive is very beneficial, and the V8 engine is phenomenal. A certain downfall is that the vehicle takes only premium gas, so 91 or higher on the pump. Repairs are also somewhat expensive, but the car is very reliable!"

Best car I have ever owned

By on Friday, January 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 143,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Handling, build quality,"

Cons: "Maintenance seems kind of high."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new 11 years ago. I have owned 35 cars and this one is the best overall. Too bad VW doesn't sell Passat Wagons in the US anymore. I often tell people that German cars are best and that VW is the only one that is a good value."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Think Twice!

By on Monday, December 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 129,582

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Size, Good Back Seat, Easy to drive and park"

Cons: "Horrible quality"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"We bought this car from our local garage, thinking that since they bought it, it must be good. We were soon proven wrong when the heat and A/C stopped working, the passenger seat motor broke. We had the skid plate just fall off on a road trip to Canada. Needless to say we just cut it off with a hunting knife. (Quality) HA! It also refuses to start, and just the other day had the starter go in it. We are used to driving Fords, and starters being an hour fix and not too expensive. $600 later we listed the car on craigslist. We bought this used 2 years ago, put less than 30,000 miles on it and the value has nearly depreciated 50%!!! IN 2 YEARS!!! I understand that some may be perfect cars, but people please do the research and see what is most likely to fall apart"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Nothing but problems

By on Wednesday, December 11, 2013

I owned and sold this car
Reason: burns oil!

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "It's roomy"

Cons: "IT BURNS OIL"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I traded a perfectly good Mustang for a passet because I had a little boy. I figured the 4 door would make it easier on me with the carseat. The only good thing about this car is that it is roomy. But other than that it has been nothing but a money pit for me from day one. Right after I bought it, it kept breaking down I took it to the shop and found out the car was burning oil, needed a tune up, the coils were out on it. Let's just say I didn't expect to have to spend $700 on the car right after I bought it and now 5 months later it is burning oil again !! I traded it in and got me a 2012 ford focus today !! lets hope this treats me better than the passet! all I can say is buyer beware if your getting a passet."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

best,most reliable Ive owned

By on Sunday, December 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Sports car handling and response, 28-32mpg hwy"

Cons: "Brakes need replacement freequently"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"excellent ride, handling,comfort. Has never left me stranded. controls convient. My wife loves it"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Too good to sell!

By on Monday, November 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 69,150

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Price, Quality, Economy, Appearance, Dependability"

Cons: "Sun Visors to short to use on side windows."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Looks good out in the woods.

"Quiet, comfortable, over 30mpg highway, good performance when turbo kicks in entering freeway. Never any problems on the road. Fit and finish excellent - looks same as new except for normal dings and scratches. Never any leaks or unusual noises. Styling similar to 2012 Passat, people do not believe me when I tell them it is a 2002 model. A few minor recalls, dealer fixed no charge. Used the extended warranty for 2 flat tires, axle boots changed once. Replaced motor mounts last year - fluid was seeping out the tops. A few other minor repairs made in recent years. I was considering a new car but after looking at medium size sedans no suitable replacement was found. I fully expect this car will last longer than I will. My wife refuses to give up her low mileage 95 Nissan 240sx; people walk up to our house and in parking lots asking if she would like to sell. Looks like my car buying days are about over."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Looks good out in the woods.

It rides....for a long time!

By on Monday, October 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,999

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Reliable, though a little pricey w/premium gas"

Cons: "Wish she didn't require so many garage visits"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this Passat in late-2001, had water immersion problems early on, which dealer fixed. Other than that, and the occasional brakes/engine repair as part of routine maint., this car is still in my driveway, though I now have another VW, a Touareg, to bigger hauls. This stil is my everyday, drivearound car, and I won't sell it."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Car to drive

By on Wednesday, October 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great car to drive, lots of giddy-up"

Cons: "Hard on the wallet with gas and repairs, 12mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Body immaculate, color is gray, Interior in good shape no rips or tears, black leather. Newer tires, new front barkes last november, new rear brakes June 2013 and front left side drive axle same time. needs right side drive axle replaced soon. Battery replaced last year too. car handles great and has great acceleration, lots of power."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

great car very reliable, and great to drive

By on Saturday, September 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 147,640

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very reliable, drives great, neat."

Cons: "a little extra for gas, no audio plugin."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great car very fun to drive, fuel costs a bit more but very worth it , despite the milage its one of the most reliable cars i have."

dont buy the 1.8L turbo!!

By on Friday, September 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive, looks nice"

Cons: "expensive, unreliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"I own a 2003 1.8L turbo.. my dream car until it turned into a nightmare.. this model has a notorious oil pressure problem that u cannot fix yourself unless you feel like taking the subframe off. the sensors all go off for no reason and your dash lights up like a Christmas tree. oil for this car is crazy expensive along with anything that might need to be fixed... when I called vw I freaked and told them they should recall the oil pump and they laughed. don't buy unless you have lots of money to throw away"

10 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 32 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Passat near Honolulu. See local deals