Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2001 Volkswagen Passat

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
6.9
Out of 10

Based on 484 Ratings for the 1998 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.3/10
    Quality
    7.3/10
  • Reliability
    7.0/10
    Performance
    7.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.1/10
    Styling
    8.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 20 | Next

not bad. but not the best.

By on Tuesday, December 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "smooth and fast"

Cons: "expensive and uncomfortable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"expensive to fix. Seats are uncomfortable. I have had it for 2 years now and i am still happy with it. it does not hold its value well at all for how much maintinece costs."

I love it

By on Wednesday, December 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Germanluxury at an affortable price"

Cons: "expensive to fix sometimes"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"very good reliable"

Great car!

By on Tuesday, December 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 211,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good gas mileage, very roomy and comfortable"

Cons: "The cup holders are the worst"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the best car I have owned. Good gas mileage, good power for a 4 cyl. Drives and runs well. Very roomy, comfortable interior and I'm 6'3. Factory Monsoon stereo sounds great. More console storage would be nice and better, bigger cup holders. My only regret is that I waited so long to buy one and I should have gotten the 4motion."

Sporty and economical, drives like a gocart

By on Wednesday, December 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Lots of power, fun to drive, reliable."

Cons: "Check engine lights"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this car since day one. 165,000 miles now 12 years later, original clutch! For some reason parts have come way down in price, so a good used vehicle to own. The check engine lights are always on on these cars, you need to service the emissions tubing and system regularly. If you do not, it may cause oil leaks on the engine which, on the V6 engines can be near impossible to fix without major dissasembly of the entire engine! This car has a ton of pep even at 165k, good on gas with the 4 cyl turbo. Easy clutch to drive. I would buy another one in a heartbeat."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

i love my car

By on Sunday, December 11, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 179,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Even after 12 years and 179,000 miles, I love driving this car. It handles so well. It still looks stylish."

best vehicle!

By on Friday, December 09, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, reliable, nice looking"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I LOVE my passat! I have a 99 VW passat sedan, v6, automatic! It has a 150,000 miles on it and still runs strong. Great in the snow, and fun to drive all year! All around great car! The only thing I dislike is I only get about 21 mpg with it:/"

good car

By on Thursday, December 08, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 167,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"love the car but repairs do tend to be twice the cost of a domestic car. but the parts installed also last twice as long. quality is great but its not holding value like i would expect. i have never gotten stuck in the snow and the car has great stability in all weather conditions."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sweet car

By on Tuesday, December 06, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is a tremendous value. reliable, comfortable, fuel efficient, and sporty. I live at 6000 ft in Western Colorado and routinely drive two 10,000 ft passes to Denver in deep winter on snow covered roads with no problem. It's a great all around vehicle."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

nice design; pain to maintain

By on Monday, December 05, 2011

I owned and sold this car
Reason: maintenance costs

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "great styling (for 2000), average luxury"

Cons: "average luxury, premium gas, high maintenance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"when it came out, i loved the styling of the car. the first 3-4 years of upkeep were fine, but once the vehicle hit about 75k miles, maintenance costs quickly became a problem. after $3k in catalytic converters, and $2k in sensors, i gave up and traded it in for a non-VW car. this car also requires premium gas. if you want an older vw, get a jetta. same engine but less weight = faster and more efficient."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Now my favorite VW

By on Sunday, December 04, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 192,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

look for the 4Motion

"I love this car. I have had it for 3 years now with no problems. Rain, shine, snow, ice, dirt and mud. Road trips, ski trips, mountain adventures and highway fun this car has gotten me everywhere. Even though the base model is still worlds above its competition i recomend the top of the line GLS GLX and if your lucky and patient enough the 4Motion AWD is the only way to go.Heated mirrors, heated seats, seat memory, after a year i was still finding new options on it. More solid than your average VW. Audi engineering for VW prices :Hint find a VW shop for repairs"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

look for the 4Motion

great car to own

By on Wednesday, November 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am 22, and from the view point of a 22 year old college stdent; this car is quite great. I have the 2.8 6v passat. I like the over all feel of the car and it has good power, at least enough to eat up the hondas and acuras out there. It handles nicely except for a little more than comfotable body roll at 60 or so... my only problem with the car, and if you are trying to get one to tune it at all, is you cant. All after market parts are extremely expensive and unless your willing to dump 5 grand into it, the is not for racing of really any kind. But, as a city and just a nice ride car, it is awesome. And, really my only complaint would be the gas mileage. but i give it "*****" =)"

I love this car despite it's flaws

By on Tuesday, November 29, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I agree with the other reviews. I also have the V6 with all-wheel drive and I always feel very safe in it, especially in the winter. It goes up hilly, snow covered roads no problem. I've had problems with the breaks. I also had to disconnect a fan under the hood that kept running and killing my battery. Repairs are always expensive and cannot be done yourself. Despite this, the car is very reliable and safe and I love it."

Great car-reliable, but wd like better gas mileage

By on Monday, November 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have the V6, all wheel drive modes. This car feels very safe to drive. it is heavy and really hugs the road in all conditions. But, only gets ~26 mpg on the highway"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I've had better

By on Wednesday, November 16, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "good looking car"

Cons: "cost too much to own"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Over 12 years that I've had this car I've spent $19,937.77 on repaires. I can't afford a new car but I still like the car but I think I will buy something different next time."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

very reliable - hardley ever any problems

By on Monday, November 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 225,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"the car is / has been great!"

Great vehicle!!

By on Sunday, November 13, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliability, great gas mileage"

Cons: "I which mine had a moonroof!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had this vehicle since it had 30k miles with no problems. Great vehicle with lots of room. Great gas mileage too."

My favorite...and least favorite car

By on Sunday, November 13, 2011

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Divorce settlement

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "A BLAST to drive!"

Cons: "Expensive repairs and a lot of them"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the most fun car I have ever driven. It handles amazingly and is so much fun to drive. I hated to have to get rid of it. I had somewhat of a love-hate relationship with this car. Here's why: Pros: fast, great handling, a blast to drive, loads of features, side airbags, heated leather seats, sun roof. This car felt like a tank. I felt very safe driving it. Now the cons: everything this car did not need to run, went out on it. Everything suspension related (it's heavy) went out at least twice, engine mounts are cheap and break easily, power steering system sprung a leak and had to be topped off every 3 or so months, abs control module went out, catalytic converters (both) failed...among other things. Long story short, it's too heavy of a car to use cheap plastic parts...they're going to break when this much weight is put on them. And to top it off, its very expensive to work on. Altogether my repair bills were over $3000 and another $4000 of work was still needed. I now work at a VW repair shop and this is common...I hear this stuff every day. Bottom line, I absolutely loved that car and in spite of everything that went wrong, it was reliable. Like I said, everything that car did not absolutely need to run went out."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I love it

By on Wednesday, November 09, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "awkward cupholders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my third vehicle and I wish it was my first. Repairs can be pricey but I haven't had an issue. I Love my manual V6."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned!

By on Wednesday, November 09, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Extremely reliable. Still runs perfectly."

Cons: "Can't really think of any. Loved the car!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this car for 11 years and it is by far the best car I have ever owned. I have not had a single engine issue beyond regular wear and tear. All I have done is put synthetic oil and premium gas in this car and I have been without a car payment for seven years because it has been so reliable! Granted, I have garaged the car for the entire time I have owned it and the mileage is low due to a limited commute. There are now some minor electrical issues with the car which Volkswagen is notorious for but, overall, the car has been great. I can only hope that my new Volkswagen will serve me as well!"

great family car!

By on Tuesday, November 08, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Our family has had a Passat for eight years, and it has been a great car. Except for one incident that was our fault, it has required only regular maintenance. The wagon makes a great family car, and leather seats mean the inside has remained in excellent condition. This is a luxurious car! We miss the V6 when we take the minivan..."

best icy/snow road car ever

By on Saturday, November 05, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,500

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "safe winter road car"

Cons: "Potentially expensive maintenance ahead."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The all wheel drive and low center of gravity make the car drive phenomenally. It was very expensive new for a VW (about $35k) with extended warranty and it is a high tech/potentially high maintenance vehicle. I have 82,500 miles and have fully maintained the car. It has had the ABS brake module replaced (big $) and both header pipes also had to be replaced. Car has been kept salt free but I know examples of other similar VW's with multiple window failures where salt has been left on car for extended periods."

Comfortable/smooth ride

By on Friday, November 04, 2011

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Expensive/Time-consuming Maintenance

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Comfortable ride, Good MPG, does well in Ice/Snow"

Cons: "Devours oil, repairs are expensive/time consuming"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I bought this car in 2007, my second vehicle ever, and it had about 70k on it. I lived in an area where snow/ice and high winds were an everyday occurance and this car held it's own like a champ. Smooth comfortable ride, heated leather interior, Heat/AC always worked, 0 mechanical/engine problems. Car would always start up, even if it was -30 Fahrenheit outside. My maintenance (oil, tires, pressure, fluids, etc.) were always up to date. Bad news is, once I hit the 100k mark, the car simply started falling apart everywhere. My Turbo began burning 2 quarts of oil a week, started having misfires at startup, OEM shocks/struts literally started to decay/rust and fall off, all kinds of sensors began failing, and a bunch of other annoying things here and there that can be attributed to the age of the car. I've spent many free weekends hunting down spare parts and fixing the Passat myself, only to drive 5k-10k miles and have another mysterious age-related problem creep up. I finally bit the bullet and sold it when I hit 150k. After spending almost $1500 on parts alone and many lonely weeends tinkering with this car(which is no joke to repair), the time spent repairing the vehicle vs. the few weeks I got to drive it before it broke again for something unrelated to what I had just repaired wasn't worth the hassle anymore. All in all, car was fun at first, most comfy ride I've ever driven, but after the 100k mark, you're entering a world of hurt ;)."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Love this car!!!

By on Thursday, November 03, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Handles Turns"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this car!!! Handling excellent esp on curves/turns. Power or Pick-up is also great. Never had any major problems but, then again...I am very good in the maintenance"

great

By on Thursday, October 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"dependable"

Worst vehicle I've ever purchased

By on Tuesday, October 25, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 153,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Comfortable ride"

Cons: "Everything except the comfortable ride"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I have had nothing but costly problems with this car. It stays in the shop. The repairs are never minor. The inside of the car is just falling apart. The window motors in 3 windows have broken. The car rides great but is the worst car that I have ever purchased in my life. I will never ever ever ever purchase another vw in my life. If someone was to give me a vw for free I would sell it."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 20 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Passat near Honolulu. See local deals