Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2000 Volkswagen Passat

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
6.9
Out of 10

Based on 489 Ratings for the 1998 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.3/10
    Quality
    7.4/10
  • Reliability
    7.0/10
    Performance
    7.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.1/10
    Styling
    8.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 98 | Next

Solid, comfortable, well loaded car.

By on Sunday, November 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 176,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good handling, comfortable, usable space, power."

Cons: "Cup holder is bad, maintenance can be difficult."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought used and with lots of miles on it, but the car is still fantastic 14 years after it was built. The V6 engine is the same one as in the Audi A4 and A6, and has easily withstood time. With the v6, there is enough power for any situation. Steering is very responsive and feels direct and mechanical. The car's design aged very well, and the interior is still appealing. The ride and seats are comfortable, and driving it is both easy and satisfying. Using it for long (8+ hour) trips is no problem."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

This has been a reliable and fun car to own.

By on Wednesday, November 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 173,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good price, fun to drive"

Cons: "No cup holders, leather seats showing some wear"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love my 1999 Passat. I hate to part with it, but because I am retired, my husband and I are downsizing to one car. I have owned this car for 14 years, and it has always been a reliable and fun car to drive. Because it is 15 years old, the car's clear coat has some minor defects. I have always babied the car to avoid dings and scratches, but recently go some scratches on the lower front bumper. Overall, no major dings or scratches."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I loved this car. Great to drive.

By on Tuesday, October 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Dependable, fun to drive"

Cons: "on the expensive side to maintain"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I have a 1999 Passat V-6. One of the other reviews mentions that the car is on the expensive side to maintain. True. But, I did what needed to be done and the car never let me down. It was a workingman's A-6 - same engine, drivetrain, transmission, suspension. I've bought a new car and it is time to let the Passat go. The new one isn't nearly as much fun to drive."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

One of my all time favorite cars!

By on Thursday, October 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 158,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Really good utility and great visibility."

Cons: "Air conditioning was not as robust as it could be."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"It hooked me on "german engineering." Really nice handling, good quality inside and out, features that I still don't see on many cars (like opening the driver's door with my key and the drivers seat and side windows automatically adjust to my saved position - for me and a second driver!). All Wheel Drive is nice not just on ice and snow, but feels like all the time (it may affect mileage a tiny bit). Quiet and still going. When it finally "quits" this one deserves a decent burial at the side of the road…."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great car!

By on Tuesday, September 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great power, great mpg, still looks stylish"

Cons: "only a cassette deck"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I love this car. It has so much energy (likely because I have the turbo engine and a manual transmission) and gets amazing gas mileage (got 32 mpg for an 1800 mile trip and generally get 29 in the city). Plus, it does not look dated even though it is now over a decade old. One of my favorite parts is the computer that tells you the stats on your driving. I read somewhere, after getting it, that I got a good one because it was one of the ones actually made in Germany."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 98 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Passat near Honolulu. See local deals