Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2000 Volkswagen Passat

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
6.9
Out of 10

Based on 494 Ratings for the 1998 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.3/10
    Quality
    7.3/10
  • Reliability
    7.0/10
    Performance
    7.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.1/10
    Styling
    8.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 99 | Next

Tight, taught, responsive, comfortable, & likeable

By on Tuesday, April 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Not big in size but big in value."

Cons: "Low seating poses problems for arthritic persons."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

My daughter's car and its first half-life.

"A very nice car when new, several maintenance problems and some of substantial cost, but entirely acceptable considering the miles of comfortable and sprightly transportation. The body style seems dated because so many other brands co-opted the shape and used it now, 15 years later. The gadgets all work like new, the car drives like new, and because of its economy I have set aside three times its cost for its replacement twice (the first plundered by one of my kids). At 15+ years old it is still a very nice car."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

My daughter's car and its first half-life.

After having owned a Nissan, big disappointment

By on Tuesday, April 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "Not bad looking ... At the beginning."

Cons: "Peeling paint, suspension system, interior headlin"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Within the first 50,000 miles something went wrong with the suspension system in the front. I was told that it was a design flaw. They fixed it and, as predicted, it lasted about 60,000 more miles. The exterior paint is peeling and the interior headliner is falling off in multiple places. VW uses a special oil drain plug, so watch out for going to quick lube places. Worst car I have ever owned."

Good for about 140k

By on Sunday, April 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 167,195

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "stylish, zippy, comfortable, fun to drive"

Cons: "prone to extremely expensive unfixable problems"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"This was a great car until about 140k and then the wheels came off the bus. Replaced timing belt, water pump, radiator, hoses, egr thingy, injectors, plugs, filters, sensors (MAP, O2, a couple of others) and a lot more in the space of about a year and could not get the car to run right - phantom untraceable problem that caused it to start and die, start and die, start and die, etc. Until 140k it was a gem, fun to drive, a few problems but nothing serious (window motor broke, a/c died, automatic locks stopped working, that horrible electrical thing under the carpet had to be replaced - $800). For sale now, very cheap. Takers?"

A wonderful car, all situations

By on Monday, March 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 77,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Terrific to drive, great seats, durable."

Cons: "City traffic mileage is not great."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this car for 15 years. Mileage is low, mostly highway miles. It has always started, and only a few repairs. Just did the major belt, thermostat and water pump work. This car is terrific to drive on the highway (fast and smooth), has great road feel and responsive steering, and the interior still looks modern. I recently found a plug to insert into the vacant cd changer in the trunk so that I can play ipods and iphones through the stereo. I have never had to recharge the AC. I think VW has dumbed down the tech in the new, non-CC Passats. But this vintage was one of a kind and an all-around amazingly well engineered driver's car."

engine light stays on

By on Wednesday, December 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 162,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "great runner for city driving"

Cons: "needs new heater and front defroster does not work"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"The engine lights stays on and the heater is not working or front defroster, needs a set of tie rods."

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 99 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Passat near Honolulu. See local deals