Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1999 Volkswagen Passat

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
6.9
Out of 10

Based on 482 Ratings for the 1998 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.3/10
    Quality
    7.3/10
  • Reliability
    7.0/10
    Performance
    7.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.0/10
    Styling
    8.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 97 | Next

Love this Car

By on Saturday, March 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "great drive"

Cons: "tight fit for family of 5!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love this car and Volkswagon is an excellant brand. Only thing, three kids is a tight fit. Great choice for family of 4 without wanting to grow! Excellant driving, gas and smooth, with get up an go! Like I said Love it!"

lasted 10 months

By on Saturday, February 15, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: blown engine

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "NOTHING"

Cons: "MONEY PIT, NO POWER, ENGINE BLEW"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"3 WORDS...PEICE OF CACA...HAD THIS CAR 10 MONTHS...2 WEEKS INTO IT ENGINE LITE CAME ON....ALL DIAGNOSIS POINTED TO NO GAS...MACANIC SAID FAULTY SENSOR....THEN OIL LITE BLINKING AND ALARM SOUNDING, MECANIC SAID SENDING UNIT , REPLACED AND LITE STILL ON...CAR DIED ON RODE WANTED $6000 TO REPLACE ENGINE....SO I TOOK IT TO THE JUNK YARD THAT GAVE ME $275....I ALSO HAD TO REPLACE STARTER FOR $500 IN THE 10 MONTHS AND BATTERY...RUN DONT WALK FROM THIS CAR...YOU WERE WARNED"

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

One owner car, tip top condition very low miles

By on Wednesday, January 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "if you like a car for freeway fast driving"

Cons: "I don't know of any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is a very nice car made in Germany and it the same care as and Audi. Fuel injection auto matic and stick shift. Pearl gray, great tires (all weather) just put in new water pump and replaced most hoses and the radiator resavor tank. Very clean and very low miles. one owneer, no somking, sound system cd rack in the rear compartment, very easy to change the cd's."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Trusted Friend

By on Sunday, January 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Solid, dependable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Bought car new 14 years ago. Really love it. Although it's a back up car now, it has been very dependable and is still enjoyable to drive. Have local garage that works primarily with VWs and keeps it going when service needed. I might add they are very honest and affordable which keeps the cost of ownership reasonable. We have done service as needed but not obsessively. This car has been the best vehicle value wise that I have ever owned. If you are going to buy this or any older vehicle review the service records before you buy and have a good local garage check the car out first."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

1999 PASSATT - YOU SHOULD JUNK IT NOW

By on Monday, January 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
3/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"THREE ENGINE TIMING BELTS AND ENGINE DAMMAGE FOR A TOTAL COST OF REPAIRS, TOWING, RENTAL CARS, HAVING TO BUY ANOTHER CAR FOR SON, $45,750. ANOTHER VW???? NEVER!"

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 97 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Passat near Honolulu. See local deals