Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

1996 Volkswagen Passat

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
6.8
Out of 10

Based on 77 Ratings for the 1995 - 1997 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.5/10
    Quality
    7.1/10
  • Reliability
    7.0/10
    Performance
    7.9/10
  • Comfort
    7.9/10
    Styling
    7.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next

By on Sunday, September 16, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Tuesday, October 14, 2008

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

terible vehicle

By on Monday, October 22, 2007

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
5/10

"I absolutely would not recommend that anyone ever buys one of these cars. I though I was getting an awesome deal on this car because I'm a mechanic and it was cheap so I figured I could fix it. I was wrong about 1500 later I still have a ton of repairs on it. If this was a regular customer they would have about 5000 into it and still needed work done to it. It seems like every time I get it fixed something else is wrong with it."

Can't go wrong.

By on Sunday, April 05, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"Hello america! if you ever come across a 96 vw passat GLX don't pass it down! with all 4 anti-lock brakes, strong v6, power everthing, heated leather seats and much more. but just like any euro car parts can expensive."

By on Friday, July 04, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Thursday, November 15, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

well

By on Thursday, November 15, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
7/10

"i cant seem to keep it running every time i get one thing fixed something else happens it suck i have never had this manny problems with a car"

By on Monday, August 20, 2007

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

GLX VR6

By on Thursday, October 07, 2010

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"loved the car however wouldnt recommend to someone unless they have the money to replace parts every 3 months :/"

great Diesel

By on Monday, March 16, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I've had several Diesels and VWs--this one was the easiest and cheapest to maintain--much better than my later model which required going to the dealer for almost everything. Plus the manual transmission Diesel gets nearly 50 mpg! with an 18-gallon tank I only fill up every 6 weeks."

VW Passat

By on Sunday, February 22, 2009

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"I loved the European styling when I first bought it in 98, however, it was not a very reliable car. I had issues with the transmission, air conditioning, check engine light, and tires. Would not recomend this car. Sold it in 2004."

By on Saturday, January 24, 2009

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

I have on eand love it

By on Thursday, December 04, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"mine was hit in the pass side front and i never fixed any thing. i still get around 27 mpg on the high way and 22 in the city"

great car

By on Tuesday, October 07, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"i have a 1996 vw passat v6 with 180000 miles on it and still runs like a champ great car if you can find one get it"

Fun to drive!

By on Saturday, September 13, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"German engineering! GLX model has many features. My car has 135k and runs great! bought this well kept car 2 years ago and it is a pleasure to drive everyday!"

highest mileage non-hybrid midsize ever made

By on Sunday, March 09, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"You can haul 5 adults, 30 cubic feet of stuff, 200 lbs. on the roof, and 2000 in tow, while still making well over 30 to the gallon! You'll make well over 40 if you are going solo without the gear! Handles like a European car and has acceleration which can burn rubber in the first 2 gears. Like the old ads say, "Volkswagen does it again.""

good for $$

By on Sunday, January 20, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

"quick wagon. replaced rear pads and rotors (kind of a pain). no engine problems execpt service engine light is on. mechanic says its an emission problem, but will not affect driveability. gets 29-30mpg with 5 speed, minimal rust for a 97. at 6'2", PLENTY of room!! definetly would buy another, maybe 2002 or newer."

nice car

By on Sunday, December 30, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"its a nice car I enjoy it i comuet to work in it every day of the week I use it a lot and it is still in good condition"

No problems

By on Thursday, December 13, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought new and now has 101,000. A couple minor issues when only 2-3 years old, but nothing since other than a wheel bearing at <$275. Other than changing the oil, it's been nearly maintenance free. Original stainless exhaust still in good shape too, and brakes hold up well - this car does stop on a dime like no American car can and handles great. Backseat and trunk space is great, seems cars that are bigger today have much less space. The GLX comes standard with so much, antilock, trac control, then throw in heated leather and sunroof and it's been a great value car for $22k new. We've had people (that are maybe not knowledgeable about cars) ask if we got a "new" car when they see it (yes, thinking brand new), not realizing it's 11 years old...it's held up well and the styling isn't that out of date."

iTs okay

By on Monday, December 03, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

"This is my first car so i really dont have much to compare it to but my locks and e brake freeze up all the time and its just an over all mess. but at the same time its a fast car so you really cant complain. it can hold its own if you have a 5 speed. if your going to buy this car keep in mind its fast but at the same time remember it cost alot to fix when stuff goes rong."

good gas mpg

By on Thursday, November 29, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"i get over 30 mpg in mine. 240000 miles and still running strong. the only problem i had with it is the a/c."

AMAZING CAR

By on Thursday, November 08, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"i had one since 1997, my first car... i never spent a dime more then i had to(other then regular scheduled maintance) to fix anything... and with gas prices in the last 3-4 years, this car has more then payed back its value... it died this year with 185K... i guess everything that should have broken over the years cought up with me and all broke at once... but if i could, i would buy it ALL OVER AGAIN!!!"

Great Car!

By on Tuesday, October 23, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've had this car since new. Now has 210000 and the VR6 engine is running strong. The only major issue I've had was that the clutch had to be replaced at 150000, which probably shouldn't be something out of the ordinary for a car with so many miles. It is a pleasure to drive in the highway, and never says no when going up hills. I recommend getting a VR6."

Can You Say Lemon?

By on Wednesday, October 10, 2007

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"Car looks good and drives good when its working! One nightmare after another. Constant cooling system leaks (heater core, water pump, upper radiator hose, water valve). Other issues: ABS sensor, mass air flow sensor, O2 sensor, brakes, CV boot, etc... I've already poured $1400 into this car to keep it going. Now it needs another $1300 to do the same only 10 months later!"

Solid, Reliable, Comfortable

By on Tuesday, September 11, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"An excellent wagon. Tons of legroom, reliable, comfortable, looks nice, and handles well. Repairs, like with all VWs, can get a little out of hand, but they're rarely needed. It's not a racecar, but for a wagon it's very fast and hangs tight on the road."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Passat near Honolulu. See local deals