Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

1996 Volkswagen Passat

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
6.8
Out of 10

Based on 77 Ratings for the 1995 - 1997 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.5/10
    Quality
    7.1/10
  • Reliability
    7.0/10
    Performance
    7.9/10
  • Comfort
    7.9/10
    Styling
    7.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 13 14 15 16 | Next

highest mileage non-hybrid midsize ever made

By on Sunday, March 09, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"You can haul 5 adults, 30 cubic feet of stuff, 200 lbs. on the roof, and 2000 in tow, while still making well over 30 to the gallon! You'll make well over 40 if you are going solo without the gear! Handles like a European car and has acceleration which can burn rubber in the first 2 gears. Like the old ads say, "Volkswagen does it again.""

good for $$

By on Sunday, January 20, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

"quick wagon. replaced rear pads and rotors (kind of a pain). no engine problems execpt service engine light is on. mechanic says its an emission problem, but will not affect driveability. gets 29-30mpg with 5 speed, minimal rust for a 97. at 6'2", PLENTY of room!! definetly would buy another, maybe 2002 or newer."

nice car

By on Sunday, December 30, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"its a nice car I enjoy it i comuet to work in it every day of the week I use it a lot and it is still in good condition"

No problems

By on Thursday, December 13, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought new and now has 101,000. A couple minor issues when only 2-3 years old, but nothing since other than a wheel bearing at <$275. Other than changing the oil, it's been nearly maintenance free. Original stainless exhaust still in good shape too, and brakes hold up well - this car does stop on a dime like no American car can and handles great. Backseat and trunk space is great, seems cars that are bigger today have much less space. The GLX comes standard with so much, antilock, trac control, then throw in heated leather and sunroof and it's been a great value car for $22k new. We've had people (that are maybe not knowledgeable about cars) ask if we got a "new" car when they see it (yes, thinking brand new), not realizing it's 11 years old...it's held up well and the styling isn't that out of date."

iTs okay

By on Monday, December 03, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

"This is my first car so i really dont have much to compare it to but my locks and e brake freeze up all the time and its just an over all mess. but at the same time its a fast car so you really cant complain. it can hold its own if you have a 5 speed. if your going to buy this car keep in mind its fast but at the same time remember it cost alot to fix when stuff goes rong."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 13 14 15 16 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Passat near Honolulu. See local deals