Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2008 Volkswagen New Beetle

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
6.9
Out of 10

Based on 1094 Ratings for the 1998 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.3/10
    Quality
    7.0/10
  • Reliability
    7.2/10
    Performance
    7.7/10
  • Comfort
    7.6/10
    Styling
    7.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 219 | Next

Worst VW I have ever owned.

By on Wednesday, January 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 52,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Good handling at freeway speeds."

Cons: "Poor mileage and excessive repairs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I purchased it in 2006 with 22,000 miles. Then began a series of repairs that normally don't occur for the life of the car. The poor mileage of 17 mpg. is unacceptable. It has been analyzed by two different dealers that found no problesms! Again, this car is a loser. Dick"

High maintenance cost

By on Saturday, January 24, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "one of the greatest small cars out there"

Cons: "regular maintenance, fixes are high"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Learned how to do light bulbs myself($65)if mechanic changes. Have had multiple electrical, window issues-thank goodness for that warranty. Dealerships get really aggravated when you keep bringing it back-they are ones not fixing it correctly to begin with. Fun to drive, comfortable,reliable engine so far, drives great in the snow, and rain. Wanted a manual drive, but none available at the dealership. Automatic is proving to be just fine."

Solid diesel performance and a blast to drive!

By on Wednesday, January 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 76,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Diesel torque, very high MPG"

Cons: "High cost of diesel fuel, hard to get good service"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I wanted the diesel so I bought it. The Beetle is a "cute" little car. That said, with its two-door layout and high roofline it is easy for me - a REALLY big guy - to climb in and out. With the hatchback and fold down rear seat it will hold a LOT of stuff. So it fits my needs really well - by the same token it is not a car for a large family. The TDI took some serious "breaking in" and I did have initial second thoughts. After that rough beginning it has been a great little engine. It routinely returns over 40 MPG (the price of diesel fuel cuts into the benefit of that) with mostly local driving. It has TORQUE which makes it a blast to drive. The downside is this is NOT a common engine and there are not a lot of places to get it competently serviced. If you can do your own service this is a wonderful car, if not you really need access to a top level diesel mechanic. Volkswagen spared no effort to provide this car with every traction/stability aid known to German engineers. It can and does go most everywhere in slippery winter driving conditions. The only limitation is somewhat low ground clearance, but in nine winters I have not had an issue with this. The only reliability issues I have had with the car were two electronics issues. I was able to find a local expert who was able to fix them and total costs were about $200. These require specific maintenance and that is costly. This includes timing belt replacement, oil changes with the right oil, and flushing the brake fluid every two years. Bottom line: fuel costs are low, but the car is not cheap to keep running right and problem free; with all the diesel torque it is fun to drive."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Fun to drive, well designed small car

By on Thursday, January 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great visibility, superfun to drive, easy to park"

Cons: "cargo space, rear seat clearance, cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I ordered this car new and it was even nicer than I expected. The visibility is impressive, though the sunshades are too small so I keep a hat on the huge dashboard shelf. Great headroom in the front seat, really poor headroom for passengers in the rear seat. While you can fit a good deal when you drop down the rear seats and remove the trunk cover, newer hatchbacks generally have better designed cargo areas. The 2 front cup holders are under the dashboard so you can't have tall cup there are 3 rear cup holders. I'm thinking the engineers didn't get cup holders but had a requirement to put in 5 holders. The car is very short and very wide. Makes for great handling and easy parking except for narrow spaces. The car has been very reliable except a few minor oddities that VW's seem to have with electric systems. It starting to show it's age a bit. Much of the plastic is getting brittle and beginning to break and/or rattle, but it is 15 years old. Have loved this car and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone looking for a safe small car."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Adore this car!

By on Tuesday, January 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Turbo! Fun to drive. Really cute and unique"

Cons: "Don't really have any."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is a limited edition VW Beetle. Yellow and black interior - leather with heated seats. Yellow rims on wheels. One owner. Only 43,000 miles. Very reliable and a great car!"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 219 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen New Beetle near Honolulu. See local deals