Advertisement

To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

2014 Volkswagen Jetta Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $23,821 - $25,341.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord

Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $28,465

Fair Purchase Price $24,050
Fair Market Range ($23,821 - $25,341)

Invoice $27,359

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 7.1 of 10

10/7.1

Buyer's Resources

Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.4
Out of 10

Based on 299 Ratings for the 2011 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Awesome Car (TDI version)

By on Wednesday, October 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 4,100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Mileage, Comfort, Convenience"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a great car. I find myself not wanting to get out of it. The MPG blows everything away. There is no mileage loss compared to a Hybrid and you have the power of a traditional car. There is no noise factor. The engine has a slightly different pitch compared to a traditional car but the noise level is the same or less. It is plenty roomy but I haven't spent much time in the back seats. My only gripe but I figured out how to get past it, is the diesel delay,but rather than gunning the engine be slow and methodical and the engine responds like any car. It is a great car."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

2013 Hybrid Jetta - Very sporty and Great MPG

By on Saturday, September 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,100

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive with the 1.4 Turbo engine"

Cons: "Takes 91 octane or higher gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My wife and I have now owned 5 VW Jetta's and just traded my 07 Jetta in for a 2013 Hybrid Premium Jetta and my wife drove it for two weeks and did not like the way the brakes worked with the charging of batteries and went back to driving her 2011 Jetta SEL. I have now drove the car for two weeks and I am starting to love everything about it except the braking is taking some time to get use too. I get so many looks and questions about my Jetta because of the HID Lights and because it's a Hybrid made by VW. My first turbo car and even with the 1.4L Turbo engine it is still a quick little car!!!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Fantastic car not just for the money

By on Thursday, February 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 4,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Great price, fun to dirve, great stereo"

Cons: "poor fuel economy, and no power seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I own the 2.5 SE and absolutely love it. The car handles fantastically and performs exactly how you want a car in this price range to handle. The base 4 speaker sound systems blows the doors off of any other cars. The leatherette seats do a great job of making you feel like you're in the cockpit of a car much more expensive than what you're actually driving. An especially great feature of this car is the huge amount of interior room. With best in class rear leg room and a massive trunk space you'll never be left wanting more. The 6 speed automatic transmission is great too. The sport mode is uber fun to use and the tiptronic is phenomenal. It is important to not that if you are looking for a super fuel efficient vehicle or something with extra comfy seats this is not the vehicle for you. However if you want a fun to drive, reliable, good looking vehicle for cheap you have to take a look at the Jetta."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Loving my TDI w/ 6-speed manual

By on Saturday, December 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun, fuel economy, sporty"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I traded my 2014 Honda civic coupe in on this vehicle and am really glad I did! It drives like a dream! It is fun, sporty and GREAT on fuel! I have driven almost 200 miles since filling it up and have barely used a 1/4 of a tank! I would recommend this car to anyone"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Price vs product

By on Thursday, December 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Price, gas, usage, safety"

Cons: "Not too big for a family, cargo door, noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Car is great market price and the gas consumption is very good too. Comfortable and versatile."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

nearly everything I wanted

By on Saturday, August 31, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 36,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, versitle size, good fuel mileage."

Cons: "Turbo lag,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I traded my 2005 Jetta TDI wagon for this 2011 car and even though the 2005 was a good car for my needs this 2011 was a great change. The 2005 got better fuel mileage but the 2011 has more power, more comfort, better handling, and more rear passenger room. I would gladly take a trip in this car with four adults. This diesel really pulls away from traffic lights and in general is great to drive in traffic. Interstate driving is effortless and requires attention to your speed or you will find yourself north of the speed limit. There is some turbo lag that takes some adjustment but is not a real issue."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great Gas Mileage

By on Thursday, May 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great Mileage!!"

Cons: "Have to "pump" seat to raise, shows marks"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I LOVE LOVE my car!! I have been able to get 51 mpg so far. I'm 5" foot and it fits me well. I love how much space the car has and is able to hold. I can put the seats down and I was able to move my belongings or items from Lowe's."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

The car is accurate and acts predicatably

By on Tuesday, December 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun and safe to drive, looks good"

Cons: "a lot of plastic inside"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Pros: It responds to the steering wheel just the way I expect that. It is a German car and it gives you what you could expect from one: elaborate interior and stylish look. Cons: I dislike the plastic dashboard in SE and lower. It must be better in SEL, but not sure. It lacks LED daytime lights. I'd like to have them."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

GREAT CAR

By on Thursday, August 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great price, fun to drive, awesome mpg"

Cons: "needs auto climate control and rear view camera"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"gets the job done while looking good. Lots of room amazing mpg really sporty. Missing some options like a rear view camera or automatic climate control from what Im used to. Love it tho"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

better value than my BMW!

By on Thursday, February 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 13,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great value, fun to drive, technology package"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had a 3 series for several years and loved the way it drove but got tired of the super expensive maintenance. I test drove the Jetta SEL and loved it! It had every feature I wanted and saved me $15,000 compared to buying a new BMW. It has been great for the last year, and keeps up the standards of German performance. The technology package is also very cool, love the navigation system, keyless entry, and that it was iPod ready!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Outstanding vehicle!!!!

By on Thursday, November 03, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 13,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great MPG, great radio, drives well."

Cons: "some gadgets and buttons are in bad spots."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought this car B/C I was sold on the TDI motor in the Jetta, and my wife liked the interior well enough. When we began driving, the car delivered 39 MPG overall, after the motor got a bit broken in, we now see 43 MPG wherever we drive. The DSG tranny is fun to shift if the mood is right, and the 2.0 TDI motor has solid accelerating ability from 40 to 80. The backseat is comfy, not quite enough room for a rear facing carseat, but the trunk is absolutely huge! I woul;dn't want to be 6'3" and have to get in and out to much, but for the cost and the ridiculous MPG, you cannot go wrong. Plus with the TDI, you will have a motor that should outlast the rest of the car!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Amazing. I get 40+mpg in town.

By on Friday, July 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 34,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Amazing versitility, solid build, DSG tranny's A++"

Cons: "replaceing cabin air filter a little inconvienent."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Well built, very comfortable. Drove 7400 miles in the second month I owned it and it was flawless in every objective metric. Subjectively it exceedes my expectations! Great car for a family of 4. The way the back seat folds flat alows it to double as a van with all the space available. Would definitely recommend and will purchase again if I happen to outlive it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great vehicle under 25!

By on Tuesday, July 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good price for what you get and safe!"

Cons: "Not very fast and the exterior looks decent!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this car brand new and have no regrets whatsoever other than not including a navigation system!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best Car Ever!

By on Monday, April 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 700

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Sporty, Comfortable, Great MPG"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is Wonderfully Amazing... I got 41 MPG coming home. Seats are amazing and extremely comfortable and the handling of the car is stunning and provides inspiration. Have you closed the door? Well it sounds just like all other high quality cars. Close the doors on a Benz 350 ( My family has one) and the doors sound the same. No problems so far yet engine wise, though it is extremely powerful considering the class of car (Compact. I will buy another Volkswagen!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great TDI, 44+MPG on cruise, great seats, 2nd Jett

By on Friday, October 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 36,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great 44 MPG, nice seats, love it, plus it looks g"

Cons: "Can't think of anything more needed -it's loaded"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great VW Jetta TDI. Fun to drive. Great MPG .. ~40 mpg town and 44+ cruise at 60 MPH. Sound system is super with Sat. radio. Navigation is great, haven't connect the TOM-TOM since we got the car. So good trying to buy another now ..hi. Rick"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sportswagen TDI - Great Car

By on Wednesday, October 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fuel Economy, Flexible Interior, Fun to Drive"

Cons: "Slow initial acceleration"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car to drive with exceptional fuel economy. I picked this car because it is easy to get in and out of - it has flexibility for hauling people or supplies or dogs. Great for every day errands or taking a long trip. Initial acceleration is a bit slow - but once you are used to it - you adapt. Car is quiet and handles great. Interior is simple - yet elegant."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car that I ever owned

By on Tuesday, July 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Holds value and dependable"

Cons: "expensive to repair"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned many different Model/make cars prior to my 2001 Jetta that I purchased in 2001 and I still own my Jetta that has 100000 miles and I love very much. Instead of buying a new car, I decided to have my car fully serviced mechanically and detailed because I do not want to part with it. My Jetta is a GLS with everything, except leather seats. The car handles great in snow and is very dependable. Little expensive to fix when there is a repair that is needed, but it is worth it. A great car that holds great value!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car that I ever owned

By on Tuesday, July 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Holds value and dependable"

Cons: "expensive to repair"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned many different Model/make cars prior to my 2001 Jetta that I purchased in 2001 and I still own my Jetta that has 100000 miles and I love very much. Instead of buying a new car, I decided to have my car fully serviced mechanically and detailed because I do not want to part with it. My Jetta is a GLS with everything, except leather seats. The car handles great in snow and is very dependable. Little expensive to fix when there is a repair that is needed, but it is worth it. A great car that holds great value!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

fuel milage

By on Tuesday, June 25, 2013

I owned and sold this car
Reason: to get new one

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this car gets the best fuel milage i have ever seen best car i have ever owned"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love this car so far

By on Monday, June 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Ride, interior/exterior, fuel economy and power"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased new in January 2013. Never owned a VW or diesel before. Great ride, plenty of room (driver and passengers) and awesome mileage (48-53 Hwy). Appointments and ride would be expected in a much more expensive car. If my experience continues, I would not hesitate purchasing another VW TDI."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car, very responsive, spacious, great milage

By on Friday, April 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "safety, reliability, well built, great car"

Cons: "hard to clean carpet, service costs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have never owned a VW but this will not be the last. WE have enjoyed every aspect of this car, from the sleek exterior look to the spacious interior. We have two kids and there is plenty of room for two car seats and all that comes with having kids. The trunk is huge, we can fit a full size stroller in it and still have room for other things. We have the TDI and it is awesome, there is no lugging it will scoot and still get good millage. We have gotten 47 MPG out of it on a long trip, that is figuring it myself not from the digital readout. I would recommend it to any body GREAT CAR!!!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Exceptional Value

By on Tuesday, March 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 14,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Value for money, MPG"

Cons: "Not sexiest looks, but it is a wagon -"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Comfortable, sporty handler with terrific fuel MPG (40 ) consistently. Ample room (same as my 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee) so easy to haul kids, dogs, bikes, etc."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

German cars are the best

By on Thursday, January 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "TDI engine is the best"

Cons: "Interior is not bad but could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had Passat, Jetta, Tiguan but Jetta sportswagon TDI is the best of all. Its fun, great fuel economy and looks awesome."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Poor launch

By on Thursday, January 05, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,500

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, good mpg"

Cons: "Quality and reliability not there-launched poorly"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Have had engine trouble for about 1 month now. Vehicle is only 3 months old. EPC light and engine light have come on repeatedly and dealer is stumped on what is going on with it. Considering pursuing the lemon clause to purchase a TDI or other make altogether"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Excellent Value!

By on Monday, November 07, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 13,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Performance, efficiency, comfort"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned about 20 VW's over the years and this one is by far the best one I have ever had. The car drives like a gas powered car (maybe better) and gets up to 50 MPG on the highway. Plenty of power and very comfortable! I highly recommend this car!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.