Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Volkswagen Jetta Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $15,696 - $16,300.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord


You Might Also Like...

For around the same price, you might also be interested in these other vehicles:

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $17,715

Fair Purchase Price $15,961
Fair Market Range ($15,696 - $16,300)

Invoice $17,039
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 7.1 of 10

10/7.1

Buyer's Resources

Apply with our preferred lender now
Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 216 Ratings for the 2011 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.6/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next

Luxury reliability and great fuel efficiency for $

By on Sunday, November 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Cool and great fuel $"

Cons: "Acceleration but it is a diesel..oxymoron"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Luxury, reliability and phenomenal fuel efficiency w TDI model. Seats are very lumbar supportive and the heated seats to die for."

10 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Power of a V6 gas engine, economy of a Prius.

By on Monday, November 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Power, fuel economy, no glow plug wait, 6 spd tran"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I traded a 2004 TDI 5spd for this 2011 TDI 6spd. Fuel economy decreased about 5 mpg with the new car but with worthwhile improvements (increased power, sportier handling). The 6spd at 2000 rpm is 72 mph in the 2011 car vs 60 mph in the 2004 TDI 5spd. Love the navigation, full skylight panel, stereo, and sporty feel. With 38,000 miles so far the car has had zero problems. I can get 52 mpg at 58 mph (AC off) in the summer or 45 mpg at 72 mph (AC off) for highway driving. Winter cold weather with winterized Diesel (gas station mixes #2 and #1 diesel to lower wax point) results in a 6 mpg decrease in fuel economy. There is no waiting for glow plug warmup, the car starts immediately like a gas engine (huge improvement over previous diesels). Love it, so glad I upgraded."

11 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Very reliable

By on Monday, November 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,909

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This vehicle is very reliable and great quality. Driving this car feels comfortable and it has a pretty descent mileage. The only con I can say is that it loses its value pretty fast for such good car."

7 people out of 15 found this review helpful

excellent vehicle

By on Saturday, October 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price, great mileage, 0 problems"

Cons: "too much road noise, difficult heat knobs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned two Mercedes. This VW is more reliable, far better fuel economy, at about half the price. It is not as quite and the ride is a little worse than Mercedes, but I can find no good reason to go back to Mercedes."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Hate this car

By on Thursday, October 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "if u like spending your time at the dealer this is"

Cons: "never knowing if ur car is going to get u there"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"car has been in shop so frequently my co-workers thought the dealers loaner car was mine. more than 10 times for misc repairs some that are incomplete due to dealer being unable to duplicate issues When I am rid of this I will never have another vw"

10 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Best Car I've ever owned

By on Monday, October 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything about the car is fantastic"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased a new 2013 Jetta TDI. I drove it home, (about 200 miles) and right off the bat the vehicle was getting about 42 MPG. The car has performed flawless and has had no problems what-so-ever. I have noticed my MPG has gone up to 45 MPG with just over 3000 miles on it. Being an "Old School" kind of guy, I returned the Jetta for an Oil change at just over 1000 miles. VW requests that the oil be changed every 10000 miles (FREE FOR THE FIRST 3 CHANGES). These TDI's really hold their value. Not one used available in my local area. It seems people love to keep them in the family. The one thing I've noticed. Use CHEVRON DIESEL. Car runs better and the MPG is a little higher. Chevron Diesel does cost more, but the MPG will make up the difference. I'm VERY HAPPY WITH MY JETTA TDI."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great TDI, 44+MPG on cruise, great seats, 2nd Jett

By on Friday, October 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 36,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great 44 MPG, nice seats, love it, plus it looks g"

Cons: "Can't think of anything more needed -it's loaded"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great VW Jetta TDI. Fun to drive. Great MPG .. ~40 mpg town and 44+ cruise at 60 MPH. Sound system is super with Sat. radio. Navigation is great, haven't connect the TOM-TOM since we got the car. So good trying to buy another now ..hi. Rick"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Unbelievable Bang for the Buck!

By on Saturday, October 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Mileage, Turbo Power & Styling"

Cons: "Double Clutch... takes some getting used to"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this car for my husband who drives a pretty fair amount. His mom is two hours away and our son in college is nearly seven hours from us. I chose black exterior with cream interior and we couldn't be happier! This car is GORGEOUS! It's rich and expensive looking without the price tag of a Benz or Beemer. And best of all - it's a diesel that boasts over 34 MPG city and consistently gets 52 MPG on the highway! WOW! And that's with a turbo charged 4 cycl engine! It's also well appointed with easy to use options and a well-laid out driver surround. I get car sick sometimes so riding in back with my family is often an option for me. The backseat of the Jetta is quite comfortable. My only issues are the double clutch which takes some getting used to. Also, the Jetta doesn't come with power seats. (One has to upgrade to the Passat to get that feature.) Best car/styling/mileage for $26K on the market! You just can't beat it!"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sportswagen TDI - Great Car

By on Wednesday, October 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fuel Economy, Flexible Interior, Fun to Drive"

Cons: "Slow initial acceleration"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car to drive with exceptional fuel economy. I picked this car because it is easy to get in and out of - it has flexibility for hauling people or supplies or dogs. Great for every day errands or taking a long trip. Initial acceleration is a bit slow - but once you are used to it - you adapt. Car is quiet and handles great. Interior is simple - yet elegant."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Loving Every sMile

By on Thursday, September 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "clean, easy to drive, smooth ride"

Cons: "fuel economy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this car used and have put 40k miles on it. AC Fan went out, replaced under warrenty. That's been the only major issue in the car. It runs great, cool AC, nice leather seats. Very sporty. Not the best get up and go, but it's a good balance between fuel economy and power. I didn't get the loaded options so display from the onboard computers is limited. This is easily solved by OBD2 sensor connected to an android cell phone for only $25 versus the $1000 or so it would cost from the VW."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Regretted buying by day 3..

By on Friday, September 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 56,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "Looks good"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I traded in a V6 for the 5 cylinder jetta, figuring I wouldn't lose much power, and would gain gas mileage. I was wrong on both counts. The power isn't even comparable, and I feel like I actually lost gas mileage. Not to mention the inaccuracy of the digital gas gauge, plus the fact that it doesn't have the "miles until empty" feature, very inconvenient. When I initially purchased the car, I was commuting 140 miles a day, and after day three, I realized comfort was not included in the price tag. There is only a single cd player. I do like the way the interior looks, and was always a fan of the body style for my year. I still do like the way my cars looks, but would not purchase again based on what I know of the car now. Apparently they also don't hold their value either : /"

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

2013 Hybrid Jetta - Very sporty and Great MPG

By on Saturday, September 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,100

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive with the 1.4 Turbo engine"

Cons: "Takes 91 octane or higher gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My wife and I have now owned 5 VW Jetta's and just traded my 07 Jetta in for a 2013 Hybrid Premium Jetta and my wife drove it for two weeks and did not like the way the brakes worked with the charging of batteries and went back to driving her 2011 Jetta SEL. I have now drove the car for two weeks and I am starting to love everything about it except the braking is taking some time to get use too. I get so many looks and questions about my Jetta because of the HID Lights and because it's a Hybrid made by VW. My first turbo car and even with the 1.4L Turbo engine it is still a quick little car!!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

A great fun car with outstanding mpg

By on Thursday, September 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Drives like a dream, mpg is super, finish sparkles"

Cons: "larger bucket seats, black interior hot."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is s sharp looking car, small enough to get around well and big when you get behind the wheel. Wow, it has got that German engineering touch throughout. "I love this car"."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

nearly everything I wanted

By on Saturday, August 31, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 36,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, versitle size, good fuel mileage."

Cons: "Turbo lag,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I traded my 2005 Jetta TDI wagon for this 2011 car and even though the 2005 was a good car for my needs this 2011 was a great change. The 2005 got better fuel mileage but the 2011 has more power, more comfort, better handling, and more rear passenger room. I would gladly take a trip in this car with four adults. This diesel really pulls away from traffic lights and in general is great to drive in traffic. Interstate driving is effortless and requires attention to your speed or you will find yourself north of the speed limit. There is some turbo lag that takes some adjustment but is not a real issue."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Poor mans BMW

By on Tuesday, July 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great mpg"

Cons: "none yet"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"love love my new Jetta TDI. I have had 2 BMW's and this drives very similar. Bought the sporty 6 speed manual this time and love it. Can't believe how fast the Diesel motor is and quiet. The gas milage is great have only filled up one time and then only 10 gallons been getting over 40mpg so far."

12 people out of 14 found this review helpful

My 2nd VW still in love

By on Friday, July 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my 2nd Vw Jetta and I love it. I have no complaints. MPG 32 City and 43 Highway."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best car that I ever owned

By on Tuesday, July 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Holds value and dependable"

Cons: "expensive to repair"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned many different Model/make cars prior to my 2001 Jetta that I purchased in 2001 and I still own my Jetta that has 100000 miles and I love very much. Instead of buying a new car, I decided to have my car fully serviced mechanically and detailed because I do not want to part with it. My Jetta is a GLS with everything, except leather seats. The car handles great in snow and is very dependable. Little expensive to fix when there is a repair that is needed, but it is worth it. A great car that holds great value!!"

10 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Best car that I ever owned

By on Tuesday, July 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Holds value and dependable"

Cons: "expensive to repair"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned many different Model/make cars prior to my 2001 Jetta that I purchased in 2001 and I still own my Jetta that has 100000 miles and I love very much. Instead of buying a new car, I decided to have my car fully serviced mechanically and detailed because I do not want to part with it. My Jetta is a GLS with everything, except leather seats. The car handles great in snow and is very dependable. Little expensive to fix when there is a repair that is needed, but it is worth it. A great car that holds great value!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car that I ever owned

By on Tuesday, July 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Holds value and dependable"

Cons: "expensive to repair"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned many different Model/make cars prior to my 2001 Jetta that I purchased in 2001 and I still own my Jetta that has 100000 miles and I love very much. Instead of buying a new car, I decided to have my car fully serviced mechanically and detailed because I do not want to part with it. My Jetta is a GLS with everything, except leather seats. The car handles great in snow and is very dependable. Little expensive to fix when there is a repair that is needed, but it is worth it. A great car that holds great value!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car that I ever owned

By on Tuesday, July 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Holds value and dependable"

Cons: "expensive to repair"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned many different Model/make cars prior to my 2001 Jetta that I purchased in 2001 and I still own my Jetta that has 100000 miles and I love very much. Instead of buying a new car, I decided to have my car fully serviced mechanically and detailed because I do not want to part with it. My Jetta is a GLS with everything, except leather seats. The car handles great in snow and is very dependable. Little expensive to fix when there is a repair that is needed, but it is worth it. A great car that holds great value!!"

Excelent car!!

By on Tuesday, July 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great size, big car suspension ride, could be better on fuel but hello; it's a 2.0, much bigger and can't compare with 1.8's, 1.6's and absolutely 1.5's. I've been pro American & Japanese, but this Jetta for price and results, I went to German cars."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Excelent car!!

By on Tuesday, July 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great size, big car suspension ride, could be better on fuel but hello; it's a 2.0, much bigger and can't compare with 1.8's, 1.6's and absolutely 1.5's. I've been pro American & Japanese, but this Jetta for price and results, I went to German cars."

Excelent car!!

By on Tuesday, July 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great size, big car suspension ride, could be better on fuel but hello; it's a 2.0, much bigger and can't compare with 1.8's, 1.6's and absolutely 1.5's. I've been pro American & Japanese, but this Jetta for price and results, I went to German cars."

Excelent car!!

By on Tuesday, July 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great size, big car suspension ride, could be better on fuel but hello; it's a 2.0, much bigger and can't compare with 1.8's, 1.6's and absolutely 1.5's. I've been pro American & Japanese, but this Jetta for price and results, I went to German cars."

piece of junk, not what a VW used to be

By on Sunday, June 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Cons: "over rated by me because no lower ratings"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"picks up so much road noise that on some hwys you can't carry on a conversoation in the front seat. tire pressure monorting system faulty, replaced dash modual, not the mileage we expected, suspension to stiff for older people, paint about the same quality as my granddaughter's finger painting, two recall letters,over priced, does not hold value and that is from the dealer.... don't make the same mistake we made."

6 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details