Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Volkswagen Jetta Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $15,183 - $16,006.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord


You Might Also Like...

For around the same price, you might also be interested in these other vehicles:

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $17,715

Fair Purchase Price $15,500
Fair Market Range ($15,183 - $16,006)

Invoice $17,039
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 7.1 of 10

10/7.1

Buyer's Resources

Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 281 Ratings for the 2011 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.6/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

We get higher mileage than the EPA estimates.

By on Sunday, April 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great fuel economy."

Cons: "NONE."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We liked the VW Jetta TDI with Navigation, we purchased another one. It is an awesome vehicle. Better fuel economy than a hybrid."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

the best sedan for the money in it's class

By on Monday, April 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "european build quality, price, gas mileage"

Cons: "the base 2.0 engine is underpowered"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I choose the Jetta because of build, price and warranty (at the time the warranty was 3years with service), the handling is good and the engine keeps me with all city traffic. My mileage has been better than the epa estimate, and I cruise at 75 with no problem. As a previous VW owner, 65'Beetle and 77' Sirocco, I am just as pleased with the Jetta. In fact, the only other car that has been this balanced and reliable and has great dealer response was my 72' Datsun 510, which set a standard that has been hard to match. I plan to upgrade to the GLI or GTI in another year. I highly recommend the Jetta as a best buy for compact sedans. P.S. the Jetta has the same interior volume as the C class Mercedes-Benz."

17 people out of 36 found this review helpful

Solid, Dependable Car

By on Saturday, March 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 13,390

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Wonderful, clean, reliable car for anyone."

Cons: "Cannot change the time with ease."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a second car for us and have never driven it long distance. It is still under an extended warranty and does not need an oil change til July. I've taken it to be serviced long before it's needed. My husband likes to trade in cars long before there are problems and this car has been so reliable, I really don't want to part with it, but I did see the new ones and got excited about all the new features."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great, reliable, affordable!

By on Friday, March 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, peppy, reliable."

Cons: "Jerky transmission, needs bigger engine."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"As long as you keep up on maintenance, this car will never let you down. VW really makes a great vehicle, and if you are willing to deal with the stiff and jerky suspension and transmission (compared to American and Asian brands) then you are going to be very happy."

1 person out of 5 found this review helpful

This VW Jetta has been a fantastic vehicle.

By on Thursday, March 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 26,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "The Volkswagen Jetta is a fun car to drive."

Cons: "The seats are not electric."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This VW Jetta SE has been a fantastic vehicle. It has been well-maintained and is washed and waxed on a regular basis. The majority of the miles has been highway driving. The leather upholstery is in pristine condition"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Love this car

By on Wednesday, March 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We really like the car, but are looking to get something a bit larger as my husband has Parkinson's and is finding it more difficult to get in and out of the car due to less mobility than when we purchased it. We have had it since the Oct. 1, 2012. On road trips we get 50 mpg (diesel fuel) as long as we drive 70 mph or less, and with faster driving generally get 46-47 mpg."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

My favorite car!

By on Wednesday, March 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great gas mileage, very economical."

Cons: "Expensive maintenance every 10K miles."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best vehicle ever! This is my 3rd VW, my 2nd Jetta. Great gas mileage, smooth driving rides quiet. Lots of leg room, front and back and a huge trunk so we can pack it full when traveling. Great sound system! Very economical!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

For an entry level sedan it has very good styling

By on Wednesday, March 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "for the price: Styling, safety, comfort"

Cons: "Electronic torque an trasmission timing on D mode."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Cons: The electronically controlled torque and transmission are not that sharp in "D" mode, but in "S" it's a lot more responsive. Being able to up/down shift manually is also great, otherwise it would drive me crazy to drive an automatic. The suspension is a little jumpy. I would probably replace it eventually. Maybe lower it a bit. Pros: No need to spend big bucks on a european. Interior styling of my 2013 is up there with the C class mercedez (2015), and maintenance and parts are a lot cheaper. Feels sturdy, rides quiet. "D" mode does keep the revs low (gas saver) Trunk space would fit a few bodies. (but they could get out pulling a handle) Charcoal color is invisible to cops (swear on my wig)"

7 people out of 17 found this review helpful

This car has had ZERO issues in 40000 miles.

By on Wednesday, March 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Everything but the bluetooth. Easy to bump."

Cons: "Wish bluetooth had an on/off button."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It works and drives perfect. Always has from day one. Not one hiccup yet. Fuel economy better than advertised which I believe the TDI is the only car that does that. 42 city 52 hwy and that is no guestmating. It is using an actual calculator. Perfect power for any kind of driving aggressive or passive . My least expensive new car in decades is by far my favorite. I learned two things by from owning this car. VW has got their act together and German Engineering suites me well. Its a well thought out car that purrs nicely."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

I love VW

By on Saturday, March 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 3rd Volkswagen I currently own and I love it. I will never own anything besides a VW"

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

I like this vehicle a lot. Best VW ever owned.

By on Saturday, March 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my 4 VW vehicle. The previous cars were the Passat model which I liked too. However this vehicle is the best of all VW models I have owned. One reason is the Diesel Engine and the Automatic Transmission, which is very smooth and precise."

8 people out of 15 found this review helpful

love this car

By on Wednesday, March 04, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 68,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great all the way around"

Cons: "no complaints"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"good on gas, excellent all around"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

One of my favorite cars

By on Saturday, February 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 27,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Efficient and fun to drive"

Cons: "Hurts right knee rests against the center console"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"While still new, I believe VW has designed and build a great car for this purpose. I like the capacity-carrying of a wagon, and yet has tight handling of a sedan. Great fuel efficiency, power, smooth cruising. I'll check in before 100k for an update."

10 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Love this car

By on Tuesday, February 24, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 19,321

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is so nice, i leased two of them"

Great daily driver

By on Saturday, February 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"solid transportation"

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Looking for a solid and economical purchase

By on Tuesday, February 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"When I was first looking for a car upon taking an outside sales position I needed the following: great on fuel mileage, would keep up with 25-30k miles annually, easy to maintain, and was overall looking for an affordable option. My 2012 Jetta TDI has not let me down, currently just under 80k miles in my two and a half years of owning it and am so happy with my purchase that I'm looking at getting a Passat TDI now. I drive anywhere from 1-3k miles per month for my job, being able to get 600 miles on a tank highway commute is a timesaver! Best tank to date has been 46 mpg, but usually hover around 41/42 mpg with 80% highway / 20% city driving. Pros: bottom line is fuel mileage!, maintenance only every 10k, quality sound system for the size of vehicle, leg room is adequate compared to other cars in class, great handling, and fun to drive with the turbo, manual shift is butter smooth Cons: Initial purchase price of diesel (break even point is usually about 100,000 miles), maintenance can be a bit pricey (but is only every 10k), doesn't handle great in snow, interior isn't as nice as is past models, leather quality isn't the same as the premium models"

12 people out of 20 found this review helpful

Acquired it new in 2011

By on Tuesday, February 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Exceptional fuel efficiency, sure-footed handling."

Cons: "Poor traction in snow, road noise."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I initially leased this 2011 TDI Sportwagen then purchased it at lease-end (36 months).Overall, it has been incredibly economical (44 mpg hwy/31 overall) and reliable. It is comfortable (I'm 6'2") with an adequate sound system (not great). My only knock on the car is that it is not snow-friendly. The vehicle came with Continental tires that were toast within 32,000 miles. I then added Michelin "Defender" all-season tires thinking it would improve snow handling. It did not improve snow handling much at all. Assuming you do not need to count on in in a snowstorm, it is well worth the price."

6 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Solid, Affordable, Consistent.

By on Friday, February 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,680

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Well priced, solid handling, nice interior space"

Cons: "Some issue with this year model axle?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought the car as my first personal vehicle (no parental aid either financially or advisory), was more than satisfied with the experience. Was able to finance it on my own, and for the age I was, the car did wonders for me in terms of reliability, and the quality was just top notch in terms of mechanical composition. Fantastic vehicle for Interstate travel and around town travel."

27 people out of 48 found this review helpful

good car for the price

By on Friday, January 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 800

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"bought a Jetta 2015 tsi. driven 8 hundred miles.Car rides good and has good power Handles well. Miss having a temperature gauge and fog lights.Interior is quite, solid.Because car is new waiting to see how reliability will be"

31 people out of 59 found this review helpful

cheap feeling, unsatisfying drive.

By on Saturday, January 24, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I absolutely loved my 2009 Jetta Wolfsburg (2.0T) but it was getting high miles so I thought I'd trade it in for the new Jetta. In hindsight, I really wish I had kept my MKV. This new MKVI style feels dumbed down and the quality is not nearly up to par with the MKV. Cheap plastic dash, versus the soft touch before. Leatherette feels much more rubbery that before. Then engine note makes me feel sad compared to the MKV. I still can't find a really comfortable seating position even after a year of owning it. The radio in this car is by far the worst I've heard of any car I've owned. The MKV had 10 speakers which put out some really decent range. The MKVI has 6 speakers that sound worse than a Fisher Price walkie-talkie. Even after upgrading speakers, the sound just isn't satisfying and all the doors have rattled the entire time I have owned it. I'm sure I could think of more but I won't bother. As soon as I break even, I'm trading it in, maybe sooner."

13 people out of 28 found this review helpful

Best buy in sedans

By on Thursday, January 22, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, roomy and economical."

Cons: "Needs a few more ponies under the hood"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The Jetta gives you the interior space of a Mercedes C class with the price of a Korean car. The handling is best in class. The warranty was best in class. The 2.0 liter engine is rated at 114hp, yet you can stay with traffic with no problem, and you can wind it out without stressing the engine. I have exceeded epa gas ratings of 24 and 34 with 28 and 37 mpg. The interior is spacious and comfortable, with the rear seat folding flat for cargo and a trunk you can put a couple of bodies in. Included is a full size spare. No inflation kit or compact spare. The car is fun to drive, period."

19 people out of 32 found this review helpful

Bland and slow

By on Tuesday, January 20, 2015

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Didn't like it

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Gas Mileage"

Cons: "Very sluggish, bland"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Very bad car, owned it for one year. It's very bland, engine is sluggish and uncomfortable"

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

nice

By on Wednesday, January 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,999

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "drive"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It was good"

15 people out of 35 found this review helpful

Get the better engine

By on Sunday, January 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good price, good styling"

Cons: "Sluggish engine and transmission"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I have owned this car for nearly one year. Driving is sluggish with the entry-level engine. Fuel economy is not as advertised. First VW purchase and likely my last. Not impressed."

13 people out of 24 found this review helpful

cheapened vw jetta tdi

By on Thursday, January 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 4,500

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "truly over priced"

Cons: "cheap plastic interior"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Inferior interior, old fashioned look. Drives well, peppy great mileage, but why pay for diesel. Engine is quality, but overpriced maintenance and failure of many small components make it an overpriced purchase. Extended warranty is quite overpriced. I will return to Toyota."

12 people out of 23 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.