Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Volkswagen Jetta Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $21,064 - $21,849.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $23,215

Fair Purchase Price $21,457
Fair Market Range ($21,064 - $21,849)

Invoice $22,319
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 7.1 of 10

10/7.1

Buyer's Resources

Apply with our preferred lender now
Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 215 Ratings for the 2011 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.6/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 34 35 36 ... 43 | Next

I'd buy it again in a heartbeat!

By on Thursday, January 05, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Near Prius MPG with Cool Dad driving appeal"

Cons: "DSG transmission takes some getting used to"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"So to start I've driven trucks more often than anything else but recently moved to a much more urban area and couldn't see myself commuting or even parking my 4 door Tundra in this mess. We had been using my wife's 2003 Corolla as the family car when gas mileage was an issue. I had been eyeing the TDI Sportwagen for about 6 months. I wanted maximum cargo space, performance and over 30 MPG. I test drove the Outback thinking I needed AWD because I was replacing a truck. The 4 cycl maxed out at something like 32 MPG (when you're nursing it) and I wasn't impressed with the power. The next day I test drove my TDI Sportwagen. HOLY SMOKES! The DSG transmission takes some getting used to, especially at low RPMs, but when you put your foot in the pedal it does exactly what you want. Doesn't matter what speed you're at either. I recently drove to Texas with my wife and 2 kids, all of our luggage, plus a full size cooler in the back. We even picked stuff up on the way without any issues or luggage racks. I was averaging 39 MPG while doing 9 MPH or more over the speed limit at all times. I nursed it the first 550 miles and got 46mpg but I got tired of being in the slow lane. When I wanted to pass a truck while doing 80, I blew past them with no problem. I had to watch myself a little bit because you can hit 100mph in no time. (I know I'm a horrible person, blah blah) The steering is very responsive, the 4 wheel disc brakes stop on a dime, the diesel engine is quiet and purrs only slightly louder than a gasoline engine. Not like the old school diesels. The Panoramic sunroof was a huge selling point for me. My kids can look at the sky while I'm driving and see things they never could before. It's gianormous. I've never run into an issue where I needed to haul something too large for the cargo space, and I've hauled vanity's, toilets, 7 ft long boards, IKEA boxes, you name it. I'd say the only thing I'm not ecstatic about is a slight buzzing noise coming from the center console that is going to get looked at by the dealer at my 10k checkup. Did I mention that maintenance intervals are 10k miles and are free for the first 30k?"

22 people out of 22 found this review helpful

Poor launch

By on Thursday, January 05, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,500

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, good mpg"

Cons: "Quality and reliability not there-launched poorly"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Have had engine trouble for about 1 month now. Vehicle is only 3 months old. EPC light and engine light have come on repeatedly and dealer is stumped on what is going on with it. Considering pursuing the lemon clause to purchase a TDI or other make altogether"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Better than a hybrid

By on Thursday, December 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car costs about the same as a Prius. It gets 42 MPG on the highway. Its quick and handles great. I've driven a Prius from Atlanta to NH. I was scared to go over 70mph. And the brakes were ridicules. The 5 to 10 mpg gain that you get from the Toyota is not worth it."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

its a good car not a couch!

By on Sunday, December 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 17,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "a back basic car , just a good car"

Cons: "for get the frills its a car duh!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"good car. it gets the job done.it was nit picked apart in consumers report for seatcovering, the carpet,no liner in the hood top or trunk lind,etc . i think consumers report is forgetting what a car is for ,it is first supposied to be safe, provide a good ride, handle and have good enough pick up to keep you out of danger. the new jetta does all that at a modest price. it is a well driving car,quite enough for most . the inter yes is plastic, but it is easy to maintain and the seats are comfortable, the is good room in the front and back seats also. the transmission auto does seem to heist alittle in 2nd to third gear but it is livable. the sport mode gives a good boast of power when needed. braking is good.drum brakes in the back will out last disk breaks. consumers dislikes drum breaks no problem for me. gas mileage is 29 mpg or so on the highway and i drive fast 75-80 plus. so it is not fancy enough for consumers reports But it does its job well can u ask for more? i buy a car to drive first frills second ."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Good TDI engine

By on Thursday, December 15, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great gas mileage"

Cons: "Higher price,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is amazing on gas mileage, the most ive gone on a tank is 600 miles just driving from work and back. The only problems this car has is the light lamp which means a bulb is out or loose like to come on. But the dealer worked on the car and made sure the problem doesn't reoccur, don't forget TDI engines are guarrenteed up to 500,000 miles."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 34 35 36 ... 43 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details