Go

2011 Volkswagen Jetta

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.3
Out of 10

Based on 320 Ratings for the 2011 - 2016 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.4/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 7 8 9 ... 13 | Next

60 Highway / 40 City | Quiet Ride | My best car

By on Monday, November 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "60 Highway / 40 City | Quiet Ride | Value"

Cons: "Traction control cannot be deactivated."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"2011 Jetta TDI Sedan w/ Convenience Package, Manual I have traded and driven 9 vehicles ranging from 2009 to 2011 models. This one i have had for the longest at...20 months and 20,000 miles. While the reviews say that the 2011 Jetta is of a lesser build quality, my Jetta is the most quiet ride i've ever been in. I enjoy the simple, yet pretty dash, the quiet ride, and the crazy good mileage. My model in a 2015 year has an MSRP of about 26,000, so maybe 24,000 after discounts. I have yet to find a better value for the money, especially for a new car price. Handles way better and is much more quiet than say.. a 2012ish model Honda Accord EX at about 27-29k new."

16 people out of 28 found this review helpful

Quite impressed

By on Monday, December 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "Cloth interior"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Very happy with my 2012 Jetta. I owned a 2005 Dodge Neon when I turned 16 and totaled it when I went to college, and after that I owned a 2000 Buick Century and of course neither of those compare! My opinion might be a bit biased since the Jetta is much nicer than my two previous cars, but I don't see my opinion changing anytime soon. Everyone I have known to own a Jetta has absolutely loved it."

13 people out of 23 found this review helpful

A beautiful car!/ very good mileage/Warm & cozy!!

By on Saturday, April 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 4,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Beautiful car! ...see review"

Cons: "no back seat warmers"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I'm thrilled with it! I do have to say it has not met the quoted gas mileage, at least not for us, however we are in remote area, mountainess,& so we cannot follow all the perfect conditions to get the maximum mileage. We are averaging 39 mpg. Despite the real mpg for us, this is overall a great vehicle. We've had no problems. We've received many compliments on this vehicle. It sure kept us warm this extra cold winter! (too bad back seat passengers don't get the warmed seats) Pickup is fantastic Fendall stereo is really nice. The regenerating hybrid is a marvel...we don't have to plug this one in to any electrical charger! Everyone loves the premium tire rims w/ fan-like design. We currently lease this vehicle, however we currently believe we will buy this one out & keep this one!"

8 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Great daily driver

By on Saturday, February 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"solid transportation"

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Bland and slow

By on Tuesday, January 20, 2015

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Didn't like it

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Gas Mileage"

Cons: "Very sluggish, bland"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Very bad car, owned it for one year. It's very bland, engine is sluggish and uncomfortable"

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Powerful yet gets 43mpg. Better than a hybrid

By on Monday, December 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love my jetta, I love Diesel engines, especially when it gets over 40mpg. Diesel engine last longer than gas engine(google it!) The torque in accelerating is way better than a hybrid. Hybrid cars are more expensive but runs on the cheaper gas. It will save you money every time you fill it up. On the other hand, jetta doesn't really save you money when you fill it up, diesel are more expensive tan premium gas, but this car was built to last. Check on some beat up diesel trucks from 1970s and it could still run-amazing.. I bought this car because it is the cheapest diesel car that I could find. Also, I could forgive this car when it jerks sometimes."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

better value than my BMW!

By on Thursday, February 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 13,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great value, fun to drive, technology package"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had a 3 series for several years and loved the way it drove but got tired of the super expensive maintenance. I test drove the Jetta SEL and loved it! It had every feature I wanted and saved me $15,000 compared to buying a new BMW. It has been great for the last year, and keeps up the standards of German performance. The technology package is also very cool, love the navigation system, keyless entry, and that it was iPod ready!"

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best value car I've ever owned

By on Saturday, September 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fair price, great mileage & interior comfort."

Cons: "Still looking for one-I'll get back to you..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My wife and I could see in the showroom that the 4-door Jetta had more rear seat legroom than virtually any car we've ever had, yet it has the smallest wheelbase. While snooping brands and dealers I stumbled onto the diesel version in internet reviews and the most eye-popping thing that jumps out at you is that the mileage numbers on the side windows you see on all new cars are UNDERSTATED for the Jetta. Our car is 30/41 but I'm reading and hearing from people that this car can get 50+ on the highway before we bought it. So with that and some other solid attributes going for it, we bought the diesel version. Our local driving number since buying has been at or near 40 since day one. And the new clean diesel is the most underappreciated option you will find on any new car lot in the USA. Much less long term maintenance, among other advantages. I'm still looking for something bad to say about this car. Well, trips to the gas station aren't as numerous as they once were, assuming you like shelling out $50 more rather than less often. One problem that diesel engines have had in the past is starting in frigid temperatures but the service guy told me that can be easily handled with gas tank additives available at auto stores. The interior is well laid out, and the standard rear back-up camera is a gift from auto Heaven. I shudder when I think of the money we've wasted on cars over the years that sadly lacked the overall quality and value of our Jetta. And no--I don't have a relative at the dealership and I don't own any VW stock."

35 people out of 63 found this review helpful

Solid, Affordable, Consistent.

By on Friday, February 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,680

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Well priced, solid handling, nice interior space"

Cons: "Some issue with this year model axle?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought the car as my first personal vehicle (no parental aid either financially or advisory), was more than satisfied with the experience. Was able to finance it on my own, and for the age I was, the car did wonders for me in terms of reliability, and the quality was just top notch in terms of mechanical composition. Fantastic vehicle for Interstate travel and around town travel."

27 people out of 48 found this review helpful

the best sedan for the money in it's class

By on Monday, April 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "european build quality, price, gas mileage"

Cons: "the base 2.0 engine is underpowered"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I choose the Jetta because of build, price and warranty (at the time the warranty was 3years with service), the handling is good and the engine keeps me with all city traffic. My mileage has been better than the epa estimate, and I cruise at 75 with no problem. As a previous VW owner, 65'Beetle and 77' Sirocco, I am just as pleased with the Jetta. In fact, the only other car that has been this balanced and reliable and has great dealer response was my 72' Datsun 510, which set a standard that has been hard to match. I plan to upgrade to the GLI or GTI in another year. I highly recommend the Jetta as a best buy for compact sedans. P.S. the Jetta has the same interior volume as the C class Mercedes-Benz."

25 people out of 45 found this review helpful

Car has a lot of electrical problems Lemon car

By on Sunday, November 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "great gas"

Cons: "not a tough car I feel like it can break any time"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"We have had this car for 2 years it has devaluated so fast and it's has given so much problems with electrial. I know people are very happy with their Jettas it's sad that we have had such bad experience. We Want get rid of it soon. Their customer service was great."

23 people out of 41 found this review helpful

I'm not impressed

By on Wednesday, October 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
2/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "Roomy interior"

Cons: "Baseline has no power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Nothing is this car is meant to last long term. There is a sound coming from the exhaust as if there is a hole in the muffler. I've had the vehicle for 10 months and I'm being told that the rotors are bad. This is not what I was expecting."

18 people out of 32 found this review helpful

what happened to VW?

By on Tuesday, September 08, 2015

I owned and sold this car
Reason: electrical problems

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "gas mileage was pretty good"

Cons: "electrical, shifting, too "european" for me."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"blew fuses right from the get go, shifting was horrible, spray off windshield with window open and all the fluid blows right into the car. electrical problems were getting worse with each drive. Headlights, fuses, dash lights, you name it."

9 people out of 16 found this review helpful

I like this vehicle a lot. Best VW ever owned.

By on Saturday, March 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my 4 VW vehicle. The previous cars were the Passat model which I liked too. However this vehicle is the best of all VW models I have owned. One reason is the Diesel Engine and the Automatic Transmission, which is very smooth and precise."

9 people out of 16 found this review helpful

a great all rounder

By on Sunday, May 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great fuel economy, good handling, spacious"

Cons: "center console intrudes on legroom"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned this car for 2.5 years and put 47K miles on it, in Indiana, Illinois, California and New York. Overall, this is a great car for many reasons: 1) The fuel economy is very good, even though you pay the extra 10-20% for diesel. I get the EPA numbers, 30 city and 42 highway. On long trips on level terrain, I get 46-48 if I drive 60-65mph, but on average on level and hilly terrains, while driving 70-75, I get the EPA rated 42. 2) The car handles very well. The hydraulic assisted steering is tight at slow speeds, but it still has very good feedback, enabling me to drive confidently on winding roads. There is some body lean on the corners while turning, but I guess it is unavoidable for a car of this size at this price point. 3) It is quite spacious. Not as big as a Passat, but it can easily and comfortable carry four people. It also has a pretty good trunk. 4) The interior is functional, with the essential stuff. It is one area where the car can improve. 5) The seats, however are comfortable, even on long trips. I've never had back problems in this car, even while driving up to 12 hours a day. Overall, I'd highly recommend the Jetta Diesel with Premium Package. This review is for that trim line."

26 people out of 47 found this review helpful

vinyl seats cheap looking

By on Saturday, November 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,800

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "expected more quality for the price of this car"

Cons: "cheap vinyl seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"small things continue to need fixing, not as depending as toyotas I had for many years. Next car will be toyota again, not VW. Disappointed in quality."

26 people out of 48 found this review helpful

Get the better engine

By on Sunday, January 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good price, good styling"

Cons: "Sluggish engine and transmission"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I have owned this car for nearly one year. Driving is sluggish with the entry-level engine. Fuel economy is not as advertised. First VW purchase and likely my last. Not impressed."

13 people out of 24 found this review helpful

good car for the price

By on Friday, January 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 800

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"bought a Jetta 2015 tsi. driven 8 hundred miles.Car rides good and has good power Handles well. Miss having a temperature gauge and fog lights.Interior is quite, solid.Because car is new waiting to see how reliability will be"

32 people out of 60 found this review helpful

TDI Great Power Great Economy

By on Friday, November 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 59,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great power and mileage."

Cons: "Expensive to get the TDI"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Volkswagen is in trouble for not making this car meet the emission standards. It is marketed at 42mpg hwy and 32 city, mine gets 52mpg Hwy and 42mpg all around. The TDI has outstanding power and is very quiet, more so than the gas powered Jetta's. I went from a Cadillac STS V-8 to this car, performance wise they are very comparable. I will not be sending my car in to be de-tuned and choked down to get worse mileage and less power."

20 people out of 38 found this review helpful

Love the car, but I miss shifts with the manual

By on Wednesday, July 29, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great mileage, handles well, atteactive"

Cons: "Manual transmission leads to stalling"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Really good car. Handles well, great mileage, feels solidly built, attractive for a wagon. The only downside, and the reason I am selling it is that I bought the manual transmission. It is fun, but despite growing up with stick shifts, I am still missing shifts from time to time, and this can be frightening, like when it happens in an intersection. Switching to a Golf with the automatic."

18 people out of 34 found this review helpful

Great car, fuel economy great, solid fun, quick

By on Friday, December 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I can't be more pleased with my car. 42 mpg overall, plus quick enough to be fun. I like the fact that the car leaves a much smaller "carbon footprint" than it's hybrid competition. VW doesn't take weight out of the body to get it's fuel economy so you still have that safe, solid German feel."

10 people out of 19 found this review helpful

Business Like-Appropriate For My Lifestyle

By on Sunday, August 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Seats, steering wheel, build quality (feels solid)"

Cons: "Highway acceleration, higher speed cornering."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought in early 2014 with 3,000 miles, now has 22,000 miles . Very nice car for it's purpose. I am an outside sales rep and the car's clean, handsome lines represent me well at this price point (inside has received compliments as well, I suspect the seats help). I have received many compliments on its looks. Inside, I have the leatherette seats and they are very comfortable. Steering wheel is wonderful. Driving experience is mixed. Accelerates well in town, but the I-5 struggles when at freeway speeds and want to accelerate to make a lane change or merge. Will go to "S" mode often. Fuel mileage is better than expected on the highway, not so great in the city (this might be because of my city driving habits, frequent stops at businesses). Handling is adequate at best in tight cornering, not assuring. Otherwise, nice ride with new tires I just put on. Did handle one of the roughest Wisconsin winter's on record last year with no issues (did well in snow, ABS was setup just right, heater was great, never any stress starting, never a rattle) and that earned a lot of respect from me. Car feels solid as a brick. Despite some mixed driving experience issues, I really like the car and plan on getting another VW in the future, likely a TDI or turbo depending on price. A nice car to spend a day in."

8 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Love my Jetta.

By on Sunday, December 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 26,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this car. (Diesel) Get 47 mpg all the time. Have got over 50 on long trips. Handles great and accelerates well. Exceeds my expectations for all aspects of driving."

24 people out of 46 found this review helpful

Cars made in Mexico don't cut it

By on Saturday, September 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
5/10

Cons: "VW needs to work out bugs in these cars"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Check engine light is on for the fourth time."

23 people out of 44 found this review helpful

cheapened vw jetta tdi

By on Thursday, January 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 4,500

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "truly over priced"

Cons: "cheap plastic interior"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Inferior interior, old fashioned look. Drives well, peppy great mileage, but why pay for diesel. Engine is quality, but overpriced maintenance and failure of many small components make it an overpriced purchase. Extended warranty is quite overpriced. I will return to Toyota."

13 people out of 25 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 7 8 9 ... 13 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Jetta near Honolulu. See local deals

Advertisement