Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2010 Volkswagen Jetta

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 1013 Ratings for the 2005 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Volkswagen safety standards save my life

By on Saturday, November 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "safety, style, high-end interior feel"

Cons: "Not enough storage compartments"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

This is just the front, the back end also looks just as bad!

"I slammed into the back of an 18 wheeler at 75 miles per hour and then another vehicle slammed into the back of mine at 75 miles per hour. My 2008 Volkswagen Jetta had no front end or back end left, but the cabin looked just like it did the day I bought it, other than the airbag being deployed. When people see pictures of my car after the accident they can't believe that I was not injured. Just a scrape on my knee and a busted nose from the airbag, along with some bruising from the seatbelt are the only injuries I received. But one look at the car and I know it could have been so much worse! Thanks Volkswagen for your safety standards.... they really saved my life!"

67 people out of 67 found this review helpful

This is just the front, the back end also looks just as bad!

Excellent ride

By on Tuesday, August 28, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car is a lot of fun to drive. You can throw it around a bit, especially with the larger rims and lower profile tires, and yet it is an exceptionally comfortable cruiser. The optional Detroit wheels (that look like a revolver) are especially nice, and the seats are supportive and remarkably comfortable. There are quicker sedans out there, which are also much more expensive. The road manners are excellent and even forgiving for the less experienced driver. Back seat accomodations are very nice, and the trunk and interior space are at least as spacious as our 2002 Passat. DSG transmission is beautifully matched to the engine. We got ours on a lease, and it looks like we'll be buying the car at the end of the term. In snow states, be sure to get a set of winter tires to switch out the summer performance tires."

24 people out of 24 found this review helpful

safety, reliable as honda accord, jetta 2.5 2008

By on Saturday, December 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable as any car on earth [2008 jetta 2.5]"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have only changed oil, brakes on this vehicle. drives nice tight feel, very solid car-does best in IIHS crash tests receiving complement 'this is the way cars should be built' from IIHS spokesman=2008 2.5 model the best year....... the new, small frontal, iihs crash test was disappointing ['fair'] so I am looking at volvo [xc 90 or xc 60].........it seems only volvo thought of this ten years ago [the xc90 2005 on does incredibly well on the small frontal test, no other vehicle -except volvo 60, comes close] back seat too small for adults for a trip of any length ,, my only complaint is the new crash test...................manufacturers never thought you might hit a telephone pole , or an oncoming vehicle , striking at your headlight, only , area? disappointing to say the least..........from now on only Volvo, lesson learned"

12 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Maintain

By on Thursday, November 26, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

"Owned my 07 scince new never had a problem with it, great handling, great style, accelerate from 70 to 100 mph on highway instantly and not even notice your doing 100mph, overall i like the car but have some concern about the future maintenance of this car, It seems everything for this car requires some special fluids or procedure to be done, Example 1 gallon of antifreeze cost $24.00 one oil change $65.00 doing it my self. My concern is how much will it cost when i need to change transmission oil, brakes shocks tires and the dreaded timing belt, what i have heard while the Tech has the front of the engine apart might as well change water pump to, all must be done at dealer $$ Currently my VW somtimes has a strange noise come from the transmission it seems like the transmission sometimes gets confused as to what gear it should go into resulting in a low pitch clunk sound, this happens occasionally on acceleration and deceleration. With all windows rolled up and sun roof open at 30mph U get a helicopter noise in the car and i can feel my eardrums being sucked in and out, sounds Strange i know. Roll all windows down if riding with sunroof open"

12 people out of 12 found this review helpful

You can't go wrong with a TDI

By on Wednesday, November 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 69,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Efficient & practical with a lot of great features"

Cons: "no changes to the newer model"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is a true "steady eddy". This car has never failed me or left me stranded. The maintenance can be a bit costly but I've never experienced any major issues in the year I have owned it. It looks a little like a soccer mom car but still has a sporty and upscale look. VW isn't known for making changes from year to year & this is definately true with the Jetta sportwagon. A 2014 is exactly the same as my 2009. This car holds a lot of cargo so you won't be disappointed with the rear cargo space - especially once you fold the rear seats down. If you want something luxurious this is likely not your car. It doesn't have a fancy interior or a wow factor. It's comfortable, practical and efficient on fuel. My TDI gets about 40-42 MPG on the highway. You will not have trouble reselling a TDI - these are sought after vehicles!"

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great commuting car!

By on Friday, April 17, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"We are on our 3rd Jetta TDI. My husband has had his TDI for 10yrs w/ over 260,000mi and still runs like a champ. We both decided to buy 2 more 2009 TDI b/c they are so reliable and our daily work commute is long. The price is worth it!"

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Remarkably reliable

By on Wednesday, March 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 162,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This has been my most reliable car, perhaps that's why I've had it for 10 years. Only 1-2 warranty issues over the years and very economical to use as my commuter car. Good comfort. Good ride quality and handling. Spacious trunk. Plenty of room."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Lemon Alert!

By on Friday, August 06, 2010

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I'm not sure if it's just mine, but the Jetta sitting in my work parking lot right now has a lot of issues. It's a beautiful car, well designed inside and out. Dual climate zones, bottom warmers, indicator lights. Problem: Major mechanical issues. I've had windows, locks, solenoids, a seat, shock bearings, lights (SO many headlights) , etc replaced. That was within warranty. Then, my transmission exploded. Not sure why. That cost me $7000 to fix, cash. I had to take out a 2nd loan. Now my used 2005 New Jetta cost me a grand total of $28,000, before interest. Watch out. It's beautiful to look at, but it's been a nightmare."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great drivetrain, but Electrical,Interior is poor

By on Wednesday, February 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Excellent gas milage"

Cons: "Interior,exterior quality"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Electrical wiring harness recall.Class action only partially paid for replacement.Headliners only lasted a few years.Plastic coating on doorlocks radio ect. comes off in pieces.Headlight lens degrade quickly.Problem with trunk latches.My 2006 drives great but the extra cost repairing poor quality adds up."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Drives great, looks great--but it's a Volkswagen.

By on Saturday, July 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Styling, looks, amenities."

Cons: "premium fuel"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Wonderful-looking car, and fun to drive. Super looks. At this point, though (86,000 miles and just out of warranty), strange things are going on, costing me over $2000 in repairs this summer."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Jetta near Honolulu. See local deals