Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2009 Volkswagen Jetta

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 971 Ratings for the 2005 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 98 | Next

Drives great, looks great--but it's a Volkswagen.

By on Saturday, July 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Styling, looks, amenities."

Cons: "premium fuel"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Wonderful-looking car, and fun to drive. Super looks. At this point, though (86,000 miles and just out of warranty), strange things are going on, costing me over $2000 in repairs this summer."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

very Good economy, roomy, reliable, great looks,

By on Saturday, July 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 34,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "better reliability than the other 21 other cars"

Cons: "Should have bought the deisel model for econmy."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"the best car I have owned,out of 21. good economy"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

lovely but not so lovely

By on Thursday, July 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "small, fun to drive, space inside,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"The car is very difficult to work on yourself. I think that is why i've rated it so poorly. German cars are too difficult and expensive to work on. i took my car to walmart to get an oil change and they wouldnt even do it for me!"

Good gas mileage reliable and peppy

By on Wednesday, July 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Reliability, great price, delivers as advertised"

Cons: "driving can be a bit rough with automatic shifting"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I needed a reliable car, peppy and with good gas mileage; I found them all in the Jetta TDI. Reliability: besides regular schedule maintenances and tire replacement, I have not fix or replace any thing in this car. I like the power that the TDI engin delivers, although, the automatic DSG transmission makes it feel like driving a standard, it is an advantage for saving brake usage. I never had a car that lasted 100k without brake service, automatic or standard. I commute long distance for work, I couldn't have done without it, my average gas mileage is in the low 40's, my best was 50 mpg."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

very good

By on Wednesday, July 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Dependable"

Great engine, fun to drive, In the shop to much.

By on Thursday, July 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great engine, Awesome Fuel economy, good handling"

Cons: "Radio and AC bad before 70K miles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Purchased my Jetta TDI in November 2009. Great car to drive. The only complaint I have about the cabin quality is noise. Road noise is not good and even the heat/AC system is loud on high. Maintenance every 40K miles is ~$1000. A point the salesman never mentioned. My problem is reliability. @ 67,000 miles I am on my second $1000 plus repair. First was an AC compressor @ about 60,000 miles. After the repair in December, I had no cold air in June. Had to recharge it myself. This time the radio went out (@67,000 miles). It's just dead. Radio's don't wear out. Swapping it out is no easy task. Even to order a new one you need the old one out of the car for the model number. I may not fix it, just take my lumps and trade it in."

yah

By on Tuesday, July 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "45 mpg"

Cons: "expensive to work on"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"cool"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Very reliable, fun to drive, economical

By on Sunday, July 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "good looking, quality materials, easy driving"

Cons: "road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Just checking what my options are."

Bad car!

By on Friday, June 27, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: terrible car

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "I'ts a "drivers car" when it runs"

Cons: "Breaks down and strands you over and over again"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I purchased my Jetta TDI new. Turbo went out at 30K and 60K. Car left me stranded on the road due to other "electronic issues". Hard to start or would not start in the winter. This is by far the worst car I've ever owned - and I've owned some American cars built in the 70's... Volkswagen - you fooled me once."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

I love this car. It's a great vehicle.

By on Thursday, June 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 56,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It drives like a dream. Great price for me."

Cons: "Cup holders are back a bit too far for me."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had a 1967 or 1968 Volkswagen Beetle. I drove 45 miles to and from work each day. It never let me down. Gas at that time was about 19 cents a gallon. I filled it up once a week for around $5 to $6. I knew how great a car Volkswagen was and was very happy when I was showed the Volkswagen Jetta. I bought it in January 2014 with about 53,486 miles on it. The color is silver, beautiful. It was a used car, but still had that new smell. I am very petite (4'9") and it sits me up where I can see over the steering wheel and still reach the petals with complete comfort. It is so snappy to drive. I hope to have it until I pass away since I'm elderly. That could be tomorrow or 10 to 20 years from now, if I'm lucky."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 98 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Jetta near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details