Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2009 Volkswagen Jetta

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 1010 Ratings for the 2005 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Best Car I have Owned -2010 Jetta Ltd Edition

By on Tuesday, April 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Easy to drive, great road handling, good pick-up"

Cons: "doesn't have satellite radio"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have had it for 5 years and have had no problems other than tire inflation indicator issue that was caused by me using a synthetic tire inflator. Never use that stuff...it ruined the tire and I think the service guy broker the indicator on the tire rim when he was trying to find the problem. Anyway, I replaced the indicator and it works fine now. The car runs great and handles the turns well with that German engineering. I use the tiptronic regularly instead of braking all the time, mileage is 25/30. Comfortable seating on long trips (leatherette seating) and perfect for my size 5'7 145. Also like the fold down rear seats for when I'm lugging stuff. I'll keep this car for as long as it runs."

Love it

By on Monday, April 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought this car brand new in 2007 and have driven it all over the place. We have made sure we stuck to the owner's manual for all maintenance and it is a good thing we did because this car has been nothing but incredible to us. We shipped it from the US to the UK, drove it all over Europe and then shipped it back to the US with us and she is still going strong. 112k miles and we haven't had any major issues (I definitely cannot say the same about our TDI beetle). Like one other reviewer, we've had a couple of warranty items that we had fixed but other than that, our biggest issues have been the driver side headlight goes through bulbs rather quickly (really not that big of a deal) and the panel between the front and back passenger side windows had paint peel off of it (again, not that big of an issue considering its a black panel and the material under the paint is also black). My husband is a TDI lover for life now. Once this car finally dies, he plans on buying another one."

Worst Car I've ever owned

By on Saturday, March 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
3/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I bought this car with 50,000 miles from a dealer. It never made it home without a tow, I've stuck 3000.00 in parts and repairs in over just 39,000 miles. I hate this thing and will get rid of it within the month."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Remarkably reliable

By on Wednesday, March 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 162,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This has been my most reliable car, perhaps that's why I've had it for 10 years. Only 1-2 warranty issues over the years and very economical to use as my commuter car. Good comfort. Good ride quality and handling. Spacious trunk. Plenty of room."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

145k (2009) acts and rides like new, great MPG

By on Saturday, March 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "MPG, ride & handling, pickup response, looks."

Cons: "Diesel maintenance cost"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Average 32 to 42 mpg and love the pickup/torque I get from this diesel. My '09 Jetta has never broken down or given any trouble in a 145,000 miles. Do all scheduled maintenance and replaced wearable items: battery, wipers, rear brakes, tires. Have only had three mechanical problems in 7 years. Diesel maintenance costs are generally higher than gas. No squeaks or rattles and the interior looks like new. It is a fun car to drive, handles well, sips fuel and takes-off like a rabbit."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

I have driven this car for 8 years.

By on Saturday, February 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love the gas mileage. We drove a long distance to get to cancer treatments for myself and it never failed me and was inexpensive to drive. Those who drove for me also enjoyed driving this car."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great drivetrain, but Electrical,Interior is poor

By on Wednesday, February 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Excellent gas milage"

Cons: "Interior,exterior quality"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Electrical wiring harness recall.Class action only partially paid for replacement.Headliners only lasted a few years.Plastic coating on doorlocks radio ect. comes off in pieces.Headlight lens degrade quickly.Problem with trunk latches.My 2006 drives great but the extra cost repairing poor quality adds up."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

well cared for and in excellent condition

By on Saturday, February 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "easy drive good mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have enjoyed this car. It's well cared for and in excellent conditio."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

nice car

By on Saturday, February 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "good fuel mileage, handles well, low maintenance c"

Cons: "harsh ride, parts expensive, labor expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Bought it with 91000 miles. Something in the torque converter rattles when the engine idles but isn't hurting anything. Air conditioning doesn't blow very cold air and am told it is a design flaw. Other than that, not very many problems with it so far. Have put 15,000 miles on it in 3 years. Car has somewhat of a harsh ride but with 50 series tires, it rides somewhat better. 40 series tires makes it ride pretty rough."

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great Mileage

By on Monday, January 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Workhorse with power and great fuel mileage,"

Cons: "Maintenance and diesel fuel price differnce"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Not luxury but very functional. No major issues...just normal maintenance. VW Diesel maintenance is more costly than a gasoline fuel vehicle."

13 people out of 19 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Jetta near Honolulu. See local deals