Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2006 Volkswagen Jetta

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 981 Ratings for the 2005 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 40 | Next

love the car but always something wrong with it.

By on Saturday, May 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "fun to drive and comfortable,great driver leg room"

Cons: "not reliable."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Too many repairs."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Nice car

By on Tuesday, April 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very nice car."

1 person out of 6 found this review helpful

good looks comfortable great mpg reliable

By on Friday, April 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Slight torque steer which is new to me"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Wanted diesel and gave up my long series of Audis because they didn't offer what I wanted. No disappointment. ."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Only for people with money to burn.

By on Thursday, April 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "It's fun to drive for the first 30,000 miles."

Cons: "Poor durability!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"After countless problems with this car, I cannot recommend a VW to anyone. The parts are expensive, and hard to replace. The check OBD2 information is almost worthless when it comes to solving your check engine light problems. Before the warranty was up, the stereo quit working properly, the heated seats malfunctioned, the air bag light stays on, the dash screen is fading, one of the rear door locks do not lock, the AC compressor failed, an electrical part for the turbo failed....the list goes on and on. Never going to buy VW again."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Quite good car

By on Wednesday, April 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Very good car, quite reliable, however poor maintenance on my part."

Don't buy one of these!

By on Wednesday, April 16, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Shotty Electronics, Transmission issues

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, great interior, comfortable ride"

Cons: "Expensive to maintain, breaks w/o warning"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I have owned a 2008 VW Jetta for around 4 years, it was my first car and I loved it. It is a blast to drive and the interior is comfortable yet functional. I have taken it to and from San Diego many times, the Grand Canyon, Moab and put around 70,000 miles on it. All was good in the world until it reached 100,000 miles, thats when it all started to fall apart. The electronics stopped functioning properly, the back left door wouldn't lock and the alternator lost power completely on multiple occasions. First it was the alternator, then an O2 sensor, then it was a temperature sensor, then the tires started leaking air and the automatic transmission started to hard shift very violently. I was ALWAYS up to date with maintenance, as any VW owner should be. The driving is great and lots of fun, the maintenance on the other hand is ridiculous, excessive and expensive. If you buy one, make sure its under 100,000 miles and trade it in right before you get there. Its not worth the financial commitment."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Wont drive anything else

By on Wednesday, April 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned 2 of these vehicles. I will never own any other kind of car. The fuel milage is crazy good, up to 55 mpg"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I've never had any problems with my car.

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "No cons that I can see"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"No problems with this car. Very reliable car. Would definitely buy another Volkswagon."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Wonderful car, handles great, fun to drive

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Economical to drive"

Cons: "heated leather seats are awesom"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Jetta TDI is the best car I have ever owned. I still enjoy driving it, and it has been very dependable."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Wonderful car, handles great, fun to drive

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Economical to drive"

Cons: "heated leather seats are awesom"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Jetta TDI is the best car I have ever owned. I still enjoy driving it, and it has been very dependable."

Very nice car. Great mileage. High value and well

By on Wednesday, April 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Overall build quality is excellent. 86000 miles on michigan roads and still no BSR issues."

i have been a chevy person

By on Thursday, April 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "gas milage great, well made"

Cons: "expensive to fix, but i have not had problems yet"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"we bought the vw wagon, for the great gas milage and comfort. I get around 30 mpg. its a normal gas car with sport package. low profile is nice for entering and exiting. the only thing I don't like is the skid plate. takes way longer to get an oil change. these are very smart made cars, it even let me know when my tail light was out:)"

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

Lemon constant electrical problems

By on Friday, March 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Great drive and comfortable"

Cons: "been to service center every 2 to 3 months"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Car has had a check engine, and airbag light on ever since the car was repaired for a wiring harness recall. They work on it goes away, 2 to 3 months later its back on."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

very solid feel, fun to drive

By on Tuesday, March 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "this model has lotsa high end features"

Cons: "Cup holders are hard to clean"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"DSG trans is amazing, lightening quick gear changes and silky smooth. diesel engine is quiet, clean exhaust and lotsa torque. overall a great car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Car.

By on Monday, March 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Mileage, power, handeling."

Cons: "Small, takes a long time to get used to the clutch"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We love the car but the clutch takes a long time to get used to. If I had known the automatic got about the same mileage I would not have bought a manual."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great Car.

By on Monday, March 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Mileage, power, handeling."

Cons: "Small, takes a long time to get used to the clutch"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We love the car but the clutch takes a long time to get used to. If I had known the automatic got about the same mileage I would not have bought a manual."

Great mpg, great handling, fun to drive

By on Tuesday, March 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 266,660

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Diesel fuel economy, manual transmission, handling"

Cons: ""idiot light" instrumentation, 36000 mile warranty"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My wife and I have driven VW's over 2 million miles, most of which are with diesel engine and manual transmission. Have never had one bit of trouble with the manual transmissions, and they shift beautifully. We drove one of our VW diesels 436,000 miles and the current one has 266,000 miles and I would say is in it's prime. Fuel mileage is better than ever ... mostly around 50 mpg. We did have a faulty dual mass flywheel on our '06 Jetta TDI, and the dealer avoided correcting it, so we had to repair at our own expense ... not happy about that! We just purchased a 2014 Jetta TDI from another dealer and are very satisfied with the dealer. Am very irritated that VW has chosen to eliminate the engine temperature gauge and substituted an "idiot light", but the 6 speed manual is great, and the driving experience is typical VW! How likely am I to recommend this car to a friend? Depends on the person ... this car is perfect for some people, but not everyone."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Saturday, March 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Mileage in mid 40's at freeway speeds. (75-80 mph) Fun to drive"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

powerful, reliable,econimical,

By on Monday, March 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive with enough TQ to pull tree stumps"

Cons: "interior rattles, interior rattles..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Awesome car, only 1200 made so it's a collector item already, it's a diesel race car for the street, Jetta GLI suspension, feisty turbo with 50 plus MPG on the highway, plus anyone who is a VW junkie will drool when they see this car reason being is they never get to see them in real life with only 1200 made, great diesel sedan that will take any gas vehicle to the grave..."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car.

By on Monday, March 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this car for about 2 years now, and have nothing but positive things to say about it. Excellent gas mileage, 36 mpg is the lowest it has ever gone and 43 is the highest. Yes diesel is a bit more expensive, but it more than makes up for it. The heated seats work awesome for those cold days. This car runs so strong I never worry about anything happening on long road trips. The only thing missing is an MP3 input, but I had one installed for about $150, so no big deal. If you're thinking about getting a TDI, I would highly suggest it."

Good overall, but too expensive to maintain

By on Friday, February 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Outstanding fuel economy/handling"

Cons: "High maintenance cost"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Handling, looks, fuel economy, fit/finish are great, but it seems something very expensive manages to break every 10000 miles. Always dealer-maintained @ 101$/hour! Just can't justify this level of expense anymore!"

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

FUN TO DRIVE,GREAT MILEAGE,WOULD BUY ANOTHER ONE.

By on Saturday, February 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "RELIABLE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great all around car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great car. Handling, mileage, comfort. the whole

By on Tuesday, February 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 51,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best german car for the money"

Cons: "service can be pricey"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Still has dashboard blue lights. VW should never have changed. I plan on driving this car into the ground. Nothing appears cheap in the interior. Gets over 40mpg."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Enjoyable driving experience

By on Saturday, February 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun confident driving experience"

Cons: "Paint comes away on some controls and radio face"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car is not overpowered but has all needed for a comfortable safe drive with spare power for sudden acceleration if needed. The road holding is excellent and the car feels solid on the road. The cabin and trunk space are ample for our three person family, even though the spare is a preferred full size wheel."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great car for the money

By on Thursday, January 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 57,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliability, solid ride and quality"

Cons: "Door locks are unreliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I am the original owner having put 57000 miles on the car. It has been perfectly reliable in every respect with one exception: the door locks do not always work properly. Having said that, the car has never broken down, gets good enough gas mileage, and has excellent features with the SE version. Other than oil changes, tires, brakes, battery, and one front light bulb, the car has not needed additional maintenance or repair. I have driven the car from NY to Florida a few times without any problems. The seats are comfortable, the engine is powerful enough, and it does well enough in rough weather. In this price range, one cannot do any better in my opinion."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 40 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Jetta near Honolulu. See local deals