Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2006 Volkswagen Jetta

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 971 Ratings for the 2005 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 39 | Next

Drives great, looks great--but it's a Volkswagen.

By on Saturday, July 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Styling, looks, amenities."

Cons: "premium fuel"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Wonderful-looking car, and fun to drive. Super looks. At this point, though (86,000 miles and just out of warranty), strange things are going on, costing me over $2000 in repairs this summer."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

very Good economy, roomy, reliable, great looks,

By on Saturday, July 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 34,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "better reliability than the other 21 other cars"

Cons: "Should have bought the deisel model for econmy."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"the best car I have owned,out of 21. good economy"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

lovely but not so lovely

By on Thursday, July 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "small, fun to drive, space inside,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"The car is very difficult to work on yourself. I think that is why i've rated it so poorly. German cars are too difficult and expensive to work on. i took my car to walmart to get an oil change and they wouldnt even do it for me!"

Good gas mileage reliable and peppy

By on Wednesday, July 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Reliability, great price, delivers as advertised"

Cons: "driving can be a bit rough with automatic shifting"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I needed a reliable car, peppy and with good gas mileage; I found them all in the Jetta TDI. Reliability: besides regular schedule maintenances and tire replacement, I have not fix or replace any thing in this car. I like the power that the TDI engin delivers, although, the automatic DSG transmission makes it feel like driving a standard, it is an advantage for saving brake usage. I never had a car that lasted 100k without brake service, automatic or standard. I commute long distance for work, I couldn't have done without it, my average gas mileage is in the low 40's, my best was 50 mpg."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

very good

By on Wednesday, July 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Dependable"

Great engine, fun to drive, In the shop to much.

By on Thursday, July 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great engine, Awesome Fuel economy, good handling"

Cons: "Radio and AC bad before 70K miles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Purchased my Jetta TDI in November 2009. Great car to drive. The only complaint I have about the cabin quality is noise. Road noise is not good and even the heat/AC system is loud on high. Maintenance every 40K miles is ~$1000. A point the salesman never mentioned. My problem is reliability. @ 67,000 miles I am on my second $1000 plus repair. First was an AC compressor @ about 60,000 miles. After the repair in December, I had no cold air in June. Had to recharge it myself. This time the radio went out (@67,000 miles). It's just dead. Radio's don't wear out. Swapping it out is no easy task. Even to order a new one you need the old one out of the car for the model number. I may not fix it, just take my lumps and trade it in."

yah

By on Tuesday, July 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "45 mpg"

Cons: "expensive to work on"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"cool"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Very reliable, fun to drive, economical

By on Sunday, July 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "good looking, quality materials, easy driving"

Cons: "road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Just checking what my options are."

Bad car!

By on Friday, June 27, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: terrible car

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "I'ts a "drivers car" when it runs"

Cons: "Breaks down and strands you over and over again"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I purchased my Jetta TDI new. Turbo went out at 30K and 60K. Car left me stranded on the road due to other "electronic issues". Hard to start or would not start in the winter. This is by far the worst car I've ever owned - and I've owned some American cars built in the 70's... Volkswagen - you fooled me once."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

I love this car. It's a great vehicle.

By on Thursday, June 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 56,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It drives like a dream. Great price for me."

Cons: "Cup holders are back a bit too far for me."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had a 1967 or 1968 Volkswagen Beetle. I drove 45 miles to and from work each day. It never let me down. Gas at that time was about 19 cents a gallon. I filled it up once a week for around $5 to $6. I knew how great a car Volkswagen was and was very happy when I was showed the Volkswagen Jetta. I bought it in January 2014 with about 53,486 miles on it. The color is silver, beautiful. It was a used car, but still had that new smell. I am very petite (4'9") and it sits me up where I can see over the steering wheel and still reach the petals with complete comfort. It is so snappy to drive. I hope to have it until I pass away since I'm elderly. That could be tomorrow or 10 to 20 years from now, if I'm lucky."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Worst German vehicle I have ever owned !!!

By on Monday, June 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "Gas Mileage."

Cons: "Poor quality."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Numerous repairs needed in addition to the three recalls. A/C unit went our after only 5 years, paid $1400 to repair and it still doesn't cool properly. I understand now why VW only has 36 mo. 36,000 mile warranty."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

German quality

By on Tuesday, June 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,029

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quality, technology."

Cons: "None."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this 2009 Jetta with 27,000 miles and it now just passed the 60,000. Short local drives only mostly, except a back and forth trip from Miami to Las Vegas, 7,000 miles. Excellent experience, drives like an airplane. No strange noise, no engine heat, acceptable fuel consumption and very comfortable ride. Excellent radio. A feeling of safety. Extremely stable."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Most reliable and overall favorite

By on Saturday, May 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 198,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Ive had this car for nearly five years and it has been my favorite car that Ive owned. Overall best value too. The only issues Ive ever had were minor and not a road hazard."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle

By on Sunday, May 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Great gas mileage, Very Reliable, comfortable."

Cons: "not a sports car, an normal 4 door, no complaints"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Picking up my Car... in Kaiserslautern, DE

"I chose this car based on the Gas Mileage, and reputation of the Volkswagen. I was no disappointed. I have had this vehicle for 5 years. Each year, I am happier and happier. So far, no major issues. Drives great in snow and icy conditions. I am even more pleased with the gas mileage than I believed. I get anywhere from 39 to 50 mpg (depending on time of year and driving conditions). I was able to drive from Gulf Shores, AL to Louisville, KY on one tank of gas."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Picking up my Car... in Kaiserslautern, DE

Love my VW

By on Sunday, May 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love this car. It've had it for 5 years now and hope it keep it for at least another 5. My 2 kids, husband and I fit in the car fine. I can fit their 2 bikes, scooters and other things in the big trunk. It only takes regular gas so the fuel costs are low. The stereo system is great and the cold weather package is amazing in the winter."

6 people out of 13 found this review helpful

love the car but always something wrong with it.

By on Saturday, May 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "fun to drive and comfortable,great driver leg room"

Cons: "not reliable."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Too many repairs."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Nice car

By on Tuesday, April 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very nice car."

1 person out of 6 found this review helpful

good looks comfortable great mpg reliable

By on Friday, April 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Slight torque steer which is new to me"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Wanted diesel and gave up my long series of Audis because they didn't offer what I wanted. No disappointment. ."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Only for people with money to burn.

By on Thursday, April 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "It's fun to drive for the first 30,000 miles."

Cons: "Poor durability!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"After countless problems with this car, I cannot recommend a VW to anyone. The parts are expensive, and hard to replace. The check OBD2 information is almost worthless when it comes to solving your check engine light problems. Before the warranty was up, the stereo quit working properly, the heated seats malfunctioned, the air bag light stays on, the dash screen is fading, one of the rear door locks do not lock, the AC compressor failed, an electrical part for the turbo failed....the list goes on and on. Never going to buy VW again."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Quite good car

By on Wednesday, April 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Very good car, quite reliable, however poor maintenance on my part."

Don't buy one of these!

By on Wednesday, April 16, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Shotty Electronics, Transmission issues

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, great interior, comfortable ride"

Cons: "Expensive to maintain, breaks w/o warning"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I have owned a 2008 VW Jetta for around 4 years, it was my first car and I loved it. It is a blast to drive and the interior is comfortable yet functional. I have taken it to and from San Diego many times, the Grand Canyon, Moab and put around 70,000 miles on it. All was good in the world until it reached 100,000 miles, thats when it all started to fall apart. The electronics stopped functioning properly, the back left door wouldn't lock and the alternator lost power completely on multiple occasions. First it was the alternator, then an O2 sensor, then it was a temperature sensor, then the tires started leaking air and the automatic transmission started to hard shift very violently. I was ALWAYS up to date with maintenance, as any VW owner should be. The driving is great and lots of fun, the maintenance on the other hand is ridiculous, excessive and expensive. If you buy one, make sure its under 100,000 miles and trade it in right before you get there. Its not worth the financial commitment."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Wont drive anything else

By on Wednesday, April 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned 2 of these vehicles. I will never own any other kind of car. The fuel milage is crazy good, up to 55 mpg"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I've never had any problems with my car.

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "No cons that I can see"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"No problems with this car. Very reliable car. Would definitely buy another Volkswagon."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Wonderful car, handles great, fun to drive

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Economical to drive"

Cons: "heated leather seats are awesom"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Jetta TDI is the best car I have ever owned. I still enjoy driving it, and it has been very dependable."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Wonderful car, handles great, fun to drive

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Economical to drive"

Cons: "heated leather seats are awesom"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Jetta TDI is the best car I have ever owned. I still enjoy driving it, and it has been very dependable."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 39 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Jetta near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details