Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2006 Volkswagen Jetta

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 993 Ratings for the 2005 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 100 | Next

Almost good

By on Sunday, November 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "too many small problems"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"I was pretty satisfied with this car, until I started having trouble with so many little things. First the cover the rear windshield wiper fell off, might have been from car wash. Then my rear hatch would only open sometimes. Then the driver side door would not lock, Now the rear driver side door won't unlock, and can't even open from the inside. I believe it's bad lock actuators. I also had to replace the Turbo actuator, which the dealer was unable to diagnose, they wanted to replace the whole turbo, but luckily found a good local shop to fix it. I really wanted to like the car. I love the handling and the awesome MPG, but overall I'm disappointed with the car."

Love it

By on Tuesday, November 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 53,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price, dependable, reliable"

Cons: "tdi jetta get even better mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best car I have ever owned, couldn't be happier with the 2010 jetta. I tried out a lot of cars but being 6'2" was an issue. this has plenty of room for my feet and head. Ive owned it since 2010 and almost have it paid off and don't plan on getting rid of it. Everything seems top of the line and the ride is the smoothest and quietest ride out there as far as I'm concerned."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

TDI Joan Jetta is a tank

By on Tuesday, November 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "MPG, brakes, easy to maintain, trunk space"

Cons: "exterior color choices are slim (no green)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Original owner (this is our 3rd TDI) and Joan Jetta is a tank -- she's made it through Hurricane Ike and a couple of falling tree limbs as well... Common repairs are an EGR heater hose replacement, RCV (refrigerant control valve), DMF (dual mass flywheel) replacement. Also, I've done all the maintenance since Day #1, so yes, the supplies are specific and somewhat expensive, but all 4 filters (oil, fuel, air, cabin) can be changed in less than 1 hour. She routinely gets mid-30 mpg in rough Houston city driving and I've gotten 49 mpg highway at consistent 70 mph. Also, there is no DEF (diesel exhaust fluid) required and she is exempt from the TX annual exhaust testing for the inspection sticker. Finally, like the title says, Joan Jetta is a tank, so don't hesitate to allow your teenager to drive her"

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Best car! Most bang for my bucks!!

By on Sunday, November 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Perfect car, great on fuel, super fun ride!"

Cons: "no con's from my point of view!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned my TDI Jetta for 7 years now and I love it!! Its a beautiful car and super on fuel mileage! I will be buying another new one next year!!!"

Best car I've bought

By on Tuesday, October 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "MPG, fun to drive, fit and finish"

Cons: "Maintenance difficult to do yourself"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have the Cup Edition and it's the best vehicle we've owned. It's fun to drive around town and even better on the highway. My wife drives 75 miles each way to work and she averages 47mpg. The inside is nice. I don't know what else to say other than we love the car."

8 people out of 16 found this review helpful

I love this car!

By on Sunday, October 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Gas milage is awesome, handles great, reliable"

Cons: "no leg room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is the third VW Jetta TDI I've owned and I will continue to buy them. The gas mileage is phenomenal! I average about 46 mpg highway. It is very reliable and handles pretty well in cold weather and snow considering its size and weight. The only problem I've had with any of the three I owned is the wiring in the steering column. I had this problem on my second Jetta, but not the one I own now. I feel very safe in these cars as well. The handling is great and the safety ratings are good too. The trunk fits a lot."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great car.

By on Saturday, October 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great car fun to drive."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Fun to drive. Never let me down. only regular maintenance."

Great car, minus the price of repairs

By on Thursday, October 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Runs FOREVER! Great MPG. Fun to drive"

Cons: "Expensive to repair. Specialty parts are awful."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I absolutely LOVE my Jetta TDI! It has not fail me yet. I have driven it across country many times and it is awesome. What I love most about it is the MPG. If I don't speed, I can get up to 45+ on the highway, and then in the city it gets about 30+. But if something goes out on the ol' hot rod it is very pricey to fix. One of my headlights went out one time and it was about $60 to fix... And getting the oil changed (only every 10,000 miles cause its a TDI) is about $50. But do you expect anything less from a German car? Again I absolutely LOVE my car, besides the price of the repairs:)"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

great auto

By on Tuesday, October 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "will buy another the diesel comes loaded"

Cons: "0"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car Comfortable on long trips--41 to 49 mpg diesel 31 to 32 in city quiet no smell, smoke or clatter different sound than gas engine great looking roomy for passengers and luggage minimal torque steer cruises easily at 80 at 2500 rpm reliable"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Awesome Car!

By on Thursday, October 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Sharp looking, drives great, very good options!"

Cons: "Only con I have is that it's black!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the best vehicle I've ever owned! I love this car and hope it never wears out. If it does, you can bet I will get another VW Jetta!!!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 100 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Jetta near Honolulu. See local deals