Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2004 Volkswagen Jetta

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.4
Out of 10

Based on 1455 Ratings for the 1999 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.8/10
    Quality
    7.7/10
  • Reliability
    7.7/10
    Performance
    8.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.0/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 146 | Next

One of the best vaule cars I've ever owned

By on Monday, March 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "It has never left me on the road :)"

Cons: "can't think of any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car in 2002 and I'm looking to buy another desiel car. This car gets 50 mpg its the best one they have made so far. It was well put together, tuff little car and dependable."

awesome turbo power

By on Tuesday, March 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"love my jetta!"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Great car if taken care of

By on Monday, February 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fun to drive and reliability"

Cons: "Repairs expensive Doesn't like being cold"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I bought the 1.8t 4 months ago and I knew it needed some work but since I've been driving issue after issue. Why? Because the previous owner had no clue how to take care of the car. These Vws love their routine Maintainence. I would recommend getting a Manuel transmission cause replacing the auto is a royal pain and expensive. But other than that it's a fantastic car a joy to drive and I would recommend one that has been taken care of. And if the owner can't prove it don't buy it!"

12 people out of 14 found this review helpful

I love my GLI! Sporty, stylish and fun to drive.

By on Thursday, February 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Styling, sporty, good mpg & FUN TO DRIVE!"

Cons: "Must do scheduled maintenance, small gas tank."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am the 2nd owner of my 2005 VW GLI 1.8T and I have loved this car from the beginning. Many people curse the Jetta for several issues. They all have the 99'-03' models. The 2004.5-2005 years cleared all that mess up. This car has great euro styling, the interior is well laid out and the Recaro seats are extremely supportive and comfortable. I've put 60,000 spirited miles on it and it just keeps giving me what I want. Gas mileage is still good for how I drive. I still get 22mpg/city and 31mpg/highway. On long road trips its more like 38-41mpg. Steering is nice and firm for sporty handling and the turbo engine pulls hard when you want it too! My only grip with this car is 2 things. 1). When things break and they will. Its best to fix it yourself because German cars are expensive to take to the dealer. 2). It has a small gas tank of only 14 gallons. Really its 12 gallons when the light comes on. Other than that, like I said, I love my GLI and I will be getting newer one soon."

12 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Super commuting car. Excellent mileage. Fun drive.

By on Saturday, February 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 131,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"TDI is an excellent car. Runs very well. Have done routine maintenance and after 12 years only a couple other minor issues. Gets superb mileage - averages >45 mpg for in town and often >50 mpg on highway."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

runs and drives great-

By on Friday, February 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "5000"

Cons: "yes it has cup holderd"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"loaded, white, very clean , all records up to date"

A must own

By on Friday, January 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fuel economy, reliability"

Cons: "cup holders are mounted over radio"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"So I purchased this vehicle used in 2010 with 95k miles on it. It is the GLS TDI (1.9L TDI with automatic transmission). It is loaded with features such as a moon roof, steering wheel mounted audio controls and heated leather seats. I use it to commute to work. In the summer it is averaging around 53-54 miles per gallon, and in the winter its around 45-47. This vehicle has been very reliable with minimal expenses for maintenance. The only thing I do not like about this vehicle is that the cup holders come up just above the radio screen making it difficult to see which radio station you are on. This vehicle now has approximately 215k miles on it and runs daily."

10 people out of 11 found this review helpful

best vehicle i've ever owned

By on Tuesday, January 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive and great price"

Cons: "no drawbacks"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"wonderful car...I will buy another"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

good car

By on Wednesday, January 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 164,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun car, great daily driver"

Cons: "coilpacks! doorlocks!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"i have owned the car for a year and its awesome so far at 165k miles. the vr6 is the only way to go. way more reliable and has more power, although you feel it in the mpg about 24 city and highway average. problems so far consist mainly of coil packs. also i have had a couple of problems with door locks, but other than that its been a very good car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Money Pit!

By on Thursday, January 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great interior and looks good"

Cons: "everything else. Car is a never ending money pit"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Bought with 107,000 now at 125,00 and have sunk $2000+ in repairs and now needs a new transmission and same problems come back. Nobody will work on these cars and the parts are twice as expensive than most cars. Do buy it!"

9 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 146 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Jetta near Honolulu. See local deals